HELP! Weird AMPS. To shoot or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kds0200

Member Since 2014
Hi all! I've been posting over in the ProZinc forum but this is a weird question and I kinda need advice fast so I seem to remember being told to post here for that kinda stuff.

Anyways, as you can see in the SS, Bailey had his first ProZinc curve yesterday, and his PMPS was back high again, as usual, so I gave him 2 units of ProZinc and we went to sleep. Now his AMPS is 166, which is not at all usual. I've fed him half a can of FF and stalled on the insulin so I can test again in half an hour. Could be a fluke reading on my monitor? A bad test strip? Something else? If he's still that low in half an hour (which is know is not low low, but it is low for him), I might call the vet, I guess (??)...

Thanks in advance for your help!
 
If he is rising, and closer to 200 (say 180+) you should be safe to shoot. I would however, reduce a smidge from your last dose, as it gave you an unshootable amps.
 
Hey Sue, thanks!! His second test was 244. Going to give 1 unit of ProZinc and then feed the other half of the can in just a bit. Will test again in a few hours and monitor until I have to work this afternoon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top