? Help, we are all over the place in BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlexsisV

Member Since 2017
Chai is all over the place. He gets 2.5 units Lantus twice a day. I am testing with a pet meter, the Alphatrak2. All odd ball tests are double checked with second BG reading.

Please take a look at my sheet. I had 2 beautiful 100's days, then we blew up to 500's, then 332 am Preshot and now, his pm Preshot is 91! What the heck? I can't give him his pm Lantus but what is going on? Is this smoygi hell?

Any insight or has anyone experienced this? I am still feeling really shaky and not sure about everything.

Chai is eating FF 0-1 carb foods but when low we go up to 4-6 carbs.

Chai is 13 , dx with Diabetes in 2/2017 and Pancreatitis in 5/2017. He is asymptotic with Pancreatitis right now. He takes Cerenia and Pain meds when symptomatic.

Help.
 
I am not an expert, but it looks like you baby likes to bounce, and the reason for the 91 could be that he cleared a bounce. It is possible that his dose is too high, but would wait to see what more experience folks think. Any chance you can test his BG again to see if he is going up or down?
 
Useful information you may want to look at, I copied from one of the stickies

A full understanding of the following concepts will go a long way in helping you regulate your kitty's blood glucose when using Lantus or Levemir:
  • Carryover - insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
  • Overlap - the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
  • Insulin Depot - a "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
  • LANTUS & LEVEMIR: WHAT IS THE INSULIN DEPOT?
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
I would say Chai went so high because you skipped the shot yesterday morning. Skipping shots will cause the numbers to go wonky because you are draining the depot, then when you do shoot part of the insulin goes back into the depot. There are no tests all day today, so we don't know if he is coming up from a lower number or still dropping. I would stall - without feeding - and test again 30 minutes after the first test to see which direction he is headed. If the next test is higher, and you can monitor tonight, I would shoot. Are you following TR or SLGS?
 
Hi there. Are you following TR or SLGS? If it is the latter, good call skipping tonight.

Are you able to get some more test in during the PM cycle? Especially get a +2, that will tell you if the cycle will be active if it is the same or lower than the pre shot number. And always get one before you go to bed so you know if Chai is safe.

You are still new in this sugar dance so please keep posting and asking questions as that is how we all learned. We are here to help how ever we can.
 
I am not an expert, but it looks like you baby likes to bounce, and the reason for the 91 could be that he cleared a bounce. It is possible that his dose is too high, but would wait to see what more experience folks think. Any chance you can test his BG again to see if he is going up or down?


We are at 144 at plus 1. This is with no shot. 4carb food.
 
I would say Chai went so high because you skipped the shot yesterday morning. Skipping shots will cause the numbers to go wonky because you are draining the depot, then when you do shoot part of the insulin goes back into the depot. There are no tests all day today, so we don't know if he is coming up from a lower number or still dropping. I would stall - without feeding - and test again 30 minutes after the first test to see which direction he is headed. If the next test is higher, and you can monitor tonight, I would shoot. Are you following TR or SLGS?


We do SLGS. It's too late he's eaten about 1.5 oz wetfood 4 carbs food.
 
Hi there. Are you following TR or SLGS? If it is the latter, good call skipping tonight.

Are you able to get some more test in during the PM cycle? Especially get a +2, that will tell you if the cycle will be active if it is the same or lower than the pre shot number. And always get one before you go to bed so you know if Chai is safe.

You are still new in this sugar dance so please keep posting and asking questions as that is how we all learned. We are here to help how ever we can.


We are SLGS. his plus one is 144. I will keep measuring tonight.

This is so tough to understand! I'm a very analytical person and I'm trying to get the hang. :-(
 
He is going up, it could be food induce or maybe starting a bounce. Suggest you get a before bed test, will give you a better idea if a bounce. If it goes really high is a bounce and those can take up to 6 cycles to clear. As you experience today when the bounce clears some kitty number dive fast. Just keep an eye on it. Post if you have questions.
 
He is going up, it could be food induce or maybe starting a bounce. Suggest you get a before bed test, will give you a better idea if a bounce. If it goes really high is a bounce and those can take up to 6 cycles to clear. As you experience today when the bounce clears some kitty number dive fast. Just keep an eye on it. Post if you have questions.

Thank you for the support to you and all of the kind friends out here. I am very grateful. I will catch two more tests before bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top