WickedSteppMom
Member Since 2011
OK, I'm confused at Stinky's AMPS of 42. I fed him afterwards & have not given him any insulin yet b/c I'm not sure how much to give (if any at all.) He ate just fine & is acting just fine--no signs of hypo or anything like that. What's confusing me is that we just started testing yesterday & AMPS=248, PMPS=286, w/ food & 1 unit of ProZinc following, and shots were 12 hrs apart. We do 4 small meals/day, wet food. It had been Purina EN (gastroenteric formula) w/some Friskies mixed in for flavor, but I started doing more Friskies/less Purina on Tuesday when we got the diabetes dx, then stopped Purina completely on Thurs. Now we have some Special Kitty, Friskies & Sophistacat (Thanks to Binky's list!) They (both cats) have a bowl with 1/2 cup dry food to free feed on, but I'm going to be phasing that out entirely. In the mean time, I've switched it to Innova Evo since they've had it before & it doesn't require a transition from the old food to the new.
So, is this morning's # just reflective of the insulin doing it's job, starting to regulate his system, AND the dietary changes? Should I give no shot, a reduced dose, or just stick w/the regular 1 unit since we've just started? We appreciate any help!
~Alyssa & Stinky
So, is this morning's # just reflective of the insulin doing it's job, starting to regulate his system, AND the dietary changes? Should I give no shot, a reduced dose, or just stick w/the regular 1 unit since we've just started? We appreciate any help!
~Alyssa & Stinky