Help! Vomiting, diarrhea and +2 only 64

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Jenni!

I've been following your condo but since you were already getting lots of help, didn't want to stress you out any more by adding another voice at the time, but now that it's a quieter day, wanted to stop in and tell you we were pulling for you and Smudge too!

Please don't ever think that your kitty doesn't deserve our help! That's what we're all here for! There may be times when there are one or two kitties having a real life threatening crisis, where people might be wrapped up helping so don't respond to non-critical problems for awhile, but that doesn't happen often! (Thank God!)

Your Smudge and Nibbs are just as important as any other cat on the board....and the most important to YOU....just like each of us has a special kitty (or two..or three..or ...) we'd do anything for, so don't ever feel guilty for posting and asking for help

Sure hope Smudge is feeling better today and as the day goes on, he'll continue to improve!
 
Last edited:
Don't feel guilty about posting here. We all have our ups and downs. I'm glad you don't have big issues!
 
People who do not have pets especially those with special needs simply do not understand how difficult and emotional dealing with this can be..

This is very true. But we all understand here. Never worry or feel guilty about posting anything at any time. That's the beauty of this place...we're one big family, and we're here for each other for everything!
 
Jenni, please don't feel guilty about posting here! Yes, there are cats with more serious health issues. But YOUR cat has this particular health issue that you need help with. That's important to all of us!!! Trust me, we prefer to have cats with less serious health issues! :)

It is so true that people whose pets do not have any health issue do not understand. I had people suggest I just skip Cobb's insulin shots while we're out of town...he'll be okay, right?! :woot: I just smiled, nodded, and packed him up for our trips.

We are here to help you...big or small problem. Lay it on us!
 
A quick note - it is possible to get bad food batches which have elevated levels of something that upset some kitties GI tracts. Sometimes, it can be the mix has different proportions of ingredients. Sometimes, there may be an actual contaminent, such as fungi on dry foods. Keep track of the batch/lot numbers on what you are feeding, in case it turns out there has been a production problem.
This has happened with both dry and canned foods.
 
the great thing about this site is that people have a generous spirit - true, some cats have worse things that they are dealing with, but to each of us the struggles of another matter. Having Smudge be sick and struggling matters.

I agree that i'd let things settle down with his gut and stick with what doesn't upset him right now. Poor little guy needs to perk back up and feel good again.

I also would suspect some ingredient in the canned food - there's nothing magically worse about canned food than dry, so i'd be suspicious that some ingredient is setting him off. My brother recently sent me this site: http://www.catnutrition.org/ and I took a look at it. I think this woman makes a ton of sense - she has a tab for "diseases" and in the drop down menu is a link to IBD - all that means is that a gut is irritated and reacting to food. When/IF you want to do something different with his food, you might learn something there. I thought she was very insightful and had great suggestions.

Hope Smudge is feeling better by now and he is able to get his shot tonight.
 
oh my gosh you guys are so awesome! I am not afraid to admit that I am a complete emotional mess over this so I will try to keep it together but certainly can't make any guarantees about that :nailbiting:

just took a pmps - 232. that is the first yellow he is seen in a while. He has not vomited at all today but still has diarrhea. His last trip to the litter box looked somewhat better and at least partially formed but still definitely not normal. Also gave him some Fortiflora and more pumpkin puree so hopefully the diarrhea will be resolved soon. He seems to be feeling much better which is awesome. I've been home with him all day. Also just gave him 1.0 units of Lantus so hopefully we can get back on track here. thank you all so much for the words of encouragement. I would seriously be completely lost without you guys:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top