Help understanding BG numbers

Question about reductions... I noticed the phrase "earned a reduction" is used. Is it a good thing? I think I was looking at it as a setback...
 
In your case, I would like to have seen how Liberty did without the MC. (Which Fancy Feast gravy lovers is 14 percent, by the way?)

Since Liberty’s rate of drop was not too steep, I would like to see in a similar situation how he would do with using only higher end LC food (something in the 8-10 percent range.) Many times cats will surf in the desirable green numbers with just LC but sometimes you need to use a few more carbs while still sticking with LC. Obviously sometimes we need to use more, but when you are testing you can easily find out if they are surfing or dropping because you are going to want to test again 20-30 minutes after you give the food if you have concerns, right? I hope this is making sense.
In fact, (and I feel like I am pointing a fire hose at you right now with too much information— sorry) with Liberty’s numbers yesterday trending downward from a brief bounce that had started the previous evening, it probably would have been a good idea to feed a few more carbs at the PMPS meal (still LC but not necessarily the lowest LC.). This is just another strategy that you can try.
Go ahead and douse me with that fire hose! I’ll gladly take all the info you have to offer!
 
I was incorrect on the food. I used FF Grilled (in gravy) Salmon Feast which, on my food list, is actually 12%
That’s okay. Still medium carb but on the lower end - probably that’s why he didn’t go up a lot - but that’s good in this case. Some of the gravy lovers go as high as 20 percent (useful at times to have around and sometimes you just need a little of the gravy from it because most of the carbs are in the gravy.
 
I also try to keep the phosphorus in his food below 300 because of Liberty's Hx of urinary obstruction. So many pieces of the puzzle!
 
Last edited:
Question about reductions... I noticed the phrase "earned a reduction" is used. Is it a good thing? I think I was looking at it as a setback...
We consider reductions to be a good thing. It hopefully means that progress is being made and less insulin is required. So that’s why you will see a lot of people saying congratulations on the reduction. Now we know that not all reductions will hold, but we try to keep it positive, I guess.
 
I also try to keep the phosphorus in his food below 300 because of Liberty's Hx of urinary obstruction. So many pieces of the puzzle!
Oh boy do I appreciate this! I try to keep my cats’ food as low in phosphorus as possible because it’s easier on their kidneys. It’s so hard finding food. If I had a dollar for every hour I have spent researching cat food…..

So you may need to prioritize his phosphorus over other things, just like we talked about prioritizing him eating enough calories to gain weigh over the timing of meals (except the two hour window before AMPS and PMPS tests.)
 
Yes, me too! So trying to look ahead and think this through (with my very tired brain). I went ahead with his AM shot (lowered dose) with AMPS at 182. He’s been in blue all day (so far). Eaten snacks after each check. Wondering if I should hold off food now until after his PMPS to see what it does? Also thinking ahead of options if he is below 200 at PMPS. I know the protocol options (NS, stall without feeding and recheck, or token dose), but wondering what will be best in this situation. Just trying to prepare so I don’t have a last minute dilemma.
 
Oh boy do I appreciate this! I try to keep my cats’ food as low in phosphorus as possible because it’s easier on their kidneys. It’s so hard finding food. If I had a dollar for every hour I have spent researching cat food…..

So you may need to prioritize his phosphorus over other things, just like we talked about prioritizing him eating enough calories to gain weigh over the timing of meals (except the two hour window before AMPS and PMPS tests.)
Oh boy do I appreciate this! I try to keep my cats’ food as low in phosphorus as possible because it’s easier on their kidneys. It’s so hard finding food. If I had a dollar for every hour I have spent researching cat food…..

So you may need to prioritize his phosphorus over other things, just like we talked about prioritizing him eating enough calories to gain weigh over the timing of meals (except the two hour window before AMPS and PMPS tests.)
Oh boy do I appreciate this! I try to keep my cats’ food as low in phosphorus as possible because it’s easier on their kidneys. It’s so hard finding food. If I had a dollar for every hour I have spent researching cat food…..

So you may need to prioritize his phosphorus over other things, just like we talked about prioritizing him eating enough calories to gain weigh over the timing of meals (except the two hour window before AMPS and PMPS tests.)
Have you had luck finding low phosphorus/low carb foods? The low carb FF pates I’m using are still higher than I would like.

(no idea what I did there with those multiple responses!?!)
 
Since I skipped tonight, do I need to test anymore before tomorrow’s AMPS? I honestly am so tired. The thought of a night of sleep sounds glorious.
 
Yeah he didn't eat as much for dinner as I anticipated. I'll do the test and snack, and call it a night! Hope you get some sleep, too. Thanks, as always!
 
Back
Top