Critter Mom
Member Since 2014
Hi all,
I've only joined the forum recently since my Saoirse was diagnosed with diabetes and comorbid pancreatitis. I've been trying to read lots of information on the forum as I try to get my head around how to help my beloved pusscat. (My thanks to Michelle, btw, for the warm welcome on the "Fur Pulling" thread.)
Saoirse and I have had a very rough few days since she reacted badly to a spot-on worming treatment. The first vet that treated her had prescribed 3IU BID Caninsulin and Hills w/d Dry (I know, I know :roll: ) for her diet. I wasn't happy with this protocol or the first vet's dismissal of my wishes to home test Saoirse so I moved to a different veterinary practice. My new vet is very pro home testing and supports use of low carb food for diabetic patients.
I had already planned with my vet to switch Saoirse over to a suitable low carb food (currently Purina DM canned, but hoping in time to move her on to a better quality food such as Granatapet). Saoirse's bad reaction to the parasite treatment resulted in her wanting to eat but not the w/d. Thankfully the Purina DM arrived yesterday and she's now back to eating properly.
The very necessary but regrettably abrupt switch to the new food is upsetting her digestive tract somewhat but her blood glucose levels have tumbled since she started on it, and this evening they dropped very low: 4.3 mmol/L; 77mg/dL). (On the w/d she was peaking at 450 and had a nadir of around 300 between +3 and +6-ish on a good day.) Thankfully Saoirse was not showing any signs of a hypo. I spoke to my vet's OOH service and fed her some more DM Canned, which she scoffed enthusiastically. I retested and her BG is now up to 225. Thing is, I've had hardly any sleep in the last couple of weeks (I have PTSD alongside the worry about Saoirse). I'm running on fumes myself and I'm about to pass out from utter exhaustion. I live alone and I'm hanging on by my fingernails to post this. I just won't be able to stay awake. I need to leave food in Saoirse's timed feeder but I don't know what's best to give her or how much. I have both Purina DM Canned and Dry formulations available.
If any forum members are around, I would greatly appreciate a steer on what food might be better, and how much to give her. Or would it be better to leave food out so she can help herself? I can't get the insulin back out. Help!!
Here are her numbers from today:
351 - Pre-insulin
184 - +3
184 - +6
367 - Pre-insulin
167 - +3.5
160 - +5.25
176 - +6.25
328 - +9.5
310 - Pre-insulin
77 - +3.5
225 - +4.75
She is on 3IU Caninsulin BID (08:30 and 22:30 BST). She gets 40g Purina DM Canned every 4 hours (small regular meals necessary to prevent her from vomiting).
I'd very much welcome any suggestions if anyone's around. I'm really very worried right now.
I've only joined the forum recently since my Saoirse was diagnosed with diabetes and comorbid pancreatitis. I've been trying to read lots of information on the forum as I try to get my head around how to help my beloved pusscat. (My thanks to Michelle, btw, for the warm welcome on the "Fur Pulling" thread.)
Saoirse and I have had a very rough few days since she reacted badly to a spot-on worming treatment. The first vet that treated her had prescribed 3IU BID Caninsulin and Hills w/d Dry (I know, I know :roll: ) for her diet. I wasn't happy with this protocol or the first vet's dismissal of my wishes to home test Saoirse so I moved to a different veterinary practice. My new vet is very pro home testing and supports use of low carb food for diabetic patients.
I had already planned with my vet to switch Saoirse over to a suitable low carb food (currently Purina DM canned, but hoping in time to move her on to a better quality food such as Granatapet). Saoirse's bad reaction to the parasite treatment resulted in her wanting to eat but not the w/d. Thankfully the Purina DM arrived yesterday and she's now back to eating properly.
The very necessary but regrettably abrupt switch to the new food is upsetting her digestive tract somewhat but her blood glucose levels have tumbled since she started on it, and this evening they dropped very low: 4.3 mmol/L; 77mg/dL). (On the w/d she was peaking at 450 and had a nadir of around 300 between +3 and +6-ish on a good day.) Thankfully Saoirse was not showing any signs of a hypo. I spoke to my vet's OOH service and fed her some more DM Canned, which she scoffed enthusiastically. I retested and her BG is now up to 225. Thing is, I've had hardly any sleep in the last couple of weeks (I have PTSD alongside the worry about Saoirse). I'm running on fumes myself and I'm about to pass out from utter exhaustion. I live alone and I'm hanging on by my fingernails to post this. I just won't be able to stay awake. I need to leave food in Saoirse's timed feeder but I don't know what's best to give her or how much. I have both Purina DM Canned and Dry formulations available.
If any forum members are around, I would greatly appreciate a steer on what food might be better, and how much to give her. Or would it be better to leave food out so she can help herself? I can't get the insulin back out. Help!!
Here are her numbers from today:
351 - Pre-insulin
184 - +3
184 - +6
367 - Pre-insulin
167 - +3.5
160 - +5.25
176 - +6.25
328 - +9.5
310 - Pre-insulin
77 - +3.5
225 - +4.75
She is on 3IU Caninsulin BID (08:30 and 22:30 BST). She gets 40g Purina DM Canned every 4 hours (small regular meals necessary to prevent her from vomiting).
I'd very much welcome any suggestions if anyone's around. I'm really very worried right now.