Arathi & Yuki
Member Since 2018
Hi Yuki has been on lantus since 23/05/18. We have now managed a few amps, and pmps. I reduced her insulin dose to 0.5 units after a 7.7 reading. So, she has gotten 0.5 U 3 times now. Today morning, woke up to around 20 small urine balls, as well as 3 big sized ones. She had also puked about 37.5 grams of her wet food out, but found hairball in that.
Her BG was 26.7 mmol/L, so gave her 1.5 U. Also got a urine sample with following results:
Glucose +++ 1000(55) mg/dl (mmol/L)
Ketones Negative
S.G 1.03
Blood non hemolysis+10
pH 6.5
Protein Negative
Nitrite Negative
Leukocytes (WBC) +++ 500
Urobillinogen and Bilirubin Negative
Yesterday trying to take BG reading was extremely stressful for her.
Based on above I suspect UTI. Just wondering if the UTI for diabetic cats is always bacterial or could it be stress induced, or something else?
We are going to vets, but worried they may recommend antibiotics as first resort.
please could you share your experiences with dealing with uti, and how has this affected the BG? i am freaking out about how yuki will cope.
thanks for sharing/advice.
best, arathi
Her BG was 26.7 mmol/L, so gave her 1.5 U. Also got a urine sample with following results:
Glucose +++ 1000(55) mg/dl (mmol/L)
Ketones Negative
S.G 1.03
Blood non hemolysis+10
pH 6.5
Protein Negative
Nitrite Negative
Leukocytes (WBC) +++ 500
Urobillinogen and Bilirubin Negative
Yesterday trying to take BG reading was extremely stressful for her.
Based on above I suspect UTI. Just wondering if the UTI for diabetic cats is always bacterial or could it be stress induced, or something else?
We are going to vets, but worried they may recommend antibiotics as first resort.
please could you share your experiences with dealing with uti, and how has this affected the BG? i am freaking out about how yuki will cope.
thanks for sharing/advice.
best, arathi