help suspected UTI

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arathi & Yuki

Member Since 2018
Hi Yuki has been on lantus since 23/05/18. We have now managed a few amps, and pmps. I reduced her insulin dose to 0.5 units after a 7.7 reading. So, she has gotten 0.5 U 3 times now. Today morning, woke up to around 20 small urine balls, as well as 3 big sized ones. She had also puked about 37.5 grams of her wet food out, but found hairball in that.

Her BG was 26.7 mmol/L, so gave her 1.5 U. Also got a urine sample with following results:
Glucose +++ 1000(55) mg/dl (mmol/L)
Ketones Negative
S.G 1.03
Blood non hemolysis+10
pH 6.5
Protein Negative
Nitrite Negative
Leukocytes (WBC) +++ 500
Urobillinogen and Bilirubin Negative

Yesterday trying to take BG reading was extremely stressful for her.

Based on above I suspect UTI. Just wondering if the UTI for diabetic cats is always bacterial or could it be stress induced, or something else?
We are going to vets, but worried they may recommend antibiotics as first resort.

please could you share your experiences with dealing with uti, and how has this affected the BG? i am freaking out about how yuki will cope.
thanks for sharing/advice.
best, arathi
 
Mia had a UTI when she was first diagnosed with diabetes. Bacteria likes sugar, so it is not uncommon for a diabetic to get a UTI. She was given antibiotics which took care of it.
 
Mia had a UTI when she was first diagnosed with diabetes. Bacteria likes sugar, so it is not uncommon for a diabetic to get a UTI. She was given antibiotics which took care of it.
The vet has put her on synulox AB. Is there anything that you use to keep the uti at bay? I have heard about d mannose, to prevent uti.
 
UTI is quite common, and with diabetics works like with the rest of the kitties you can have it bacterial or not

Your urine results do not say if they found bacteria or staphylococcus or something in the sample and if they did a culture to know which kind.?

D-mannose is very good but it doesn't work on all kind of virus or bacteria is specially good with e-coli and if his infection is already bad as it appears is your case it's better to give antibiotics, I've found that if I catch it early, that is before they even show symptoms it does work very well but I still have to keep watch on them, and if he is really prone to having UTI's you could also consider giving a kind of maintenance dose, I've found it has help my kitties to avoid recurring UTI's

Here's a link to Tanya's web page where they explain about d-mannose

http://www.felinecrf.org/pyelonephritis_utis.htm#dmannose
 
UTI is quite common, and with diabetics works like with the rest of the kitties you can have it bacterial or not

Your urine results do not say if they found bacteria or staphylococcus or something in the sample and if they did a culture to know which kind.?

D-mannose is very good but it doesn't work on all kind of virus or bacteria is specially good with e-coli and if his infection is already bad as it appears is your case it's better to give antibiotics, I've found that if I catch it early, that is before they even show symptoms it does work very well but I still have to keep watch on them, and if he is really prone to having UTI's you could also consider giving a kind of maintenance dose, I've found it has help my kitties to avoid recurring UTI's

Here's a link to Tanya's web page where they explain about d-mannose

http://www.felinecrf.org/pyelonephritis_utis.htm#dmannose
Thanks for the link. Unfortunately the vet didn't do a urine culture. The results I posted were from a home urinalysis test. What are the early symptoms of uti that I should look out for? My other cat suffers from idiopathic cystitis and i give her feliway cystease (125mg - N-Acetyl Glucosamine; 37.5mg - L-Tryptophan, 10mg - Hyaluronic Acid)
daily. I thought cystease was mainly for stress related uti. would it also help with bacterial uti?
 
Thanks for the link. Unfortunately the vet didn't do a urine culture. The results I posted were from a home urinalysis test. What are the early symptoms of uti that I should look out for? My other cat suffers from idiopathic cystitis and i give her feliway cystease (125mg - N-Acetyl Glucosamine; 37.5mg - L-Tryptophan, 10mg - Hyaluronic Acid)
daily. I thought cystease was mainly for stress related uti. would it also help with bacterial uti?

It's hard to say about the early symptoms since each cat is different but some start changing their litter habits, try to urinate out side the litter box or at an unusual spot or maybe start going with out actually going just digging a little bit on the litter, maybe start taking more water than usual, look a little bit down, or urinating a lot of times or just just a few drops each time

I've never used cystease so I'm not sure it would help with an actual bacterial infecton, but from looking at it's ingredients it doesn't look like it would.
 
Leukocytes (WBC) +++ 500
Was this value based on a pad on a urine test strip? If so I would not rely on it since in cats, the pad reports a false positive 99+% of the time.
Most the time a urine analysis includes spinning a portion of the urine sample and looking at the sediment under a microscope. Many times when there is a UTI bacteria can be seen in the sediment.
 
It's hard to say about the early symptoms since each cat is different but some start changing their litter habits, try to urinate out side the litter box or at an unusual spot or maybe start going with out actually going just digging a little bit on the litter, maybe start taking more water than usual, look a little bit down, or urinating a lot of times or just just a few drops each time

I've never used cystease so I'm not sure it would help with an actual bacterial infecton, but from looking at it's ingredients it doesn't look like it would.
I'll try to keep an eye out for the symptoms. This time it seemed to have developed overnight. I am considering the d mannose, if it doesn't cause any harm then it might be worth trying. Thanks for sharing!
 
Was this value based on a pad on a urine test strip? If so I would not rely on it since in cats, the pad reports a false positive 99+% of the time.
Most the time a urine analysis includes spinning a portion of the urine sample and looking at the sediment under a microscope. Many times when there is a UTI bacteria can be seen in the sediment.
Yeah it was a urine dip stick type test. I'll keep that in mind for the future. The vet didn't recommend a urine culture. I wish I had insisted on that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top