Hi again, Becca.
I'm sorry you're dealing with such a distressing and tricky situation.
Please note, the following suggestions are based on an understanding that Candi does not have a history of throwing ketones or episodes of DKA.
First up, an important general safety note:
Based on the PM reading of 97 (Alphatrak) I think the 1.5IU Vetsulin dose is a bit too high, even for a normal day, and therefore suggest that you reduce it going forward. Candi has hit BG below 90 on an Alphatrak on this dose. The
FDMB Vetsulin guidelines indicate a dose reduction if BG falls below 90 on a human meter, so the threshold for dose reduction on an Alphatrak meter would be a higher value (low 100s as a rough estimate).
For today, if Candi does get high enough to give insulin (>200, possibly even >220 on an Alphatrak), I very much recommend you give a dose smaller than 1.5IU for the reasons given above.
* Wait two hours after food.
* Test.
* If BG high enough to give insulin, feed Candi again. (Over 200
minimum.)
* If BG almost high enough, stall without feeding, test again in 20 minutes and, if now high enough to give insulin, feed and go to next step.
* If,
and only if, she eats enough - a very good meal, just in case she won't eat more later while the insulin's active in her system - wait 30 minutes and then administer the
reduced dose of insulin.
Monitor BG throughout the cycle - especially in period from +1 to +4 when BG drop is likely to be fastest and strongest - until numbers rise significantly (usually after +7 or +8). If numbers fall significantly any time after dose onset then intervene with food (and honey if necessary) to keep numbers in the safe range. Post for help but bear in mind that the board is quieter at weekends. (I won't e around most of today either, I'm sorry to say.

)
If Candi's appetite remains very iffy, you could consider giving a token dose. I would not be comfortable suggesting any more than 0.25IU and only on the proviso that you can monitor her closely throughout the cycle to keep her safe.
If in any doubt, especially if you can't monitor Candi throughout the cycle, it would probably be safer to skip, this time with the proviso that there is active monitoring for ketones today.
To catch a urine sample, spread some plastic food wrap over the surface of the litter in the box. Push down in the litter in her 'favourite spot' if she has one. It will allow the urine to pool a bit and make it easier for you to get a sample. Other tips for collecting urine samples
here.
* If clear for ketones, test again tomorrow. (By then you'll hopefully have been able to get to talk with - and hopefully visit - your vet.)
* If trace ketones, test again later today and in the morning (assuming that subsequent tests are negative or trace).
* If any higher than trace, take Candi to a vet immediately for emergency treatment to flush out the ketones.
As others have posted above, if Candi's having problems smelling her food then she'll be disinclined to eat. If you haven't already done so, try warming her food a little to increase the aroma. Also try to see whether she might take a bite or two from your hand. Sometimes that can help reassure a kitty that the food's safe to eat even if sense of smell's a bit off.
It'd also be a good idea to check Candi's behaviour round food points to any nausea. Clavamox can
really upset the GI tract and give rise to eating difficulties. (If Candi's stools have loosened since starting the course that would be a pointer to a GI disturbance.) Here's a helpful resource:
Nausea Symptoms Checklist and Treatments
A simple thing to try is raising up food and water bowls a couple of inches to make it more comfortable to eat if the tummy's a bit iffy. More suggestions here (including suggestions on cat-friendly baby foods (no onion, no garlic!) that can often tempt a cat to eat when it won't touch regular foods):
Persuading Your Cat to Eat
Hope some of the above helps. (Sorry it took me so long to type this.)
Mogs
.