Help! Start OJT Tonight? .1u this am, went low (45)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes that is lower than the 50. Does your husband have access to the hypo info? He will need to feed a little food with either high carb food or low carb and karo, or honey.
 
imho, a hypo is below 30. But some cats can at a slightly higher number.... each cat is different.

It sounds like your DH is around to monitor and feed as necessary which is good.
He needs to feed small amounts....and test every 30 minutes .
You want two consecutive tests in higher numbers ( like 70) without having to give food.
It looks like Lolly nadirs earlier in the cycle so that's good.


And you may need to reduce to less than 0.25..... just a drop or two....
others will comment on that....
 
Last edited:
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately ateaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
    (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-shooting-handling-low-numbers.147/
 
What did you shoot today? Your subject line says 1U - I hope that was .1U.

We've had cats off insulin test in the 40's, so not technically a hypo. But it gives no margin for error with insulin on board so have your husband follow the instructions above that Sarah posted. Feed high carb food/karo, wait 20 minutes, test, repeat as needed until above 50. Then slow down the test but keep testing until she's rising on her own.
 
You are positive it was a .10 yes?...not 1U?

Like Wendy said, normal non-diabetic numbers are 40-120. Lots of cats run in the 40's off insulin. But yes, with insulin on board you want to stay on top of it with food to be sure she doesn't drop any lower.
I would do 2 teasp. of HC gravy w/a dab of the HC food in it also. You want to test again in 25-30 minutes. Repeat as needed depending on the number.
remind him not to give too much food at once...YOU DO NOT WANT TO OVERFILL HER...you want to be sure she will keep eating as needed.

I know this is hard when you are at work. The .10 is a very small amount of insulin, it is important to stay on top of it yes, but Lolly is known to surf.
You want to get her above 50...then test on the 1/2 hour until you get at least 2 consecutive rising numbers. As she comes up you may want to switch to MC or LC once over 50.
Karo is good in that it gives a quick spike, but it also wears off quickly. SO the numbers can drop...use some at that low number yes, a couple drops, but be sure she is getting a little food also with it to stay on board longer.

When was food last given, (in relation to this 40 and since) ...what was fed and how much?

He will need to monitor but her usual nadir is not too far off...so should be able to get her up safely til she would be rising on her own.
Any chance he would get on board and we can help him?

When you get a chance, can you please correct the .1U in the subject line to .10..that's a big difference, and add any addt'l #'s.
 
Last edited:
I think were hitting the nadir - +6 went down to 45

Lolly PMPS/129, .1u, +4/40 , LC food, +4.5/50, some HC Gravy, +5/69, +6/45, having husband do HC gravy now

Testing 15 min after gravy; husband understands hypo drill.

ANYTHING ELSE?? I have being at work now !!!
 
Maybe add a smidge of HC food with the gravy, then give her a spoon of LC in just a bit after that....and leave LC out for her past nadir.

MARTHA- to clarify..these are human meter numbers, yes? ..... last night you said he would be using AT today. Surely these are human meter numbers???

IF not that changes things. Please clarify
 
So add a drop of Karo to a teaspoon of the bonito flakes, or use a finger to put the drop in her mouth.
 
+4.0 / 40
+4.5 / 50
+5.0 / 69
+6.5 / 52
+7.5 / 54
+8.0 / 70
Should be past nadir and maybe start coming up naturally.

She's a gal on a mission!
 
54 at + 7.5
70 at +8
78 at +8.5

Am I out of the woods? Not familiar enough yet with human numbers. What next? I'll have to go offline 4-5:45 for work.

THANKS
 
How long since she had any carbs? If it's been a couple of hours, you are probably out of the woods.
 
I was offline for awhile..... GO Lollllly!!!!!!!

Martha, the 67 &78 are basically same number given 20% inherent meter variance.
The 40 was low and needed intervention, but once over 50 on human the rest are just nice normal numbers. Not sure how much she ate, but do think making sure she snacks during her cycles is key. She's actually a good little surfer ...just needs some food to keep her there.
Sorry I know its hard being at work, but you should also be proud and excited. She means buisness.!!
I have to run out for a bit, will check on y'all later
 
Hi, I'm back from work, Thanks everyone for helping me out-- first day with human glucometer. Lolly is 98 at +11. steady increase. Not sure what to do about her PM does at 8, I'm going to update her spread sheet and start another thread on dosing.
 
Best not to start another thread - one thread per day keeps all the info together nicely you can just update your subject line to show you want dose advice.

IMHO - let the OTJ trial commence but let's see what others say
 
Lets see what happens.
Worst case scenario we figure out a way to dose very low amounts.
Best case scenario, Lolly is ready for it.
 
ok--

Lolly reduced today to .1u from .25 (several NS), and her numbers went really low -- to 45. (Link to previous thread show food given to raise her, also see her Spreadsheet.
How can I dose her tonight? Wont .1 bring her down again?
 
If the consensus is that the OTJ trial begins you just need to test at what would be your normal PS time. There's a link with instructions about how to test during a trial but I'm on my iPad and a little technologically challenged in being able to retrieve it for you from this. I'm sure someone will provide it though.

Can you please fix spreadsheet - it's showing that yesterday's numbers were on a human meter and also that you shot a 41 - I'm assuming that is not the case! whatever meter those numbers came from they look great :D
 
If the pancreas responds to food, you may notice a drop, rather than a spike, around +2 after the meal.
 
If the consensus is that the OTJ trial begins you just need to test at what would be your normal PS time. There's a link with instructions about how to test during a trial but I'm on my iPad and a little technologically challenged in being able to retrieve it for you from this. I'm sure someone will provide it though.

Can you please fix spreadsheet - it's showing that yesterday's numbers were on a human meter and also that you shot a 41 - I'm assuming that is not the case! whatever meter those numbers came from they look great :D

Thanks for catching the errors-- I went back and got the readings off the AT meter for yesterday 1/30.
 
If you test now, then test in 2 hours from feeding, you may see if food caused a drop in the glucose.
 
Do you use anything like Neosporin on her ears? Many of use use Neosporin (with the pain relief ingredient) at night on the ears edge where all the pokies are done, to help with the soreness and prevent bruising. I know it works on my girl..make her ears look and feel better. Good luck on the OTJ trial!!
 
Do you use anything like Neosporin on her ears? Many of use use Neosporin (with the pain relief ingredient) at night on the ears edge where all the pokies are done, to help with the soreness and prevent bruising. I know it works on my girl..make her ears look and feel better. Good luck on the OTJ trial!!

Thanks Laura!
 
No, if the pancreas detects the glucose going up from food, it is supposed to produce insulin, which will then drop the glucose level. So seeing it drop is a good sign that the pancreas is coming back online.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top