FarmKitty
Member Since 2020
Hi everyone. I am very new to all of this. My cat Dixie has just been diagnosed one month ago. We started to test a few days ago and have done two glucose curves (see spreadsheet for more details). Her preshot value has been around 12.7 to 16.6. Tonight, she tested at 9.5. I've been trying to read as much data on this site as I can to figure out what to do, and I decided to stall and keep testing. Testing 15 minutes later, she tested at 11.5. Then 20 mins later, she tested at 11.5 again.
It has now been an hour and we are thinking of giving her either a reduced dose or the regular dose since 11.5 looks like it is in the acceptable range for the SLGS method.
Does this sound like a good plan? Also, what do we do for her next meal? Usually we give it to her at 10am and 10pm. Since it is now 11pm, does her new shot and feeding time have to be adjusted to 11am and 11pm? Is there a way to gradually move it back to the 10am/10pm slot?
Thank you for reading this.
It has now been an hour and we are thinking of giving her either a reduced dose or the regular dose since 11.5 looks like it is in the acceptable range for the SLGS method.
Does this sound like a good plan? Also, what do we do for her next meal? Usually we give it to her at 10am and 10pm. Since it is now 11pm, does her new shot and feeding time have to be adjusted to 11am and 11pm? Is there a way to gradually move it back to the 10am/10pm slot?
Thank you for reading this.

. I have also just ordered some ketone test strips since I read that skipping insulin shots could increase the risk of those.