HELP! STALLING 20 MINS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashleigh Harman

Member Since 2022
Hello, Chanel has returned a reading of 9.4 and we are currently on a no shot below 10 rule but have been asked to post here as it keeps happening
 
I’m going to read it and be back. Welcome to LLB. Have you read the dosing methods sticky at the top of this forum? It’s time for you to decide if you will follow one of our dosing methods?
 
Last edited:
Since you are feeding ZD you need to follow SLGS. It would be better to stop it as you will most certainly see lower bg. Being new to fd with a bg under 200 you could have shot a reduced dose of .50 since the bg was over 150. I’d try that next time. As you gain data you will be able to shoot lower and lower until you shoot 90+.
 
Thank you, our aim was to try and give her .5u tonight but after we rushed to the chemist they didn't have any of the syringes suggested to us to allow us to give a dose that low. I am sourcing needles online, but we are waiting on delivery. We are slowly reducing her ZD amount as we are able to give her more Venison but were warned against a straight swap over so it has been gradual over the last week. Could this be the reason for her low numbers? We are at a point in the transition where she is eating more Venison than the ZD now. Could this be possible remission through diet control?
 
You can try and eye ball the 0.5 units
Try and get it between the 0 mark and the 1 unit mark
The hills z/d dry is very high in carbs as you probably know, so reducing it his BG is going lower, you won't know if he's headed toward remission yet , once he's off it completely we will have to see how his numbers are

30-unit-insulin-syringe-markings.jpg
 
Last edited:
Thank you, our aim was to try and give her .5u tonight but after we rushed to the chemist they didn't have any of the syringes suggested to us to allow us to give a dose that low. I am sourcing needles online, but we are waiting on delivery. We are slowly reducing her ZD amount as we are able to give her more Venison but were warned against a straight swap over so it has been gradual over the last week. Could this be the reason for her low numbers? We are at a point in the transition where she is eating more Venison than the ZD now. Could this be possible remission through diet contro
@tiffmaxee
Hi Elise I answered Ashleigh above I hope I gave her the correct information can you please check
Thanks Elise :cat:
 
Where do you live , did you order the syringes yet with the half unit markings,
I live in Western Australia, I have been messaging someone close by who potentially has the correct needles I am after so I have held off until I can confirm. I have also read the post from the other day about the best needles to purchase and am looking into the Ulticare and Bd
 
Yes. A diet change, especially from high carb dry to wet low carb food can drastically reduce the dose of insulin and some cats become diet controlled once that transition is complete.
Her numbers haven't risen tonight despite not giving her a shot, in fact after the rise from her meal, she is going back down and we are 4 hours out from breakfast. Could I potentially cut the ZD out now? She is up to 5 teaspoons (just under half a can) of Venison with being on it for a whole week showing no signs of allergies
 
Could I potentially cut the ZD out now?

Since she's doing well on the venison and didn't get a shot, I'd get it out of her diet right now. I'd also suggest dropping your dose to maybe 1U since you don't have half unit syringes yet. Hold that dose for at least 3 days (unless she drops below 2.8 at any time) and let's see how she does when she's totally off the HC kibble.
 
Any suggestions on where to go from here. Feeling so deflated. We moved her off ZD today and fed 1 can of Venisin this morning. By the afternoon Chanel has been shaking her head and scratching at her ears. I really don't want to go back to the ZD because her numbers haven't bounced at all but I feel I might not have a choice. I just can't believe she's allergic to a novel protein she's never had before
 
Hi Ashleigh,
I live in Sydney. Have you seen THIS link for Aussie Caregivers? As far as I know you can’t get 1/2 unit syringes here in Australia. There is a link to some in the UK in the link above.
It sounds as if Chanel has an allergy….is that correct? Have you tried Zyrtec? One of my cats gets very itchy skin and weepy eyes every so often and I give her 1/2 of a 10 mg zyrtec once a day.
 
Hi Bron, yes she has food allergies and so far we have tried chicken and Venison with the same result. She gets watery eyes, sneezes, and gets chronic ear infections which make her scratch and shake her head relentlessly. With chicken she gets diarrhoea and loses the fur around her neck so far the Venison hasn't caused that but we are only a week into feeding it to her. I didn't know you could give cats zyrtec so I haven't tried this before. Are there any possible side effects to this or is it completely safe? Would this work with food allergies?
 
Hi Bron, yes she has food allergies and so far we have tried chicken and Venison with the same result. She gets watery eyes, sneezes, and gets chronic ear infections which make her scratch and shake her head relentlessly. With chicken she gets diarrhoea and loses the fur around her neck so far the Venison hasn't caused that but we are only a week into feeding it to her. I didn't know you could give cats zyrtec so I haven't tried this before. Are there any possible side effects to this or is it completely safe? Would this work with food allergies?
Clover has food allergies and is also allergic to something in the environment (we think)……we can’t work out what it is but she seems to be worse around August. With the food allergies I did a food trial and have found that chicken and pork seem to give her loose poops. She is fed a raw diet so I feed her beef, kangaroo and lamb and she get lamb heart, liver and kidney. It was a matter of trial and error finding out what she could eat and what she couldn’t eat.
At one point she was having 1/2 zyrtec every day for months and it had no adverse affects on her at all. Initially she had very red skin on her face, ears and legs/feet, and very watery eyes. The zyrtec settled it all down and now she sometimes gets watery eyes and red around the eye area and I give her zyrtec until it settles down again. The watery eyes and the loose poops often present together so they are probably linked.
Have you thought about a feeding a raw diet….that way you can choose what meat you want to use.
 
No I haven't looked into a raw diet yet as I was hoping to stick to quick and easy food out of a can, especially for the convenience when we return to work but it's maybe something I need to do a bit of research on and look into and we will just continue the trial and error with proteins I guess in the meantime I would love to see how she goes on zyrtec though as it's such a shame about the venison cause she is loving it so much to a point where we've seen an appetite on her like never before!
 
There is a Facebook page called Australian Raw Fed Cats which is very good. It is run by the owner of Raw Meow which is a raw food company in WA.. you might like to join that group and get some help from them. The lady that runs it owns the Raw Meow and is quite knowledgeable. They have some products you might like to try.
 
@Chris & China (GA) It has been 3 days on 1u of insulin twice daily. Unfortunately we had to move back to the ZD Pate last night, as Chanel is showing signs of allergies to Venison. I am devastated as her numbers were starting to come down and she was on a steady curve rather than bouncing all over the place. Judging by her numbers back on the high carb food, should I go back up to 2u again?
 
Yes, just when I go to pay it says they are currently not shipping to my area. We are looking at trying raw kangaroo meat once her allergy symptoms have dissipated. It's been a very insightful page so far, thank you for the referral :)
 
Was that the only option to purchase those needles. I have someone that has donated me 30x U-40 needles, but unsure whether I can use them.
 
Was that the only option to purchase those needles. I have someone that has donated me 30x U-40 needles, but unsure whether I can use them.
No, you can’t use U 40 syringes with Lantus. You need the U 100 3/10 syringes. What syringes are you using at the moment?
I’ll have to look around and see if I can find another source for the 1/2 unit syringes.
 
The only option we have been provided with are the attachable needle heads for the pen. We asked the vet for syringes and were advised using a syringe would compromise the pen and insulin, so it's been difficult to get our hands on anything without a script.
 
We asked the vet for syringes and were advised using a syringe would compromise the pen and insulin, so it's been difficult to get our hands on anything without a script.
This is simply not true. Using a syringe to get the insulin out of the pen is absolutely fine. You can get insulin syringes from a chemist that sells diabetic supplies. I used to buy my insulin syringes from the local chemist.
The syringes you need are the U100 3/10 30 or 31 gauge 6 or 8 mm insulin syringe. BD is a good brand here. I used to get a box of 100 for around $30.
To use the syringe with the pen you follow the directions on the diagram below. It is perfectly safe and will not effect the insulin at all.
upload_2022-3-23_22-58-35.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-3-23_22-58-35.jpeg
    upload_2022-3-23_22-58-35.jpeg
    25.5 KB · Views: 169
I used pens and syringes always once I had to throw out my vial half full because it was losing potency. I agree with Bron. Pens are used just like a vial.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top