Help! Should Iskip insulin until I call Vet tomorrow?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thanks. Poor baby. I had to shoot him 4 times to get blood. He was so unhappy and meowing. I'm gonna leave him till 7am. I'll consider tonight a "fur shot". Thank you. I'll see how he is tomorrow am. Goodnight all. Thanks for being here. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ok, so Stewie tested bg of 449 this am. So I gave him 2 units of his prozinc this am at 7:05. Should I move to the prozinc forum today and post there until things regulate better for Stewie? I also will try hard again for a +6 but he seems to conveniently hide at that time. I'm gonna put a plan together. ;)
 
Should I move to the prozinc forum today and post there until things regulate better for Stewie?
That's a great idea.
Also, it would be great if you can get Stewie's spreadsheet set up. It makes it very easy for you and anyone helping you to easily follow along, see the numbers and look for patterns
Here is a link with instructions:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
Give a shout out for help you need. You can title your post "need help setting up spreadsheet" and someone will chime in :bighug:
 
That's a great idea.
Also, it would be great if you can get Stewie's spreadsheet set up. It makes it very easy for you and anyone helping you to easily follow along, see the numbers and look for patterns
Here is a link with instructions:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
Give a shout out for help you need. You can title your post "need help setting up spreadsheet" and someone will chime in :bighug:
Chris set up a SS for me yesterday. I just got into my office to work on it. Thanks for being here for me. I am stressed until I get the hang of all this bouncing. Blood draws are still not perfect. I had to do 3 pokes again this am. Poor Stewie, I hope he still loves me after all of this. On the upside, he is cleaning himself again which he hadn't done in a long time. I brush him daily too and his fur is getting better. :bighug::bighug:
 
I just did a +6 on Stewie and his bg is 70. He is really bouncing!!! Yikes
I just ordered some U40 1/2 unit syringes in case we need to play with his dosing. He really dropped from this am. He was 449 at AMPS then he dropped to bg of 70 at +6. I gave him 2 temptation cat treats with his food. I am going to get some of the ff carby grilled cans to have on hand. I hope his numbers come up for PMPS. This is so stressful since I am so new to all of this. :(
 
It's really common for relatively newly diagnosed cats to have their numbers be all over the place. Their bodies are just getting used to learning how to work the insulin (which is a hormone) and also getting used to blood sugar numbers that are now lower than what they were used to before they were diagnosed.
If you want to look at Uncle's spreadsheet, you can see how all over the place he was when just starting out and then after a while settling in.
I know testing had been stressful for you and Stewie but it is something that must be done to be able to appropriately manage the diabetes and avoid a potentially life threatening hypo event. I think I read in another post that you are warming his ears up before the test, that usually helps. Maybe there are more tricks and tips out there...?
 
I just ordered some U40 1/2 unit syringes in case we need to play with his dosing. He really dropped from this am. He was 449 at AMPS then he dropped to bg of 70 at +6. I gave him 2 temptation cat treats with his food. I am going to get some of the ff carby grilled cans to have on hand. I hope his numbers come up for PMPS. This is so stressful since I am so new to all of this. :(
I'm not experienced enough to help with dosing recommendations (except when NOT to shoot ;))
@Kris & Teasel is very experienced with Prozinc and will probably be of great help over at the Prozinc forum
 
Oh BTW, I just checked and saw the spreadsheet. The link worked!!!
Hmm, saw the 195 at PMPS. Technically that's another skip number just barely...o_O
Can't tell if you skipped, no number entered for insulin.
Some experienced people may have recommended to skip again or do something called "stalling". That's a discussion for another day though if you already decided to skip and fed Stewie dinner that's fine :bighug:
 
Oh BTW, I just checked and saw the spreadsheet. The link worked!!!
Hmm, saw the 195 at PMPS. Technically that's another skip number just barely...o_O
Can't tell if you skipped, no number entered for insulin.
Some experienced people may have recommended to skip again or do something called "stalling". That's a discussion for another day though if you already decided to skip and fed Stewie dinner that's fine :bighug:
Thank you so much for checking in. I was putting a post on the Prozinc forum that I haven't finished. I would rather stay on this thread for now with all this history here. I dont know what to do. I fed him and he just had some diahrrea. I also don't know if I should skip tonight with Him being so close to 200 or give a smaller dose? I know not to shoot under that so I have not. Any advice is greatly appreciated!!! He finished eating at 7:30ish.
 
Thank you so much for checking in. I was putting a post on the Prozinc forum that I haven't finished. I would rather stay on this thread for now with all this history here. I dont know what to do. I fed him and he just had some diahrrea. I also don't know if I should skip tonight with Him being so close to 200 or give a smaller dose? I know not to shoot under that so I have not. Any advice is greatly appreciated!!! He finished eating at 7:30ish.
I think you can give a smaller dose because he’s very close to 200. Try 1.5 u or even 1.0 u. Get a +2 test afterward if you can.
 
I think you can give a smaller dose because he’s very close to 200. Try 1.5 u or even 1.0 u. Get a +2 test afterward if you can.
Oh Thank you! I posted over in Prozinc forum too. I will try for 1 unit. Then what do I do tomorrow am? 2 units, if he's over 200. What is a safe time to shoot after eating. He got out back. I have to get him back inside. Ugh!!
 
He is inside! Is it to late to do 1 unit at 8:30pm and then dose again at 7 am if he's got good numbers? I know it's a 12 hour insulin but wasn't sure if I could do 1 unit in am at 7 again and then see where we are at 7Pm tomorrow night. I have got grandkids coming all day and workers repairing here too.
 
It's really common for relatively newly diagnosed cats to have their numbers be all over the place. Their bodies are just getting used to learning how to work the insulin (which is a hormone) and also getting used to blood sugar numbers that are now lower than what they were used to before they were diagnosed.
If you want to look at Uncle's spreadsheet, you can see how all over the place he was when just starting out and then after a while settling in.
I know testing had been stressful for you and Stewie but it is something that must be done to be able to appropriately manage the diabetes and avoid a potentially life threatening hypo event. I think I read in another post that you are warming his ears up before the test, that usually helps. Maybe there are more tricks and tips out there...?
Thank you. I will look at your SS. Thank you very much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top