Help! Should I give insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mere.bear3

Member Since 2021
Her glucose was at 145 at 7 am. And 155 at 7:30. Last dose given at 6:45 last night. SS is up to date. TIA!!

edit: I went ahead and injected her .5u. Since her numbers appeared to be increasing and she hasn’t had any crazy dips at this dose, I felt comfortable doing it. Hopefully I did it right! Will take some measurements today to see how it goes.
 
Last edited:
We’ve had good numbers all day :) the lowest was 118. Is that a good nadir or do I need to try for a slight increase to get it a tad lower?
 
I'd follow PROZINC SLGS DOSING METHOD and hold this 0.5U dose for a week following these parts of the guideline:
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose.
- Hold the dose for at least a week:
Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.

I echo what Janet said in your last thread, you need to get some consistency and let things settle down a bit before making anymore dosing changes.

And I also agree with Bron, need to get the dates running down the spreadsheet please and you need to insert a line for each of those five days you were away when the petsitter didn't give insulin.
 
Always get a Preshot BG every cycle.
Try and get at least one test during the cycle to see how low the dose is taking Penny. If the BG is dropping it is a good idea to get another test a bit later to see she is still in safe numbers.
Don’t neglect the pm cycle which is just as important as the am cycle. Always get a before bed test and if that test is the same or lower than the Preshot BG I would set the alarm a few hours later to check Penny is still unsafe numbers.
 
Preshot tests everyday, both cycles.

With Prozinc it's a good idea to get a +2 to see where the cycle is headed, and another during the middle of the cycle between +4 and +7 to see how low the insulin dose is taking them. And don't forget the PM cycle, at the very least get a before bed test every night - if lower than preshot you might need to set an alarm to test again later in the PM cycle to make sure Penny is safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top