Help! Should I dose 0.75 or 1 unit tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
It's time for Lou's pm shot, and I'm waffling on what to give him... I've been really struggling on getting him down, just posted earlier today how his BGs were not lowering how I expected them to do. He had a late nadir today, so his preshot is at 170. He's given me rare blue preshots lately, but giving lower doses (0.125 - 0.2 u) has not helped so far. Do I give him 1 unit going off the fact that the 1 unit generally drops him at most 100 points when he's in the high 200s, or do I try 0.75? I am so excited to have a blue preshot BG, but I don't want to lose that momentum considering how hard his body's been working to stay in the higher BGs. Thoughts?? :nailbiting:
 
It's time for Lou's pm shot, and I'm waffling on what to give him... I've been really struggling on getting him down, just posted earlier today how his BGs were not lowering how I expected them to do. He had a late nadir today, so his preshot is at 170. He's given me rare blue preshots lately, but giving lower doses (0.125 - 0.2 u) has not helped so far. Do I give him 1 unit going off the fact that the 1 unit generally drops him at most 100 points when he's in the high 200s, or do I try 0.75? I am so excited to have a blue preshot BG, but I don't want to lose that momentum considering how hard his body's been working to stay in the higher BGs. Thoughts?? :nailbiting:
Maybe try 1.25 u and monitor this evening? He hasn't had a green nadir.
 
Maybe try 1.25 u and monitor this evening? He hasn't had a green nadir.

That is true. My first thought was that dose scared me even more than 1.0, but then I gave him 1 u yesterday when he was at 210, and he went up rather than down during the cycle. I will obviously be here if something goes awry... Perhaps that's not a bad idea considering smaller doses have not been doing him any favors lately.
 
Ugh!! That was seriously faar more nerve-wracking than it should have been. I was really nervous about giving 1.25, although the logic made perfect sense. I just stood for a bit in the kitchen willing myself to grow a pair and just get my dose ready... finally I figured I'd see if I could put myself at ease by testing him again after he ate. So almost 45 mins after eating, he had already gotten up to 207, so I went ahead and gave him 1.25. Now that it's done and I can't take it back, I wonder if I should have given any more with that high of a jump. UGH!! I hate being so uncertain! :banghead:

Anyways, thank you so much for your wonderful suggestion Kris! I definitely appreciate it in my moment (or 3) of total indecision. :confused:
 
Ugh!! That was seriously faar more nerve-wracking than it should have been. I was really nervous about giving 1.25, although the logic made perfect sense. I just stood for a bit in the kitchen willing myself to grow a pair and just get my dose ready... finally I figured I'd see if I could put myself at ease by testing him again after he ate. So almost 45 mins after eating, he had already gotten up to 207, so I went ahead and gave him 1.25. Now that it's done and I can't take it back, I wonder if I should have given any more with that high of a jump. UGH!! I hate being so uncertain! :banghead:

Anyways, thank you so much for your wonderful suggestion Kris! I definitely appreciate it in my moment (or 3) of total indecision. :confused:
You'll get better at these decisions. You know what to do if he drops lower than you'd like and you can always post for help.
 
Ugh!! That was seriously faar more nerve-wracking than it should have been.

Just wait! First time I shot under 100 it took everyone on the board doing a lot of convincing for 2 hours and me testing every 15 to 20 minutes to go ahead and shoot, and when I finally did, everything was still good. :) I think this sugar dance is much worse on the beans then the kitties sometimes lol.
 
I think this sugar dance is much worse on the beans then the kitties sometimes lol.

I couldn't agree more!

Maybe try 1.25 u and monitor this evening? He hasn't had a green nadir.

So just a quick update this morning... after all of that waiting and worrying, he STILL never went into the green for his nadir. And his AMPS is almost 300 (a pretty big jump in 5 hours). :arghh: At this rate, it's possible I may have bigger problems than I initially realized with this kid. :banghead:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top