? Help ?? Shoot or not ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

amy keay

Member Since 2018
hi been a while since I last posted - all been going ok. Need a bit of help please ?
Sooty has been ok (he recently had a urine infection and was lathargic, off food and generally a bit grumpy)
His BS dropped (vet said it’s the bacteria eating the glucose and hence BS lower than normal - he’s normally in the 20’s) I haven’t set up a spreadsheet (sorry) and need to (I know).
Anyway, last few days I’ve been checking BS levels - yesterday he was 20.9 PMPS so he had this usual 2u caninsulin.
This morning I didn’t check (he was perky, eating, usual wee and poo) so he had 1.75u.
I’ve just done the PMPS and he’s 11.7 ? 2 hours no food.
What do I do ?
I’m going to test again at 17.10 to see what he is but need help as to what to shoot
Thanks
Amy and sooty
 
He’s just had his meal - do I test again and give a reduced dose ? Or will the BG level be misleading cos he’s just eaten ?
 
Hi Amy. If you haven't shot yet, I wouldn't. Once food is on board, it can elevate the BG (or lower it, depending). Try to get your SS going so people can advise you in the future. You'll be able to get much more support if folks can see what's going on with Sooty's numbers. How is he feeling now? Has he healed from the infection?
 
Last edited:
Hi
I'm a bit mystified by some of the above - the vet says a urine infection has lowered bg??? It's normally the other way round, ie infection would raise bg. How much lower than normal has bg been? Are you sure that it's not insulin that has brought bg down?

So you gave 1.75u this morning, but you don't know what bg was then? Do you have any AMPS and PMPS data to show how he typically responds to a specific dose? The thing is, you usually shoot on the rise and we don't know if he's dropping or rising (12.5 is effectively the same number as 11.7).

So you've now given food and yes, that will elevate bg so you will probably see a rise soon now, and probably to a shootable number. But it's hard to say what to do without data (spreadsheet) to see how he usually responds to a particular dose. This is where a spreadsheet would help to make sense of things. As it is, you could guess that he's rising and shoot a token dose, but continue to monitor this evening in case he goes low. Or skip the dose and be sure to do a AMPS tomorrow to determine what to give then.
 
Thank you for the replies.
I’m setting up a spreadsheet as we speak - it should be on my signature now,
It’s blank but I will start to populate with data very soon (I know it’s difficult to advise without Figures).
I’ve decided not to shoot tonight and will test for AMPS and put data in ss (I’m so Sorry it hasn’t been there before)
 
Thank you for the replies.
I’m setting up a spreadsheet as we speak - it should be on my signature now,
It’s blank but I will start to populate with data very soon (I know it’s difficult to advise without Figures).
I’ve decided not to shoot tonight and will test for AMPS and put data in ss (I’m so Sorry it hasn’t been there before)
Excellent! Better late than never! If you test before each shot and also get a few random checks in some days when you're around, it will make it much easier for people to help.
 
I’ve certainly got used to testing now (it was all a bit daunting to begin with) but sooty and I have got used to it !
I’ll add the figures in and test for AMPS shot and decide from there. I’ve got lots of figures on bits of paper from a while ago but won’t put them in. I’ll start from scratch tomorrow morning and populate as often as I can.
I’m at work tomorrow for the day but at home on Tuesday so will be a little curve and pop the numbers in for comment.
Do I post on the main forum for comment or set up another thread somewhere else ?
 
I’ve certainly got used to testing now (it was all a bit daunting to begin with) but sooty and I have got used to it !
I’ll add the figures in and test for AMPS shot and decide from there. I’ve got lots of figures on bits of paper from a while ago but won’t put them in. I’ll start from scratch tomorrow morning and populate as often as I can.
I’m at work tomorrow for the day but at home on Tuesday so will be a little curve and pop the numbers in for comment.
Do I post on the main forum for comment or set up another thread somewhere else ?
Yes a mini curve would be great.
As far as asking for comments - for dosing queries we'd usually suggest the Caninsulin/Vetsulin forum - there aren't always many people there but that's where to find the experts on that insulin. You often get more "eyes" by posting on the main health forum, but not everyone who reads it would be familiar with that insulin and would refer you to the other one! Maybe your best bet is to post on Health - give the thread a clear topic heading so people can identify your need, eg Help with Caninsulin numbers please, and say in the body of the thread that you've recently set up a spreadsheet and would like opinions on numbers... and add that you will post more details on the C/V forum. If you start a dialogue with people there they will get to know you and again it makes things easier.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top