Help received! Thank you!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty Anderson

Member Since 2019
Hey

Princess Kraken went a bit hypo today, Enalapril and insulin together can cause hypo in cats.

Asked vet today if I should maintain same dose insulin and she recommended yes but cutting her enalapril dose in half until she gets her new renal meds tomorrow (pharmacy needed to special order).
However, her BG is 10.2 (184) (not expected after honey and high carb today).
No shot or cutting her 0.3 dose to 0.1 ? Canininsulin (vetsulin) and monitoring Nadir ready to intervene?
 
I see you had just increased her dose from 0.2 to 0.3. 184 is not horribly low, so if you can monitor, I would go back to the 0.2, and test at +2, +3, and +4 to see where she goes.
 
I see you had just increased her dose from 0.2 to 0.3. 184 is not horribly low, so if you can monitor, I would go back to the 0.2, and test at +2, +3, and +4 to see where she goes.

Thanks! went with your advice and my gut combined with an ever so slightly skinny 0.2. Will be watching her like a hawk and testing frequently. Just with her 250 drop today I´m ever so slightly nervous. But I´ve gotten her out of hypo twice this week with relative ease so not as stressed as at my first light green.. Uff.. that one was scary. Today not so much :)
 
I see you had just increased her dose from 0.2 to 0.3. 184 is not horribly low, so if you can monitor, I would go back to the 0.2, and test at +2, +3, and +4 to see where she goes.

You were right. She could have easily handled a full 0.2, probably even a fat one.

I think I'll be less stressed when I'm sure the enalapril is out of her system. Gets her new diabetic friendly kidney meds.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top