Help reading spreadsheet

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't think I've seen a previous thread of yours. I'm an linking your intro thread for continuity.

I wonder if I can ask a favor. This is our post on helping us to help you. There are instructions on how to put information in your signature. By putting some basic information in your signature, we won't plague you by asking the same questions repeatedly or we won't have to search to find that information. There are also instructions on how to link your spreadsheet into your signature. That will save you the trouble of having to remember to link Little Girl's spreadsheet when you post.

Not to take issue with @Chris & China (GA) advice, these are the guidelines for Vetsulin:
The general guidelines for making dose changes are:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • HOWEVER, there are some situations which signal that a larger than usual dose reduction is needed. If you are unsure, please post on this forum or in the Health forum and ask for input about your dose.
Because Vetsulin is a harsher insulin and can drop numbers fast and hard, the general recommendation is to increase doses by 0.25u. I realize that it can be hard to approximate this dose consistently but it's preferable to to having your cat's numbers in the very low range. With some of the other insulins there is an option for increasing the dose in a larger amount when numbers are high. The only exception that is a consideration is if your cat has a history of ketones or diabetic ketoacidosis.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top