Help! Ravan's glucose going up!

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoyBee&Ravan

Member Since 2018
Increased dose to 1.25 at 9:30am went down to 311 at 3:30 Now back up to 486 6:30 pm
What is happening? Why won't bg go down? He's feeling really bad Nauseous Not eating at all?
 
It can be totally normal for the numbers to go up on the first cycle or two after an increase. (I know...it sounds backwards!!)

We call it New Dose Wonkiness (NDW)

We don't know why it happens, but it's quite common.

It will take several cycles before the "depot" is full and releasing enough insulin back into the bloodstream to equal the new 1.25 dose, so try to hang in there.

As for the not eating, I know you're totally against medications, but if the SEB hasn't helped, I think it may be time to try something stronger like Cerenia or ondansetron for the nausea

Once you have the nausea under control, if he's still not eating, you may need to try an appetite stimulant like Cyproheptadine or Mirtazapine
 
This is so difficult seeing him miserable! It always seems Peggy Sue gets worse when he does?
This is new Ravan just went into the washroom upstairs. He's laying against the heat vent.
He he must feel really cold .It's very warm in that room. I've never seen him do this? What does that indicate?
 
Thanks Chris, Here I go again getting in a panic.I lost Ravan's 2 brothers & a sister not even a year ago! CAN"T lose him too!
 
I just gave him Ringers (I warm it up in a bucket of warm water first) He has always laid there quietly Today he acted agitated. Tried to leave several times. Something does not feel right? When he got up he was wobbly. I thought he was going to fall over.
 
I agree with Chris that if everything you've tried from syringe feeding to SEB hasn't helped it might be time to put aside your reluctance to give medications and get antinausea and appetite stimulant meds for Ravan. You've been in this tough spot for 2+weeks and haven't really been able to get him eating consistently. You're obviously very worried about him and desperate to get him feeling better. Sometimes a really tough problem requires us to look beyond our preferences and to make choices we're reluctant to make to achieve a worthwhile goal. Sometimes a very strongly held position can get in the way of accomplishing something very important to us - in this case helping your kitty.
 
I see what you mean. I did call my Vet last week Told the person I just wanted to ask the doc a few questions It was important. She said the only opening we have is next Thursday! I told her doc said if i just wanted to talk to come in & he would squeeze me in between appts. She replied, You need an appt. Her & the other ladies RUN the office. They don't like that the Vet gives me a break on the bill sometimes. I tried to talk to him about this but he laughed & said Oh my ladies are looking out for me? He told them to talk to him first before billing but it seems after a while they just do what they feel is best! I like this guy a lot. I've been going to him for over 15 yrs but lately his ladies are a real problem. I have an appt for next Thurs. I'll ask about the meds
 
I hope Ravan will be feeling better tomorrow and able to eat. I suspect you really need to see your vet. When was the last time you had complete blood work done? I see on the labs tab of Ravan's spreadsheet that you only have the ranges listed for the various components of the blood tests, not Ravan's actual scores. Nausea and inappetence are symptoms of pancreatitis, which is a very painful condition. The blood test is the IDEXX Labs Spec fpL. In any event, you need to get Ravan to eat. You might seriously consider joining the Yahoo Feline Assisted Feeding Group. Many people have been helped there. Going without food for a long time (more than several days) could lead to fatty liver disease, (hepatic lipidosis) which would require a lengthy period of treatment if not caught early.

Sending many vines for Ravan. And sending you a few :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
RAVAN"S bg up to 544 WHAT IS Happening! I gave him 1.25 Lantus at 9:30 & it never went lower than 311 NOW 544! HELP US PLEASE
 
I gave Ravan a 1/2 of syringe of baby food 30mins ago He did eat a few times this morning & afternoon. His bg has never been this high. What is causing it to climb with an increase in insulin?
 
When you raise the dose the "depot" has to adjust to the new dose. This means that some of the insulin in the new dose is going into the depot and is not available to work on the bg. As soon as the depot gets adjusted, you will begin to see the effect of the new dose. This can take several cycles (up to 6).
Try not to worry. Getting a newly diagnosed diabetic regulated can take a while. It's one of the "challenges". It is good that Ravan ate today.
 
Thank you for answering. It's so stressful when you feel overwhelmed & need an answer. It's so difficult to Calm down!Ravan's been on Lantus since 01/31/2018 almost 8 weeks ( It feels a LOT longer) I thought he should be regulated by now? his curve doesn't seem to make sense to me. It looks all over the place. Do you think so?

When i look at it it seems he was doing better on the low dose .5 I guess i thought if i kept it low his body would adjust eventually. Now the dose is 1.25 & his bg is way higher. I do understand what you mean about the depot. But why wasn't his bg doing that when the dose was low? Going way up & slowly coming down?
Also I'm not real clear on how much does he NEED to be eating every 24 hrs. He eats better in the am about a spoon of his food 3 or 4 times in the morning hours. Toward night he starts looking nauseous . I give him slippery elm in baby food & usually it helps & he'll eat a bit more. Today I've been testing every 3hrs since yesterday & I think it's wearing him out to wake him up so often? How long do i need to keep checking so often?
 
How long do i need to keep checking so often?
Let the numbers be your guide. Always get a test before shooting, then another test around +2.5 to +3. That number will give you an idea how much more you'll need to test in that cycle. If it's higher than the pre-shot test, you probably only need one test, somewhere in the middle of the cycle. If the +2.5-+32 test is the same as the pre-shot or lower, you want to test again in 1.5-2 hours, and then decide from that number when you need to test again. It takes a while to get the hang of it, and learn how your cat reacts to insulin. Right now he is possibly bouncing. It could also be that his BG is high because he feels crummy.

I agree that it may be time to try anti-nausea meds. It's really important for a cat to get enough calories, as if they don't, they can get hepatic lipidosis, or fatty liver disease. Even a few days without eating enough can cause this. It is very serious and can lead to death. Not to scare you, but just to let you know - I lost a cat to it because I didn't understand how important it is for them to get the calories they need. By the time I realized, he was too sick. Assist feeding isn't fun, but it's a way to keep him safe. As long as he isn't throwing it back up, keep doing that, and get those anti-nausea meds as soon as you are able, so he will want to eat on his own. It will be okay. Hang in there!
 
Thank you Tricia for responding. 8 wks since Ravan was diagnosed.Why was bg better a few wks ago, Up after Lantus increase ?
I syringe feed & he doesn't vomit.( I've never let him go without any food) When should bg come down? (Ketones negative)
Shot 9:30pm 544 ( +2 526 +8 474 ) When he doesn't eat I, Syringe pureed cooked chicken with calcium ,Taurine, B-12 & fish oil, adding CBD OIL, makes him hungry.Slippery Elm for nausea.

What anti Nausea meds did you use? Can I get it transdermal or liquid?
Would it be better to feed can food? I didn't find Instinct Rabbit or Soulistic Chicken in gravy on the Lisa Pierson List? Do you know if it's good? What food did you give Cinco? Do you think Ringers Sub Q helps?

5:30am Ravan's eating! Soulistic Chicken in Gravy,about a tbls. (How many ounces food does he need a day?) Slippery Elm must be working for his nausea!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top