Help, possible hypo w/Alphatrak.

Status
Not open for further replies.
ok good - another test in 30 is fine. Give him 1 more drop of syrup in 1 tsp LC if he will take it, or rub into gums.

This increase is probably just the syrup and he might drop when the sugar wears off..
 
6/12
AMPS 221
+2 63
+2.5 65 with karo
+3 66 with karo
+3.5 75 with 1/2 t karo

He has come up a little bit, but I want to see more of a rise. Please try him with 1 teaspoon of LC food with a drop of karo mixed in.
Wendy&Tiggy said:
ok good - another test in 30 is fine. Give him 1 more drop of syrup in 1 tsp LC if he will take it, or rub into gums.

This increase is probably just the syrup and he might drop when the sugar wears off..
 
If the cat is feeling nauseaus at all, yes. Ever get so hungry, your stomach was upset? Similar.

Hang in!
 
BJM said:
If the cat is feeling nauseaus at all, yes. Ever get so hungry, your stomach was upset? Similar.

Hang in!

Yes with the hunger. SO when his BG goes up he should feel better?

Hanging in....I'll be retesting in about 10 min.
 
OK.

SHould I keep trying to get him to eat some food?

EDIT: AT 12:10 PM (cst) he ate abiut a teaspoon of LC food.
 
let see where he is in 30 given he wont have had the syrup this time. If he stays up or goes higher maybe we leave it an hour. If he drops then its another test in 30. Good news annoyed might help increase his BG too ;) You are giving LC treats after you test?

I am thinking he might hit nadir soon or start to bounce too which will help..
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
let see where he is in 30 given he wont have had the syrup this time. If he stays up or goes higher maybe we leave it an hour. If he drops then its another test in 30. Good news annoyed might help increase his BG too ;) You are giving LC treats after you test?

I am thinking he might hit nadir soon or start to bounce too which will help..

I am due to test at 12:20 PM. Should I wait until 12:50? That'd be a full hour since last test.
 
It's ok, you are doing great. How about we do the next one in an hour but give him a little more syrup right now to ensure we keep him up? Normally I would have you wait and see but if he is getting too annoyed that's not good either.

So give some more syrup and measure in an hour and let me know. I will be here waiting to see. We want to be sure he is still going up when the syrup wears off and doesn't suddenly nose dive.


Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
It's ok, you are doing great. How about we do the next one in an hour but give him a little more syrup right now to ensure we keep him up? Normally I would have you wait and see but if he is getting too annoyed that's not good either.

So give some more syrup and measure in an hour and let me know. I will be here waiting to see. We want to be sure he is still going up when the syrup wears off and doesn't suddenly nose dive.


Wendy


OK. I'll give some karo. He's not really interested in any food right now. But he is pretty alert.
 
6/12
AMPS 221
+2 63
+2.5 65 with karo
+3 66 with karo
+3.5 75 with 1/2 t karo
+4 92. LC
+4.5 86 with karo
+5.5 78

ok you can either give more syrup in test in an hour, or skip syrup and test in 30.

Wendy
 
I think I'll opt for some syrup and test in an hour. I've offered food but he's not interested.

Have we passed nadir?

EDT: I gave him a bit of karo and he's eating some tuna now too.
 
The nadir for Lantus is generally between +5 to +7 hours after the shot, normally. Since the dose was enough to take him low, it may take longer to wear off.

He needs to be solidly above about 100 mg/dL, twice in a row, to relax, especially if he isn't eating still. Syrup wears off pretty quickly.
 
I agree with BJ but the problem is that we are still giving syrup right now and its not bringing him up. Next time we might have you skip the syrup and do half hour tests again to see if he comes down again.

See you in an hour.

Wendy
 
He had some karo over an hour ago, then I tested.

I just gave him a smear on his gums and he ate a little tuna.

Should I smear a small amount on his gums avery 10 min. or so?
 
Just keep doing what you've been doing.

You might try offering a pea-sized bit of canned food at a time on a finger, or even putting it in his mouth to see if he'll eat some that way. The protein in it will result in sustained glucose levels.
 
I just got him to eat about 3/4-1 oz of LC food.

ANd based on my temp. of 101.4...I think Kitten is staring to feel a bit better.
 
Just tested at 2:55 PM (cst)....BG was 187, one eight seven.

An hour ago he did get a little karo smeared on his gums and did eat about an ounce of LC food.
 
Would you say this was right?

6/12
AMPS 221
+2 63
+2.5 65 with karo
+3 66 with karo
+3.5 75 with 1/2 t karo
+4 92. LC
+4.5 86 with karo
+5.5 78 with karo
+7 187
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Would you say this was right?

6/12
AMPS 221
+2 63
+2.5 65 with karo
+3 66 with karo
+3.5 75 with 1/2 t karo
+4 92. LC
+4.5 86 with karo
+5.5 78 with karo
+7 187

Wendy,

That looks correct.

Could that last big rise be due the the food he ate? ANd what do I continue to keep doing? Trying to keep him eating LC food?
 
I suspect he passed nadir. So now just feed him etc as usual. Maybe another check in a couple of hours to see where he is at.

tonite - you going to reduce the dose or skip?
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
I suspect he passed nadir. So now just feed him etc as usual. Maybe another check in a couple of hours to see where he is at.

tonite - you going to reduce the dose or skip?

I'll check him in say 2 hours. He's sleeping right now. Hard to believe that nadir and 1 oz. of food can cause a big jump. Wow.

The vet said to skip tonight's dose and tomorrow as well. SHe said he MAY be resolving this on his own, since they believe it was Depo Medrol induced and the "cold turkey" switch from dry to all wet may be happening.

I can't THANK you enough!!! ANd all the others that replied.

There's NO way I would have gotten through this without y'all!
 
ok cool let me know how it goes in two hours.

Through tonite and tomorrow get some spot checks to see how he is doing - we want him 50-130 as much as possible. If he cant sustain that he might not be quite ready for OTJ yet in which case your next dose is 0.25IU.

Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
ok cool let me know how it goes in two hours.

Through tonite and tomorrow get some spot checks to see how he is doing - we want him 50-130 as much as possible. If he cant sustain that he might not be quite ready for OTJ yet in which case your next dose is 0.25IU.

Wendy


.25u!!!

I can barely see the 1/2u :lol:
 
Lol.. Do your syringes have half unit markings? Heres how it looks

025unit-1.jpg
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Thats a good idea. Also can you remove the 911 from your first post? No more emergency now!


I removed the 911 from the post.

He has been sleeping for 2 hours and not eaten. Just tested him.

His BG was 131. We're going to see if he'll take some food. On the bright side of all this...I got a lot of testing practice in.

Thankfully, my wife is now home. She has 2 patients to look after. :lol:
 
Due to this incident, it is possible he may be more sensitive to insulin.
If you aren't up for staying awake all night, and he tests barely above 200, you may want to skip tonight.

They make syringe magnifiers, visor magnifiers, eye glasses clip on magnifiers, and of course, free-standing magnifiers. I use the Carso Clip 'n' Flip with my glasses and they were great. Avalable from our shopping partner Amazon.
 
BJM said:
Due to this incident, it is possible he may be more sensitive to insulin.
If you aren't up for staying awake all night, and he tests barely above 200, you may want to skip tonight.

They make syringe magnifiers, visor magnifiers, eye glasses clip on magnifiers, and of course, free-standing magnifiers. I use the Carso Clip 'n' Flip with my glasses and they were great. Avalable from our shopping partner Amazon.

The vet said to skip tonight.

Thanks for the magnifying tips.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top