Wendy&Tiggy said:ok good - when was last test? we need to test every 30 for now.
Yes. He's not happy with this every 15 min deal.
Should I keep feeding him a little at a time?
Wendy&Tiggy said:ok good - when was last test? we need to test every 30 for now.
Wendy&Tiggy said:ok good - another test in 30 is fine. Give him 1 more drop of syrup in 1 tsp LC if he will take it, or rub into gums.
This increase is probably just the syrup and he might drop when the sugar wears off..
Wendy&Tiggy said:Syrup on the gums again then please.
When did he eat brekkie?
BJM said:If the cat is feeling nauseaus at all, yes. Ever get so hungry, your stomach was upset? Similar.
Hang in!
Wendy&Tiggy said:thats fine to give him LC.
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:let see where he is in 30 given he wont have had the syrup this time. If he stays up or goes higher maybe we leave it an hour. If he drops then its another test in 30. Good news annoyed might help increase his BG tooYou are giving LC treats after you test?
I am thinking he might hit nadir soon or start to bounce too which will help..
Wendy&Tiggy said:No let's do 12.20 , that's +4.5 right? And then we can decide from there..
Wendy&Tiggy said:Remind me when he last had syrup? An hour ago?
Wendy&Tiggy said:It's ok, you are doing great. How about we do the next one in an hour but give him a little more syrup right now to ensure we keep him up? Normally I would have you wait and see but if he is getting too annoyed that's not good either.
So give some more syrup and measure in an hour and let me know. I will be here waiting to see. We want to be sure he is still going up when the syrup wears off and doesn't suddenly nose dive.
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:Ok cool. C u in an hour. Go grab lunch and chill.. And keep an eye on him just in case.
Wendy
dsmithkma said:Yes with the hunger. SO when his BG goes up he should feel better?...
BJM said:dsmithkma said:Yes with the hunger. SO when his BG goes up he should feel better?...
That's the hope, so long as no other illness is happening.
Wendy&Tiggy said:Ok cool. C u in an hour. Go grab lunch and chill.. And keep an eye on him just in case.
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:Would you say this was right?
6/12
AMPS 221
+2 63
+2.5 65 with karo
+3 66 with karo
+3.5 75 with 1/2 t karo
+4 92. LC
+4.5 86 with karo
+5.5 78 with karo
+7 187
Wendy&Tiggy said:I suspect he passed nadir. So now just feed him etc as usual. Maybe another check in a couple of hours to see where he is at.
tonite - you going to reduce the dose or skip?
Wendy&Tiggy said:ok cool let me know how it goes in two hours.
Through tonite and tomorrow get some spot checks to see how he is doing - we want him 50-130 as much as possible. If he cant sustain that he might not be quite ready for OTJ yet in which case your next dose is 0.25IU.
Wendy
Wendy&Tiggy said:Thats a good idea. Also can you remove the 911 from your first post? No more emergency now!
BJM said:Due to this incident, it is possible he may be more sensitive to insulin.
If you aren't up for staying awake all night, and he tests barely above 200, you may want to skip tonight.
They make syringe magnifiers, visor magnifiers, eye glasses clip on magnifiers, and of course, free-standing magnifiers. I use the Carso Clip 'n' Flip with my glasses and they were great. Avalable from our shopping partner Amazon.