Help - possible Hypo - Loki 1/18/26

Loki'sMom82

Member Since 2025
First time with possible hypo.. :nailbiting:

Loki's PMPS was 46. No hypo symptoms whatsoever. I skipped giving him tonight's insulin and immediately gave him a can of high carb food. 20 min. later, his BG is 148.

I think I'm supposed to give him 1 teaspoon of honey and then retest him every 15-20 minutes until his numbers are safe again.
If they are, I should keep testing / monitoring him all night. If his numbers remain good, do I need to do anything else?
And what should I do if his numbers start to go back down?

Also, what does this mean for tomorrow's insulin shot?

Some background:
His AMPS and PMPS numbers have been all over the place for a while, and he's on his 3rd month of insulin.
He's had diarrhea 2 x day (no solid poops) for the past few weeks. Vet put him on a probiotic with each meal, but no improvement.
Vet also decided to put a Freestyle Libre on him this Friday.
 
Last edited:
Looks like Loki is one of those cats that nadirs at the end of the cycle when clearing a bounce. Does he get small meals during the day? Numbers can keep calling without food through the cycle.

If you are following SLGS, a drop below 90 earns a reduction. I see that he has dropped below 90, but you haven't taken a reduction?

You would go down to 2.25U tomorrow.

How long is it since the 148? Please do not hold back any high carb food for now?
 
Thank you so much for responding!!

Yes, am doing SLGS.

Oh no .. I didn't realize I should decrease his dose at 90. I thought that, for a newly diabetic cat, a drop below 50, not 90, earned a reduction. So it's 90, not 50, when you're doing SLGS?

15 minutes ago, he was 148. For the past 15 minutes, he ate more of that high carb food. No honey yet. Will test again in 5 minutes.
 
Sorry I missed one of your questions. Yes, he eats most of his meal but saves some to graze on during the day.

(after 2-hr fast) PMPS: BG 46
(20 min. later) ate 3/4 can high carb food: BG 148
(15 min. later) ate additional 1/4 can high carb food: BG 304
 
Last edited:
Oh no .. I didn't realize I should decrease his dose at 90. I thought that, for a newly diabetic cat, a drop below 50, not 90, earned a reduction. So it's 90, not 50, when you're doing SLGS?
Yes, with SLGS, the reduction point is 90 and not 50. Every drop below 90 is a reduction.


Yes, he eats most of his meal but saves some to graze on during the day.
You want to get him into the habit of having a couple of small meals in the first have of the cycle. Do you think you can do that? Many of our members use a timed auto-feeder. You could try getting him to eat a snack at +2 and +4. Food helps reduce diving and flattens the curve.


(after 2-hr fast) PMPS: BG 46
(20 min. later) ate 3/4 can high carb food: BG 148
(15 min. later) ate additional 1/4 can high carb food: BG 304
It's now nearly 2 hours since his shot was due? Or just an hour? Can you adjust future your shooting schedule if you shoot late tonight?

Please take off the 911 tag now? Thanks! :-)
 
Thanks!! I rechecked his BG (416) and then gave him 2.25u.

Do I need to stay up and continually test him tonight? And should I put out more high carb food or the regular low carb?
 
Hi Amy, when using a Libre sensor, it’s good to be aware of how it works.
I will link a document we have created with lots of helpful information.

When you see low Libre numbers (under 100, especially under 50,) if you can get a blood test with an ear prick, that’s highly advised.
**Sometimes the Libre reads lower than a handheld meter does.
If you have any Libre questions, feel free to ask 🥰
Getting Started With Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for Diabetic Cats
 
Back
Top