HELP! PMPS 112, insulin or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marianne Lima

Member Since 2022
Good evening!
I just tested Samuka’s PMPS and it was 112. I am currently giving him 5u of Lantus, which it look like is making a difference.
I am waiting 20 more minutes to test him again before giving food, but I would like your opinions if I should give him a token, or do not give him any insulin?
Thanks!
 
I see by the SS you gave 4 units at +3 (PM cycle).
Your next dose will have to be 12 hours from the +3, although you can go back to your original schedule by 15 minutes twice a day or 30 minutes once a day.
 
Hi @Marianne Lima, I replied to your comment in FB. Did not make the connection to Samuka from here :-)
Btw, if you shot at +3 last night, you would enter the data in your SS like this:

In the PMPS cell you would put "112@+12, 106@+12.25, 182@+15" and put 4 in the U cell. That way people know that you shot 3 hours late.
Did you give 5U this morning? At his usual time or 11.5/12 hours after last night's shot?

Since you are following SLGS, he has earned a reduction yesterday and his dose going forward would be 4.75U.
 
To clarify, a token dose is 20-25% of your regular dose. So for 5 units, a token dose would be less than 2 and no more than 2.5.

And as Bandit’s mom said, he should be at 4.75 starting today because of the lower than 90 reading you got yesterday.
 
Hi @Marianne Lima, I replied to your comment in FB. Did not make the connection to Samuka from here :)
Btw, if you shot at +3 last night, you would enter the data in your SS like this:

In the PMPS cell you would put "112@+12, 106@+12.25, 182@+15" and put 4 in the U cell. That way people know that you shot 3 hours late.
Did you give 5U this morning? At his usual time or 11.5/12 hours after last night's shot?

Since you are following SLGS, he has earned a reduction yesterday and his dose going forward would be 4.75U.
Thanks for the reply on FB :)
I've updated the information on his spreadsheet (still learning how to use it properly, I apologize)
The 5u was given on his usual time (10 hours after last night's shot), I am waiting to test him now at AMPS+5, and will test one more time around +8. I am going back to 4.75 tonight. So just to clarify, if Samuka gets a nadir between 50-99, should I increase his dosage? Now that I am back on 4.75u, should I have a BG curve after 1 week starting from today?

Thank you all for your help!
 
To clarify, a token dose is 20-25% of your regular dose. So for 5 units, a token dose would be less than 2 and no more than 2.5.

And as Bandit’s mom said, he should be at 4.75 starting today because of the lower than 90 reading you got yesterday.
Thank you for clarifying it, Ale! If I get a test between 150-200, I will give a token dose instead the entire/more than 2u. I am glad that Samuka didn't experienced hypo yet :(
 
I've updated the information on his spreadsheet (still learning how to use it properly, I apologize)
No need to apologize. :-) All the readings before the shot would go into the PMPS cell since they were before insulin was given.

I am waiting to test him now at AMPS+5, and will test one more time around +8.
Since he is higher, it means he is bouncing and you can take a break from tests till PMPS.

So just to clarify, if Samuka gets a nadir between 50-99, should I increase his dosage? Now that I am back on 4.75u, should I have a BG curve after 1 week starting from today?
Any drop below 90 is a reduction with SLGS. Considering how much you are testing every day, you don't really need a curve once a week. Most people who follow SLGS do not test as much as you do. They can at best manage preshot tests and the occasional spot check. The idea behind testing is to see how low a dose is taking the cat and whether it needs to be increased or decreased.
 
Thank you for clarifying it, Ale! If I get a test between 150-200, I will give a token dose instead the entire/more than 2u. I am glad that Samuka didn't experienced hypo yet :(
Every cat is different and looking at his spreadsheet, it looks like he’s handling the full dose when he’s above 150 well. The goal is for you to be able to shoot the full dose even at lower preshot numbers. And it also depends on how comfortable you are dealing with lower numbers and if you can monitor. So, I would suggest you give the full dose for any value above 150 if you can monitor. Under 150, give the token dose. Honestly, I was giving Bobo the full dose with anything above 100 and sometimes lower too. I’m wondering if it’s time for you to start posting on the Lantus forum instead. Any thoughts @Bandit's Mom and @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Last edited:
I’m wondering if it’s time for you to start posting on the Lantus forum instead. Any thoughts @Bandit's Mom and @Bron and Sheba (GA)
Yes, you want to start posting in the Lantus forum. It has many experienced Lantus users who can help you almost 24 X 7.

With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90. Like @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) said, the idea is to gradually reduce the preshot number at which you give the full shot. Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top