Help please should I shoot or give reduced dose?

Nell

Member Since 2020
Nell had her Libre attached yesterday. She has been on Lantus since the 2nd of April and gone from .5 U for 1st week to 1 U for the second week and then to 1.5 U (for the last two days) under vet supervision without monitoring glucose levels (using only urine tests). Finally persuaded vet to install Libre yesterday and she dropped from 432 to 136 +4 from evening shot, to 106 +5, to 84 +6, to 93 +7, to 97 +8. This morning she is at 136 and her shot is due now - should I give her a reduced dose (vet said if her glucose dropped below 180 to give her .5 U and keep her on that for a week), should I skip the dose or give her a different dose? Please Help. Thank you.
 
Hi there, I decided to skip the dose as the only information I have on how responds to Lantus is from the Libre which was installed less than 24 hours ago. From what I read it seems it’s safer to skip the shot when less than 150 pre-shot - which she was. According to the Libre she is starting to rise quite sharply now - she rose to 183 two and a half hours after she was due the shot and up to 248 three hours after the shot was due.
I’m not sure what to do next - give her the next shot at the due time in about 9 hours after the last reading I took and reduce as per the vet’s instructions which is to drop by a full 1 U and hold at that for a week or whether to come back down to 1 U which would be a .5 U drop (we don’t seem to have half dose syringes here in Australia)...
 
Most of the people here with experience will be very reticent to offer suggestions about dose without a spreadsheet. We really need to see numbers or we could give you drastically dangerous information.

You also need to decide what approach to dosing you want to follow, either Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow. When you refer to 150 as a number to ask for advice, that is for new members using the Tight Regulation Protocol. The ask for. help munger with SLGS is 200. There are other differences between the methods.
 
Most of the people here with experience will be very reticent to offer suggestions about dose without a spreadsheet. We really need to see numbers or we could give you drastically dangerous information.

You also need to decide what approach to dosing you want to follow, either Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow. When you refer to 150 as a number to ask for advice, that is for new members using the Tight Regulation Protocol. The ask for. help munger with SLGS is 200. There are other differences between the methods.

I’m getting myself in a stew and shot time is coming up in less than 3 hours - I have been trying for hours to populate the spreadsheet and just can’t do it (I’m not the best with technology). But so far the only numbers I have are the ones above and a few subsequent numbers as Nell only had the Libre fitted yesterday and despite having been diagnosed on the 2nd of April, 2020 I have been unable to take ear or paw tests - it’s a struggle with the insulin shots - it takes 2 of us!
The vet has been rather vague and told me not to worry but in the end I had to insist on having the Libre fitted to know what was happening particularly with the increased dose she prescribed. Thank goodness I did because she dropped pretty low pretty quickly and had only got back up to 136 AMPS and if I had gone ahead and given her 1.5U at that point who knows what may have happened... I feel it is probably safer to start with SLGS. Given the way she responded to the new dose of 1.5U a drop in Lantus is no doubt the way to go but dropping a full unit puts us back to the starting point of three weeks ago - is this standard? Or is dropping back by .5 of a Unit to 1 Unit likely to be more useful to Nell? She was on 1 Unit twice a day last week I just don’t know how her glucose levels travelled at that dose.
Her numbers have been up in the mid 300’s during the last several hours after missing this morning’s shot (I’m in Australia by the way so times may seem a bit off to you).
Any suggestions or help in understanding how the insulin will affect her would be greatly appreciated.
 
they can be ordered through a company in the UK which will deliver to you in about a week. The company website is Hyperdrug.co.uk. Here is the direct link to the page to order the 1/2 unit (Demi) U100 0.3ml syringes: https://www.hyperdrug.co.uk/BD-Micr...03ml-pack-of-100/productinfo/BDMICROFINE03ML/.

Thank you so much for the link - unfortunately the list of countries the site generates on checkout doesn’t include Australia. Is there a way to get around that do you know?
 
I’m going to tag someone in Australia who will be able to help you with supplies. @Bron and Sheba (GA) Hi. Can you help her?

As to dosing, your vet increased faster than we do. We increase in .25 increments. It’s not at all surprising that she would rise that high after a skipped shot. Don’t worry she will come down. Nobody can predict how the insulin will effect her. That’s why testing is important. We can guide you.

I’m also going to tag someone to help you set up a spreadsheet. She can do it very quickly. @Marje and Gracie .
 
Hi!
I live in Sydney so should be around when you are wanting to shoot. What time do you give the insulin?

I’m surprised that the link Chris gave you doesn’t send to Australia. It always has done.
Until you can access some 1/2 unit syringes just keep using the 1 unit ones. I only ever had 1 unit ones up until the last year
And I used to eye ball 1/4 unit doses ok with the help of a magnifying glass.

I can see a spreadsheet there. Can you add any data into it? If you can’t I will ask @Chris & China (GA) if she can help you. She will ask you to send her a private message with your details.
Here are the two dosing methods.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
If you think you would like to do the SLGS method could you set up your signature please and add that
To set up the signature Go to the top right of this page and click on your username. Click on signature and tell us yours and Nells name, date of disgnosis, type of insulin and type of meter, type of food given, any other illnesses and medications, weight and save.
It will appear At the bottom of all your posts and will tell us what we need to know about Nell to help you.

If you get a number under 200 at shot time, I would stall, don’t feed and ask for help and test again in 20 minutes. If you tell me the time, I will try and be on here to help you.
It is hard without a spreadsheet but looking at your numbers I think you would be Best to go back to 1 unit and hold the dose for 7 days to let the depot settle, unless she drops under 50. Does your meter read in the mmol/L or the US version Mg/dL?

Did the vet comment on her having ketones at all at diagnosis?
Here is a link for Aussie caregivers
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/information-for-aussie-feline-diabetic-caregivers.217781/

And a link for new members on how you can help us to help you
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
Bron
 
Last edited:
Without having data specific to you and your cat, generally I feel dropping a whole unit in dose is a LOT for a cat. I have some syringes without half unit markings I was given incorrectly by the pharmacy, and I’ve been eyeballing the .25 extra over the unit line. Please get other advice and get more blood glucose readings before considering trying this, but I think with experience it is possible to try something like a “fat” dose, or simply do less than the 1.5u but more than 1u even, and I’ve always been told consistency is key.
My very generalized feedback would normally be to drop to 1u and get more data, unless kitty is in hypo range (below 50 on human meter). But again, please don’t take that as the final answer, just my two cents. Maybe only one cent even.
More weighing in from more experienced people is better. :)
 
Are. you entering the numbers on the World tab of the spreadsheet?

The "World" version will automatically convert the mmol/L values to the format we use in the US (mg/dL). I'm also tagging @Marje and Gracie -- she set up the spreadsheet. If you send her a private message and ask for a hand with the spreadsheet, I'm sure she can lend a hand.
 
Thank you so much for all the support. I’ll answer more fully in the morning when I’m not using matchsticks to keep my eyes open - I hope! I had a sleepless night last night staying up to keep an eye on Nell. My gut also told me to go with the 1U that she was on last week and all being well stay on that for a week and review - moving in .25U doses if need be. So far this Libre has been a Godsend and I should have insisted on it in the first instance.
 
We’re up and ready for the next dose after giving her 1U for the last dose. She didn’t go below 265 over the 12 hours according to the Libre and is now AMPS 311. Should I stick with 1U for the week or “fat” it up to a little over?
 
I’m going to tag someone in Australia who will be able to help you with supplies. @Bron and Sheba (GA) Hi. Can you help her?

As to dosing, your vet increased faster than we do. We increase in .25 increments. It’s not at all surprising that she would rise that high after a skipped shot. Don’t worry she will come down. Nobody can predict how the insulin will effect her. That’s why testing is important. We can guide you.

I’m also going to tag someone to help you set up a spreadsheet. She can do it very quickly. @Marje and Gracie .
 
Thank you so much for your support and help. I knew the testing was very important but my vet wanted to rely on “clinical signs” and keep the Freestyle Libre in our “arsenal” for further down the the track until in the end she relented because she could tell I was getting very anxious about increasing the dose while shooting blind.
Hopefully I can get the spreadsheet to work for me...
 
Your ss doesn’t work for me. Dosing is not based on the BG before you inject them insulin. It’s based on how low a dose takes your cat. Lantus also likes consistency. If my cat I would stick with the l unit or give 1.25. Increasing by .5 last time was too big an increase.
 
Hi!
I live in Sydney so should be around when you are wanting to shoot. What time do you give the insulin?

I’m surprised that the link Chris gave you doesn’t send to Australia. It always has done.
Until you can access some 1/2 unit syringes just keep using the 1 unit ones. I only ever had 1 unit ones up until the last year
And I used to eye ball 1/4 unit doses ok with the help of a magnifying glass.

I can see a spreadsheet there. Can you add any data into it? If you can’t I will ask @Chris & China (GA) if she can help you. She will ask you to send her a private message with your details.
Here are the two dosing methods.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
If you think you would like to do the SLGS method could you set up your signature please and add that
To set up the signature Go to the top right of this page and click on your username. Click on signature and tell us yours and Nells name, date of disgnosis, type of insulin and type of meter, type of food given, any other illnesses and medications, weight and save.
It will appear At the bottom of all your posts and will tell us what we need to know about Nell to help you.

If you get a number under 200 at shot time, I would stall, don’t feed and ask for help and test again in 20 minutes. If you tell me the time, I will try and be on here to help you.
It is hard without a spreadsheet but looking at your numbers I think you would be Best to go back to 1 unit and hold the dose for 7 days to let the depot settle, unless she drops under 50. Does your meter read in the mmol/L or the US version Mg/dL?

Did the vet comment on her having ketones at all at diagnosis?
Here is a link for Aussie caregivers
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/information-for-aussie-feline-diabetic-caregivers.217781/

And a link for new members on how you can help us to help you
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
Bron
Hi Bron,

Thank you so much for getting back to me and the very helpful links - I don’t feel quite so alone knowing there’s someone in Sydney who has been through this and knows what they are doing! I’m just a couple of hours north of you in Pokolbin in the Hunter Valley but the specialists we take Nell to are Sydney-based and they also have an establishment on the Central Coast which is a bit nearer for us (you probably know who I mean).

In answer to some of your questions/points...

We give Nell her shots at 6.15 (am and pm). She is a very fractious/ nervous cat and we have had to resort to my husband picking her up and holding her while I administer the dose and she growls. Once or twice I managed to do it on my own in an attempt to minimise restraining her but it didn’t last - I get the feeling the shots actually sting her - vet said she wouldn’t feel a thing! I asked about changing to Levemir because of the different ph and she said Lantus is better because we need the acidity of Lantus? She also said Levemir would need to be such a tiny dose compared to Lantus that it would need to be diluted? I don’t think she knows anything much about Levemir at all... When I asked about increasing her original dose by 0.25U she said it was too fiddily and inaccurate and that 0.5 U increases were safe. Even without the more accurate syringes I too will now prefer to eyeball it and go slower!

The spreadsheet won’t allow me to input information. For example trying to enter anything just comes up with a formula and it won’t let me put in the numbers. I have no idea how I actually managed to download a spreadsheet at all! I downloaded/copied the “World” version. The continuous Freestyle Libre monitor is in mmol/L and I’ve been converting the numbers in my post by x18 as most readers recognise use the US version.

I did try to use the signature but even that kept telling me to change it because there was one line too many - I kept reducing it until I had just one line and a few words and got the same response. It must just be me! I will try again later.

I think the SLGS method is probably my choice right now particularly until I get a feel for Nell’s response to the insulin and get the results of her test for Acromegaly - although, as I understand it, under normal circumstances the tight control is more likely to bring about remission. Is it viable to change down the track? For tighter control I would need to have a Libre fitted pretty much all the time to constantly monitor her levels.

Talking about fitting the Libre the vet insisted she was sedated for the procedure which was pretty traumatic for her - she’s been hiding a lot and very wary. So I can’t put her through that all the time - I would have thought that if they could draw blood they could apply the Libre without knocking her out. Turned out the vet nurse fitted the sensor and told us not to scan for a result more than about three or four times a day because there was limited data space on the scanner? I thought the point was to be able to get a reading as often as necessary rather than waiting for a “print out” of the trends.

On the original bloodwork indicating the possibility of Diabetes (26th of March) her blood ketones were slightly high at 0.6 mmol/L (normal range: 0.0 - 0.5 mmol/L). I regularly test her urine with Keto-Diastix strips and, while recognising they have their limitations and don’t measure all types of ketones, they have not been positive.

Last night and this morning she had 1U of Lantus. Over night her lowest reading was a touch under 15 (270). Is it too soon to nudge to a “fat” 1U or 1.25 U do you think? My guess is that had we only increased from 1U to 1.25U instead following the vet’s advice she would have been fine. Oh well...

Thanks again Bron and sorry for the long response/rant - it’s so frustrating and scary at the moment.

Ruth.
 
Hi Ruth,
In answer to some of your questions.
Yes you can swap from SLGS to TR anytime.
You would not want to chop and change but when you are more used to it you may want to swap.

Its not true what the vet says about levemir. She obviously knows very little about it. I used levemir with Sheba after using Lantus for a year. It is very similar to Lantus and the doses are basically the same. It hasn’t been around as long as Lantus. When I swapped over my vet had not heard of it but he researched it and then gave me the prescription. I would stick with Lantus for the time being unless Nell really objects to the injections.

Are you feeding her while you give the injection to distract her?

A lot of vets think increasing in 1/4 unit increments is crazy. And probably worry that a lot of people would not get the dose accurately enough. My vet did but he went along with it and was happy for me to do the dosing. Cats are only tiny things and 1/4 unit can make a big difference especially when you get close to the best dose.

We need to get that SS up and running for you. Marj is not here a lot ATM so I’ll tag @Chris & China (GA) to see if she can help. She is around more during our afternoons/evenings.
Not sure what you are doing with the signature.... just put points not sentences such as Ruth &Nell. Dx (date), SLGS, Freestle libre meter, low carb food ( or whatever you are feeding) no other health issues. And see if that works

I’m glad you are testing for ketones. That’s important!

Surprised they are testing for Acromegaly at this stage.

Are you thinking about doing the home testing yourself? It is not hard and will be much cheaper than the freestyle libre. It is surprising how both you
and Nell will adapt.

I must stop and feed my cats breakfast. I slept in and they are both jumping up and down off the bed trying to get me to get up and feed them. I am usually up much earlier to do it.
Keep asking questions.
 
Your ss doesn’t work for me. Dosing is not based on the BG before you inject them insulin. It’s based on how low a dose takes your cat. Lantus also likes consistency. If my cat I would stick with the l unit or give 1.25. Increasing by .5 last time was too big an increase.
Your ss doesn’t work for me. Dosing is not based on the BG before you inject them insulin. It’s based on how low a dose takes your cat. Lantus also likes consistency. If my cat I would stick with the l unit or give 1.25. Increasing by .5 last time was too big an increase.
Thank you Tiffmaxee - Yes I knew about the nadir being the basis for dosing so when she went down to 84 I thought that might be a concern at this point, particularly when her next pre-shot had not risen above 136. It’s all very new and overwhelming and the vet was basing dosing on guesswork - this is the first insight we’ve had in to how she is responding to the insulin. We went with 1U. Based on last night’s results she probably could have had a”fat” 1U or 1.25U...
 
OK thank you Bron - we’ll stick with the 1U. How long would be reasonable do you think?
If you are following SLGS you hold the dose for 1 week.
If you want to try TR you can as you are testing enough with the meter you have.
You could the change the dose after 3 days.
The main differences between the two are:
SLGS. .. hold the dose for 7 days, do a curve then evaluate. Reduce if drops under 90, you don’t have to test as much as TR. Can be feeding dry (not recommended but some people do)

TR...... can increase after 3 days if needed, more testing needed, reduce if drops under 50, no dry food, only canned or raw

More details of both methods at the top of the Lantus page in the yellow stickies.
 
The spreadsheet won’t allow me to input information. For example trying to enter anything just comes up with a formula and it won’t let me put in the numbers.

If you look along the bottom, you'll see a tab that says "World mmol/L"....click there to access the World spreadsheet and you should be able to enter the numbers you see on your meter.

If you still have a problem, please send me a PM and I'll see what we can figure out. Just click on my name and choose "start a conversation"
 
Hi Ruth,
In answer to some of your questions.
Yes you can swap from SLGS to TR anytime.
You would not want to chop and change but when you are more used to it you may want to swap.

Its not true what the vet says about levemir. She obviously knows very little about it. I used levemir with Sheba after using Lantus for a year. It is very similar to Lantus and the doses are basically the same. It hasn’t been around as long as Lantus. When I swapped over my vet had not heard of it but he researched it and then gave me the prescription. I would stick with Lantus for the time being unless Nell really objects to the injections.

Are you feeding her while you give the injection to distract her?

A lot of vets think increasing in 1/4 unit increments is crazy. And probably worry that a lot of people would not get the dose accurately enough. My vet did but he went along with it and was happy for me to do the dosing. Cats are only tiny things and 1/4 unit can make a big difference especially when you get close to the best dose.

We need to get that SS up and running for you. Marj is not here a lot ATM so I’ll tag @Chris & China (GA) to see if she can help. She is around more during our afternoons/evenings.
Not sure what you are doing with the signature.... just put points not sentences such as Ruth &Nell. Dx (date), SLGS, Freestle libre meter, low carb food ( or whatever you are feeding) no other health issues. And see if that works

I’m glad you are testing for ketones. That’s important!

Surprised they are testing for Acromegaly at this stage.

Are you thinking about doing the home testing yourself? It is not hard and will be much cheaper than the freestyle libre. It is surprising how both you
and Nell will adapt.

I must stop and feed my cats breakfast. I slept in and they are both jumping up and down off the bed trying to get me to get up and feed them. I am usually up much earlier to do it.
Keep asking questions.

Thanks again Bron for answering my questions.

I feed Nell a meal immediately before her shot to make sure she eats enough and then we try to distract her with a little more before, during and after the shot but she still struggles and growls with her mouth full...

I have tried to home test but she doesn’t want a bar of it and we both get very stressed - hence the push for a Freestyle Libre.

We tested for Acromegaly because a CT scan that I asked for showed a mass in her pituitary gland. For more than a year Nell has been out-of-sorts, seeming to be in pain, sometimes very vague and depressed. We have done blood tests and ultra sounds and CT scans to try to get to the bottom of it. She has had elevated fPLI results on several occasions suggesting chronic pancreatitis, enlarged lymph nodes suggesting IBD, scans showing a touch of arthritis but no so sign of diabetes until March. She also seemed to possibly have dementia so this time I asked that they also scan her head (I did ask for this to be done just over a year ago but the tech forgot to include her head sadly) and sure enough there is a mass in her pituitary gland and also possibly in her gum. She is sixteen and seems to have a lot going on. I worry so much for this little girl.
 
Thanks again Bron for answering my questions.

I feed Nell a meal immediately before her shot to make sure she eats enough and then we try to distract her with a little more before, during and after the shot but she still struggles and growls with her mouth full...

I have tried to home test but she doesn’t want a bar of it and we both get very stressed - hence the push for a Freestyle Libre.

We tested for Acromegaly because a CT scan that I asked for showed a mass in her pituitary gland. For more than a year Nell has been out-of-sorts, seeming to be in pain, sometimes very vague and depressed. We have done blood tests and ultra sounds and CT scans to try to get to the bottom of it. She has had elevated fPLI results on several occasions suggesting chronic pancreatitis, enlarged lymph nodes suggesting IBD, scans showing a touch of arthritis but no so sign of diabetes until March. She also seemed to possibly have dementia so this time I asked that they also scan her head (I did ask for this to be done just over a year ago but the tech forgot to include her head sadly) and sure enough there is a mass in her pituitary gland and also possibly in her gum. She is sixteen and seems to have a lot going on. I worry so much for this little girl.
Oh yes I remember your original thread now you mention the mass on the pituitary gland.
Sheba had flares of pancreatitis for several of her later years. She even went into remission for 2 1/2 years with it in the background. That can usually be managed when the flare up occur with pain meds, antinausea meds, subQ fluids and occasionally antibiotics.

What do you feed Nell?
Does she have a good appetite? Diarrhoea? Vomiting?

I had Sheba on metacam for a couple of years for chronic pain from arthritis in the spine, then swapped to tramadol. Both helped her a lot and changed the quality of her life for the better.

We’re you able to fix the SS with Chris’s direction? If not send her a PM and she can fix it easily. She is a whizz with SS.

Edit... I see Marj also said she could help with the SS! She is also a whizz!
 
If you are following SLGS you hold the dose for 1 week.
If you want to try TR you can as you are testing enough with the meter you have.
You could the change the dose after 3 days.
The main differences between the two are:
SLGS. .. hold the dose for 7 days, do a curve then evaluate. Reduce if drops under 90, you don’t have to test as much as TR. Can be feeding dry (not recommended but some people do)

TR...... can increase after 3 days if needed, more testing needed, reduce if drops under 50, no dry food, only canned or raw

More details of both methods at the top of the Lantus page in the yellow stickies.

OK thanks Bron. She only eats wet low carb - mostly raw sometimes canned such as Feline Naturals and one or two of the Cats in the Kitchen (Weruva) varieties, and the occasional Tiki. I’ve got a day or two to make up my mind then. Maybe while I have the Libre the TR could be an option - don’t know if I’ve got the courage. Which option do most people choose and have success with?
 
I can see the BGs in your Ss from yesterday!

The TR is more successful because it gives you the opportunity to get the numbers down more quickly But both methods work.
You would not be able to do TR without home testing of some sort and even SLGS would be difficult because you need to test before every shot to see it is safe to give the dose and you need a curve each 7 days.
If I were you I would think again about home testing. I know it’s scary.....everyone is stressed and anxious in the beginning but it honestly gets much easier and we can help you....in the meantime you have the Libre. Is there any food she really loves that you could use to tempt her with as you test? I used to give Sheba a small saucer of chicken broth I used to make while I tested. She was food motivated which helped.
 
Ruth, it looks as if you have entered the BG data into the US SS instead of the World SS.
If you put the BGs into the World SS using mmol/L numbers it will automatically transfer it over to the US SS with the correct numbers.
At the moment you have both world and US numbers on the one sheet and the world numbers are showing up as light green because they are too low in US numbers.
 
Oh yes I remember your original thread now you mention the mass on the pituitary gland.
Sheba had flares of pancreatitis for several of her later years. She even went into remission for 2 1/2 years with it in the background. That can usually be managed when the flare up occur with pain meds, antinausea meds, subQ fluids and occasionally antibiotics.

What do you feed Nell?
Does she have a good appetite? Diarrhoea? Vomiting?

I had Sheba on metacam for a couple of years for chronic pain from arthritis in the spine, then swapped to tramadol. Both helped her a lot and changed the quality of her life for the better.

We’re you able to fix the SS with Chris’s direction? If not send her a PM and she can fix it easily. She is a whizz with SS.

Edit... I see Marj also said she could help with the SS! She is also a whizz!

She doesn’t vomit, no diarrhoea has a ferocious appetite! I have her on Gabapentin and started Metacam again yesterday - I just want her to be in pain.
 
I can see the BGs in your Ss from yesterday!

The TR is more successful because it gives you the opportunity to get the numbers down more quickly But both methods work.
You would not be able to do TR without home testing of some sort and even SLGS would be difficult because you need to test before every shot to see it is safe to give the dose and you need a curve each 7 days.
If I were you I would think again about home testing. I know it’s scary.....everyone is stressed and anxious in the beginning but it honestly gets much easier and we can help you....in the meantime you have the Libre. Is there any food she really loves that you could use to tempt her with as you test? I used to give Sheba a small saucer of chicken broth I used to make while I tested. She was food motivated which helped.

I got them to shave a bit around her ears when she had the Libre fitted- so I will definitely be having a go - hopefully I’ll be able to see what I’m doing - it always helps! Just to clarify, I’ve seen different methods, but should you prick between the edge of the ear and the vein or into the little vein?
 
Ruth, it looks as if you have entered the BG data into the US SS instead of the World SS.
If you put the BGs into the World SS using mmol/L numbers it will automatically transfer it over to the US SS with the correct numbers.
At the moment you have both world and US numbers on the one sheet and the world numbers are showing up as light green because they are too low in US numbers.

Yes -it’s a nightmare but I thought I’d have another go rather troubling anyone and for some reason it allowed me to populate the cells! I have deleted the cells I’d entered into the US version and re-entered the numbers into the World version. I hope I’ve done it right...
 
If you can send me a private message by clicking on “Marje and Gracie” to the left and then “start a conversation”, I can fix all your SS woes. :):):)

Thank you so much Marje. I thought I’d have another go just now (I hate giving up!) and amazingly it let me enter the information. Please can you let me know if I’ve done it correctly. If I have it will be a miracle, if I haven’t I will not be surprised!
 
She doesn’t vomit, no diarrhoea has a ferocious appetite! I have her on Gabapentin and started Metacam again yesterday - I just want her to be in pain.
Make sure when you give the metacam it is on a full tummy.....I used to feed Sheba 3/4 of her meal first and then mix the metacam in with the last 1/4 so I know she had eaten well. If she vomits at all, don’t give it that day. Metacam was a life saver for Sheba but it needs to be used with caution.

With the testing, did we give you this link below?
Shine a torch behind the ear so you can see where the vein is. Aim for between the vein and the edge of the ear.
Try warming the ear first with a sock with rice in the toe warmed in the microwave...test it’s not too hot first......then ‘milk’ the ear upwards to get blood up there. Then try pricking. Have the meter ready or someone else to hold it for you so you can get the blood that appears.
Trial to see how long the meter lasts before it times out. I used to have time to set the meter ready to go and do everything else before the meter timed out.
Give Nell a treat every time you try and don’t give up. I promise you you will get there!:bighug:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

Yes -it’s a nightmare but I thought I’d have another go rather troubling anyone and for some reason it allowed me to populate the cells! I have deleted the cells I’d entered into the US version and re-entered the numbers into the World version. I hope I’ve done it right...
Don’t worry about troubling someone...we are all happy to help you get set up.....we are all crazy cat people here and love everyone’s cats and want to see them sorted!:joyful: The SS is now empty!
You will need to send Marj a PM ...top right under inbox
 
Last edited:
Thank you so much Marje. I thought I’d have another go just now (I hate giving up!) and amazingly it let me enter the information. Please can you let me know if I’ve done it correctly. If I have it will be a miracle, if I haven’t I will not be surprised!
Sorry but somehow the US SS formatting got deleted so it’s not converting. I can reformat it for you but you have to PM me so I can get editing rights.
 
Make sure when you give the metacam it is on a full tummy.....I used to feed Sheba 3/4 of her meal first and then mix the metacam in with the last 1/4 so I know she had eaten well. If she vomits at all, don’t give it that day. Metacam was a life saver for Sheba but it needs to be used with caution.

With the testing, did we give you this link below?
Shine a torch behind the ear so you can see where the vein is. Aim for between the vein and the edge of the ear.
Try warming the ear first with a sock with rice in the toe warmed in the microwave...test it’s not too hot first......then ‘milk’ the ear upwards to get blood up there. Then try pricking. Have the meter ready or someone else to hold it for you so you can get the blood that appears.
Trial to see how long the meter lasts before it times out. I used to have time to set the meter ready to go and do everything else before the meter timed out.
Give Nell a treat every time you try and don’t give up. I promise you you will get there!:bighug:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/


Don’t worry about troubling someone...we are all happy to help you get set up.....we are all crazy cat people here and love everyone’s cats and want to see them sorted!:joyful: The SS is now empty!
You will need to send Marj a PM ...top right under inbox

I’ve always been concerned about using Metacam but I think it does make a difference and at her age I just want her to be comfortable. She always gets it with plenty of food! Food is never an issue with Nell thank goodness.

Do you think it’s easier with the lancet “firer” or just the lancet?
 
I’ve always been concerned about using Metacam but I think it does make a difference and at her age I just want her to be comfortable. She always gets it with plenty of food! Food is never an issue with Nell thank goodness.

Do you think it’s easier with the lancet “firer” or just the lancet?
I agree about the metacam.....it made a huge difference to Sheba

I always used the lancet device to prick the ear. Some people like it with out but not me.
What is the size of your lancets? 26 to 28 are the best sizes for new members.
You may also need to adjust the depth on the device.
Also put a cotton ball behind the ear as you test to brace it.
 
I agree about the metacam.....it made a huge difference to Sheba

I always used the lancet device to prick the ear. Some people like it with out but not me.
What is the size of your lancets? 26 to 28 are the best sizes for new members.
You may also need to adjust the depth on the device.
Also put a cotton ball behind the ear as you test to brace it.

I’ve got 28 gauge lancets - would you set it on the deepest setting?
 
Ruth

I sent the info below to you in a private message so check your inbox but just in case you come here first:

I’ve made a new SS for Nell but when I look at the existing one, it shows that you are the owner. If you are the owner, the current one should easily allow you to share it with me. So we have two options:

1. You can try again to follow the directions I gave you in the PM for allowing me to edit the SS. If that doesn’t work see below.
2. we can use the new SS I made which is up and ready to go but I need your gmail address so I can share it with you. Then I will also put it in the signature block.

I think you are in the UK so hope you are still up and we can do this today and get it set up so members can help.
 
You need to trail and see what works best.
Whatever setting you have it on now try the next number......you could try it on yourself.
What type of meter do you have ?
I have an Accu-Chek meter but I have an Abbot pricking device which at higher numbers hurts like hell and bruises but at lower numbers didn’t draw a drop on Nell when I tried to have a go at the beginning of all this. I’ll keep trying...
 
I was a freehand poker....I could see where I was poking better and control the lancet better.

Both way work fine....it's totally a matter of preference!...and trial and error ;)
Thanks Chris - how deep did you poke? Does it go right through to the other side?
 
how deep did you poke? Does it go right through to the other side?

In a perfect world, you don't want to go all the way through the ear....but when we first started, I pierced China's ears so many times I joked that I should buy her a pair of diamond stud earrings!

There's no pat answer for how deep you poke. It's something you just have to experiment with and see what works best for your cat.
 
In a perfect world, you don't want to go all the way through the ear....but when we first started, I pierced China's ears so many times I joked that I should buy her a pair of diamond stud earrings!

There's no pat answer for how deep you poke. It's something you just have to experiment with and see what works best for your cat.
Thanks Chris. She’s going to hate me!
 
Back
Top