Good plan to reduce the dose and see if she stabilizes over time when the bounce is over. We typically would start cats at 0.5 or 1.0 units of Vetsulin, depending if they are eating all wet food/raw or a dry food diet.Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
When you get a chance, please put that in the spreadsheet.a, did give 1u at usual 12h last night.
. Walgreens only gave me a single pen and it cost only $20 so the coupon didn't apply. Another FDMB member had a similar issue with their local Walgreens. Next time I'm going back to CVS because they'll sell me the whole box which is what the prescription specifies. If the coupon doesn't work, whatever. I just put the insulin cost on FSA.Checked again at 8+ is 525 heading right direction...she's been acting so so todayHi All, really hard to sit on my hands with a AMPS 600+ and the same 6 hours later...but I will for now, test again in a couple hours, maybe was stressed as I had to retrieve her from her hiding spot.
Anything I can do if it's still HI?
Yay! I'm so happy to hear Missy is doing well! Good luck with the vet visit todaygood data this week, no scares, hoping to find a feed/sleep balance, feel like she's coming along well so far...will see what doc thinks today
it's comforting with all y'all along, thank you
Hello! I have a kitty who also tried Vetsulin and was switched to Lantus. My kitty also had/has 400/500 BG for a long time, I know it's hard to see those high numbers but you really wanna focus on the low numbers instead! What gets me through is remembering that high numbers, even tho not wanted, aren't going to going to harm her today but too much insulin and low numbers can harm her. It takes alittle while for the insulin to start showing a effect so patience is key!Hi All, really hard to sit on my hands with a AMPS 600+ and the same 6 hours later...but I will for now, test again in a couple hours, maybe was stressed as I had to retrieve her from her hiding spot.
Anything I can do if it's still HI?
Missy is very lucky to have you! With enough time and data collected, hopefully we can both get a bit more uninterrupted sleep!Thanks for the input! Ya, we're relatively new and have had some hypo scares and hyper damage, and have moved to wet food only, so observing carefully while depot is established (I'm retired and able to nap)
Auto would be nice, I bet there is a way...
Missy is very lucky to have you! With enough time and data collected, hopefully we can both get a bit more uninterrupted sleep!
Thanks for your reply! Yes, my vast, unused stores are being tappedHello! I have a kitty who also tried Vetsulin and was switched to Lantus. My kitty also had/has 400/500 BG for a long time, I know it's hard to see those high numbers but you really wanna focus on the low numbers instead! What gets me through is remembering that high numbers, even tho not wanted, aren't going to going to harm her today but too much insulin and low numbers can harm her. It takes alittle while for the insulin to start showing a effect so patience is key!
I don't think I saw anyone mention it yet, are you testing for ketones? You can use urine strips to test or they also have blood ketone meters.