Help please. Missy& new forum reader

Missy&

Member Since 2026
Hi All, Tom with 15yo Missy, puzzled as heck.
Looking for stability, crashed twice after initial fair response with Vetsulin, 2 then 1u.
Stopped all, really high Relion tonight 400.
Vet tomorrow I pray, anything I can do in interim? Thanks Tom
 
after some agonizing, restarted vetsulin this a.m. 1u, vet relates right action, test 6hr after, another 1u in 12hr
continue .5 can FF at 5 hr intervals, see where we are Fri
 
Hello Tom and Missy. I suspect the high numbers you are seeing are the result of what we call a bounce and here is our definition:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Good plan to reduce the dose and see if she stabilizes over time when the bounce is over. We typically would start cats at 0.5 or 1.0 units of Vetsulin, depending if they are eating all wet food/raw or a dry food diet.

You might want to test 4 hours after the shot, as Vetsulin doesn't last long in the cat. You want to catch those lows which typically occur before the 6 hour mark. Some reading for you:

New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

INTRODUCTION TO CANNISULIN/VETSULIN & N/NPH

BEGINNER'S GUIDE TO CANINSULIN/VETSULIN
 
Thanks for your response! My eyes are bleeding but I'll keep reading ; ).
From what I've absorbed so far we should use another med soon, can ease frustration and hypo risk. Will discuss with doc
Best, Tom
 
Prozinc and Lantus are much gentler insulins for cats, and longer lasting. I too started out on Caninsulin (what Vetsulin is called in the rest of the world).
 
Hi All, really appreciate you and all your shared knowledge. Struggling here, vet tomorrow but worried today
Consistently scary morning numbers...is it OK to dose sooner than 12hr until we replace Vetsulin with another more effective med?
 
I wouldn't dose sooner. Did you give insulin last night? The units column is blank.

The higher numbers this morning could be that bounce reaction to some really nice (but unfamiliar) numbers yesterday. I know it's hard, but try to look at the lowest numbers to see how the dose is doing, not the high numbers.
 
Thanks for your reply. Ya, did give 1u at usual 12h last night. I was startled at 600+HI test but she had a normal night as I monitored her through night, but we didn't test until 9h later. (I thought so too, and only caved an hour early, with a nice reduction after 3hr., will check again later.) My internet is dodgy so sheet updates hopefully often enough.
 
a, did give 1u at usual 12h last night.
When you get a chance, please put that in the spreadsheet.

Any chance of getting a test at +5 today? That's a big drop to the +3. Not unreasonable for Vetsulin, but could also cause a bounce.
 
Ya, missed this earlier. Got a +7 that's nice tho, TY
She's been pretty content today
 
Hi All, what a week. Doc agrees time to try glargine (Lantus) and will prescribe...pet stores are too pricey though, is there a hoop to leap through to get 35$ pricing most pharmacies offer now? (cat identifies as human)
Getting busy reading, appreciate tips as we transition...
 
Pet stores don't sell insulin. You'll need to get Lantus from any Human pharmacy.

Whether the $35 coupon is applied depends on the pharmacy. I don't recommend Walgreens. I recently had a prescription for Lantus called into Walgreens because CVS wasn't able to get the coupon to work the previous time. Walgreens would not sell me the entire box of five pens, telling me they didn't have enough for other customers and the box would be well over a year's worth of insulin I did not need. Yes, the box is good for over a year for most cats but that's what I need and want :arghh:. Walgreens only gave me a single pen and it cost only $20 so the coupon didn't apply. Another FDMB member had a similar issue with their local Walgreens. Next time I'm going back to CVS because they'll sell me the whole box which is what the prescription specifies. If the coupon doesn't work, whatever. I just put the insulin cost on FSA.

Start Lantus at the same dose your cat is currently getting with Vetsulin, which from your SS is 1 unit twice a day. I suggest noting when you start Lantus on your SS, maybe putting it in bold two lines under the last Vetsulin dose.
 
Hi All, thank you for your prompt replies, really a calming effect for Missy& me and we SO appreciate the ready share of knowledge!
 
Another thing: Lantus is a U100 insulin and you need to use U100 insulin syringes. The U40 syringes you are most likely using with Vetsulin cannot be used at all. You'll under dose your cat. Discard the U40 syringes or offer them on the Supply Closet: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/supply-closet-for-sale-or-free.15/

The ideal U100 syringes are 3/10cc with half unit markings. Many people buy from Amazon without a prescription. There are other websites to buy insulin syringes from, such as diabetic supply sites (for people), but a prescription may be required depending on what your state law is. A pharmacy will have syringes and will ask for a prescription. Walmart's Relion syringes are popular. The box doesn't specify half unit markings but the syringes do have them.
 
Hi All, we're off on our Lantus journey...finally remembered a small pharmacy vet uses, has Solo pen (used as vial) for 32
got some u100 syringes, updated SS, and fingers crossed
Hope your day is filled with amazing results!
 
Best of luck. Don't forget to update the insulin type in your signature and top of the spreadsheet.
 
Thanks, all set.
What I'm seeing with Lantus is similar to Vetsulin...good initial response and good # for 8 or so hours, but then high AMPS and PMPS
This morning same, I think something happens after 8 hr (ckd at 9 hr), bounce maybe? We're small, wet only 'meals' over 24hr presently, maybe 3 FF total daily
Doc is scarce this week, I'll leave her a VM, however Lantus is new territory for us both...I'm unsure how to proceed.
 
Last edited:
Thank you SQ, ya, I know I read that there, appreciate the reminder, whew!
 
I had a beautiful black longhair tabby, Penelope. DIL named her first child that too!
 
As the depot builds, and you see her get down into lower numbers, you should see the whole range of numbers flatten down. Already I can see she's not dropping as fast in the first part of the cycle. Which should reduce the bouncing somewhat.
 
Hi All, really hard to sit on my hands with a AMPS 600+ and the same 6 hours later...but I will for now, test again in a couple hours, maybe was stressed as I had to retrieve her from her hiding spot.
Anything I can do if it's still HI?
 
Hi All, really hard to sit on my hands with a AMPS 600+ and the same 6 hours later...but I will for now, test again in a couple hours, maybe was stressed as I had to retrieve her from her hiding spot.
Anything I can do if it's still HI?
Checked again at 8+ is 525 heading right direction...she's been acting so so today
 
good data this week, no scares, hoping to find a feed/sleep balance 😣, feel like she's coming along well so far...will see what doc thinks today
it's comforting with all y'all along, thank you
 
good data this week, no scares, hoping to find a feed/sleep balance 😣, feel like she's coming along well so far...will see what doc thinks today
it's comforting with all y'all along, thank you
Yay! I'm so happy to hear Missy is doing well! Good luck with the vet visit today :)

On the feed / sleep balance, it's also something I'm really actively working on (and my partner would laugh at the hypocrisy of me offering advice on this front), but have you thought about testing her +2 in the evening to determine whether or not you can just go to sleep at that point? I've found that if Moonie is flat to rising at +2, it's just not an active cycle. I normally look to see if +2 is >20% down rom PMPS and then monitor from there. I only mention this because I noticed you had a lot of +5-8 on your spreadsheet and those are tough hours to be up! And I have her tiny snacks scheduled for +2, +4, +6 on auto-feeder as needed - I'm usually up for the +4 but it's helpful not to be up for the +6 if I can since my testing times are 6am/6pm!
 
Hi All, really hard to sit on my hands with a AMPS 600+ and the same 6 hours later...but I will for now, test again in a couple hours, maybe was stressed as I had to retrieve her from her hiding spot.
Anything I can do if it's still HI?
Hello! I have a kitty who also tried Vetsulin and was switched to Lantus. My kitty also had/has 400/500 BG for a long time, I know it's hard to see those high numbers but you really wanna focus on the low numbers instead! What gets me through is remembering that high numbers, even tho not wanted, aren't going to going to harm her today but too much insulin and low numbers can harm her. It takes alittle while for the insulin to start showing a effect so patience is key!
I don't think I saw anyone mention it yet, are you testing for ketones? You can use urine strips to test or they also have blood ketone meters.
 
Thanks for the input! Ya, we're relatively new and have had some hypo scares and hyper damage, and have moved to wet food only, so observing carefully while depot is established (I'm retired and able to nap)
;)Auto would be nice, I bet there is a way...
 
Thanks for the input! Ya, we're relatively new and have had some hypo scares and hyper damage, and have moved to wet food only, so observing carefully while depot is established (I'm retired and able to nap)
;)Auto would be nice, I bet there is a way...
Missy is very lucky to have you! With enough time and data collected, hopefully we can both get a bit more uninterrupted sleep!
 
Hello! I have a kitty who also tried Vetsulin and was switched to Lantus. My kitty also had/has 400/500 BG for a long time, I know it's hard to see those high numbers but you really wanna focus on the low numbers instead! What gets me through is remembering that high numbers, even tho not wanted, aren't going to going to harm her today but too much insulin and low numbers can harm her. It takes alittle while for the insulin to start showing a effect so patience is key!
I don't think I saw anyone mention it yet, are you testing for ketones? You can use urine strips to test or they also have blood ketone meters.
Thanks for your reply! Yes, my vast, unused stores are being tapped 🙂 Appreciate your suggestion. Not as, yet, will talk later with vet.
 
Back
Top