Pamela & Amethyst
Member Since 2016
I gave Amethyst .5 U of Lantus at 7AM ampreshot was 433 I just checked her + 3 she is way up to 476!!!
. Any chance she got into contraband? (like high carb foods) Have you tested her for ketones recently?

THank you for being here! I let my anxiety get the better of me!You have just switched from Prozinc to Lantus today if I am correct. Lantus takes a few days to build up the depot in the body, while Prozinc is more of an iin and out type insulin. Also when you take into account allowable meter variance of 20% the numbers are still very close together. When I was using Lantus, my own personal observation was that I did not get much movement until +4 hours after the shot. Don't panic though...it does take a few days for the body to get adjusted to a new insulin, especially a depot type.![]()
THank you Chris sent me one in an email I do not know how to get one up and running here? Your kindness and help is much appreciated!Do you think you could get a Spreadsheet going? It's a big part in being able to offer dosing advice to any member. If you're not highly tech savvy, I will gladly set one up for you
![]()
THank you I just let my anxiety get the better of me She has been high for 7 months on Prozinc I want her to get betterIt's not that much difference. Lantus had a slower onset and takes time to build up. Being high for a period of time isn't dangerous. I know we want our cats better quickly though.![]()
I hear ya. Set up a spreadsheet so we can help with dosing. If you have trouble I can tag someone to help you with that.THank you I just let my anxiety get the better of me She has been high for 7 months on Prozinc I want her to get better

HI THank you everyone I have bad Anxiety and worry about her all the time No No chance of her getting into high carb foods I have to buy strips to test for ketones and yes I am disabled and can test her all day She is on the Flovent inhaler 2 x a day I read that this inhaler should not affect her numbers. I will test her again at +6 Is that right? Should i increase her dose tonight to 1U?
OKay sorry my anxiety got the better of me. Today at 7AM was Amethyst first dose of .5U lantus Her AMPRE was 433 I tested her at 10:30AM and it was 476!!. She had been on 2.5U of Prozinc 2x aday with little change. the lowest she ever got was 302. SHould I increase her dosage starting tonight to 1U 2x aday?Testing her at +6 will be good. Before anyone can give you any dosing advice they'll need more information, when did you started shooting lantus was this her first shoot? What was her Prozinc dose?
Having the spreasheet they mentioned before will help people here so that they can give you better dosing advice
Also it may be good if you changed the title of the tread (combo) and leave it without the 911 since that is used usually for kitties in a really dangerous situation like hypo or something like that, we will still be around trying to figure out how best help Amethyst
Thank you I am going to PM Pretest and probably increase her to 1U??What dose of Prozinc did she get up to? We take that into consideration when starting on Lantus. You may have started at too low a dose of Lantus. The spreadsheet will help us help you.![]()
I suggest you test about half an hour before her actual shooting time and post your result asking for adviceThank you I am going to PM Pretest and probably increase her to 1U??
THanks I will test her now and post I usually test 5:50AM and 5:30PMI suggest you test about half an hour before her actual shooting time and post your result asking for advice
Don't feed her 2 hours previous so that the result is not food influenced
Also you must take into consideration that with Lantus we do not change dose based on just the previous test more like in the history data
Yes, she has dropped a little. You're giving 0.5 u both AM and PM, correct? You need to continue this dose for several days to accumulate enough data to be able to evaluate the dose. Chances are, it's a bit low but we need to see numbers to be able to judge. That's why I mentioned the spreadsheet. Also, reading about the TR and SLGS guidelines will give you some understanding of how we recommend you increase or decrease doses.Amethyst numbers so far to day First day on Lantus AmPreshot was 433 +3 was 476,just now PmPreshot is 399 So she did drop Asking for advice please Thank you
1 unit is the typical starting dose. Your cat has high levels, 1 unit should be safe.Hi Chris I do not want her to have glucose toxicity set in. So some are saying to wait a few cycles and you are saying to increase starting tomorrow morning?
you are saying to increase starting tomorrow morning?
Sorry for not saying anything. I'm working with Pam and getting her SS up and running![]()
Thank you!!I've already got it done![]()