help please is this rebound ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

calliecat an marty

Member Since 2011
hello my callie started Insulin today 0.50 units 2x day ( prozinc ) amps 253 +6 176 , pmps 303 , last night her bg was 191 @5:45 pm with no insulin and tonight pmps 303 is this rebound ?? nailbite_smile
 
Hi & welcome!!!

I got a little confused - you got a reading a couple nights ago of 191, and that was before she started on insulin? So then the numbers you have on insulin are these:

AMPS 253 0.5u
+6 176
PMPS 303

Did I get that right? So you are worried because it seems like her numbers are higher now with the insulin than they were before the insulin? I don't think it's rebound though, you get rebound with either a low number (under about 50) or a steep drop, and I don't see either of those. My guess would just be that you are seeing some natural variation in the numbers, or it's a little reaction to the extra insulin she isn't used to, but not real rebound. She had some tests in the upper 200s earlier, so with meter variation the 303 isn't that high - she may be seeing numbers like that at other times, just not when you tested.

I would stick with this dose for a few days (lowering immediately if you get any readings under 50, and keep a 200 no-shoot level) and keep gathering data like you are.
 
Hi and Welcome!!! Glad you came over here.

Yes, whatever mid cycle tests you can get would be great to see how the dose of insulin is working.

I don't think that you can rebound after only 1 day, but maybe. Their bg's fluctuate during the days and nights on a regular basis anyway.
 
yeah, most things are double! are you double clicking on Submit maybe? I think you only need to click once. If that's not it, I have no idea!
 
Even your thread posted twice. Note just your postings.
:lol:
Wonky!!
Seems to be a recurring thing around here lately.
 
It can sometimes be a normal occurrence for the first few days (especially) of numbers on insulin to be a little higher at preshot times than kitty was before insulin was started. Eventually this will even out!
 
I just noticed that a couple of you have 2 kitties on insulin. More power to you. I don't know if I could handle that. ohmygod_smile
 
Hi!

I just wanted to welcome you to our little group!

It looks like you are doing great so far!

Kim
 
thank you all for your feed back all I have to say is I hope its not near a stressful to callies as it is to me ( whewwww) I'm going to do her +4 in just a minute so I will post what it is .
 
hello, callies +4 240 she seems to be doing just fine I gave her 1/2 can of ff for a snack , I would like to do a curve on her on Saturday to get some more data ! let me know what ya think??
 
I was getting Callie Mae and Callie confused! confused_cat Sorry about that.
I just took a look at your speadsheet and particularly your remarks. You're becoming a lot smarter a lot quicker than I did.

I'll leave more technical advice to other more experienced folks, but you're doing great!
 
Hi Ginny ! I don't know about the smart thing but it sure is nerve racking lol ! THANK GOD FOR FDMB :-D ! when I tell my husband he has to learn to do all this he says I CAN'T DO THIS well if he's not willing to learn maybe I CAN'T MAKE HIS SUPPER either lol , thanks for the pat on the back :YMHUG:
 
We have a few Callie's around here...seems a pretty popular name. I have a civvie named Callie. Looks like you're doing good. I stay confused :roll: so I can't give you any dosing advice, just wanted to say hello!
 
Yah I think we need a Callie 1 and Callie 2!!! I'll have to remember to use Callie Mae's full name from now on. I confuse easy, lol. ohmygod_smile
 
good evening , well callies pmps 299 gave her 0.05 units I gave her 1/2 can of ff before shot , her civie sister tesse gets the same as her tesse gobbled hers up then puked and went for callie's so I gave callie a little more and watched ! could ya take a look at callies ss and let me no what ya think ?? I'm going to try to do a curve on saturday thanks so much :YMHUG:
 
Sorry no ones answered your question. It kinda looks like everyone's off for now. I guess everyone's tired from last night's excitement with Kim & Kitty! One suggestion would be to start a new thread so it might catch more attention. If you have a question you need answered tonight you can go back over to health or just post a new thread here...some of the west coast people will probably pop back in...unless it's urgent, then go to health. I usually start a new thread everyday with the date on it so everyone will know it's current. :smile:
 
The curve is a good idea, and it will be a few days into your dose, so maybe it will give us more info.

I would stick with .5 for at least another cycle. Sometimes it takes a few days for the kitty to settle into the insulin.
 
Just wanted to say hello and welcome. You're probably already figuring out that you've got to the best place for help with your diabetic cat. I knew next to nothing at first and was overwhelmed and stressed. This forum and following the great advice/protocol really helped me turn my cat Max's health around. You're doin' good and a curve on Saturday will help you see how the dose is working. I think newly diagnosed kitties can take a little time to settle into the insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top