HELP please, 8/7 Junior AMPS 82, 45min til 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

kay&junior

Member Since 2011
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=76161

Hi Numbers went crazy low, for me and him over the weekend, we had lots of heat and humidity, and company...

Please someone read, TODAY was 82 at 6am, normal time, waited 15 minutes, couldn't find himk, anywhere, took muy shower, looked some more, still no Junior...finally at 6.45am he came to me, I checked him and got 115, gave 1 unit with some finger feeding, DH promised he would check in on him...

what is going on with my little guy????
 
Re: HELP please, Junior AMPS 82, 45min til 115

I don't think there's anything to worry about. These are very good numbers.

You've been at this dose since 5/8. That's WAY too long no matter if you're using TR or SLGS. I think Junior is trying to tell you something -- like increase the dose and get him into the blues and greens.

Just a note regarding your SS. If you shot at +12.75, the 115 was Junior's AMPS. Your PM shot time would be 12 hours from that time, although you can move Junior's shot time 15 min. early the next 3 shot times to get him back on schedule.

(I don't think this is a 911.)
 
Thank you so much Sienne, I wasn't sure about going up because his numbers are going down, and no one would be around today, I did onl\y give him 1 unit this am, totally screwed that up, huh, will adjust times tonight, to get him back on \every 12 hours..

how do I take off the 911???
 
thank you Liz,

and Sienne, thanks for a quick answer, being at work, and not with him, drives me crazy...

thanks to all again, and purrs from Junior.
 
I can completely relate!! There are days when there's a big question mark over my head when I walk out the door. Remember, you can leave food out. I have a timed feeder I set up. I suspect that it's Gizmo that gets the food but if Gabby's really hungry, I let myself believe she'll find the food.
 
Yup, I had my Manual out again this morning, maybe that's why he runs and hides, he thinks Momma doesn't know what to do, and sometimes he is right!

I do have an auto feeder, and it works wonders, except sometimes I wish there was a way to close it 2 hours before test time, he is a saver of food.

DH called, he is ill and staying home, he promised a test at noon, and maybe another one or two depending on how he feels...
 
Nice numbers for Junior this morning! One good thing of DH being sick huh? At least Junior will have company. Hope DH gets to feeling better and you have a great day!
 
Very nice numbers, and great shooting! I hope DH is feeling better - it's unfortunate that he's ill, but at least he and Junior can keep eachother company!
 
Hi guys .. that 82 is a beautiful number! But I can understand the worry about leaving him .. at least DH is home with him today, hopefully he is feeling well, and well enough to get a few spot checks in .. have a great day!
 
Thanks everyone,

Great shooting, I like that, BUT, I am scared to increase to 2.25 BID.
Next long weekend is Labor Day, could try increase then, chickened out this weekend, the low numbers and company threw it all off.

No one is home during the day, and with his low numbers, ( which I think are great ) I am not sure I feel safe doing that to him.
I would love to see him go into remission, maybe I should find a night job, (:, but then who checks him during the day, what a dilemma, and DH thinks he is doing fine on 2 units.

and, I need a computer, tablet, something for at home, I need you guys when this happens, my books don't have common sense!
 
Hi Kay,
I can certainly empathize with your situation.

I'd be nervous too. You need more holidays or sick days , huh?
There are many here in the same situation, maybe they have ideas on dose increases when you can't be there
and your numbers are getting lower.

I'd help if I wasn't on the other side of the country...
 
And I would gladly accept your help, I am not a newbie, after 1 year plus, but sometimes I feel like it, and then I get nervous, take out my manuals with all my stickies and get myself more confused, someone to write to or talk to, I would feel so much better, and I also have a vet who is barely reachable, and doesn't agree with the 2 units, never mind an increase to 2.25....she says his numbers are fine, and that was about 2 weeks ago...

shopping the web for a tablet or something...I can't take the stress of not knowing what to do all by myself, I am needy, and so is Junior!!!!
 
I think you could do this for a long time and still feel the same way.
There are just so many variables.
This is so much like a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle, and just as you get a corner done and think you're making
progress, something changes.
I prefer smaller puzzles , myself.
Easier to see the big picture..... :lol:

Not having a supportive vet has to be very difficult.
I have one, sorta, she gave me lantus and told me to home test ( wasn't sure about the human meter)
and she has my spreadsheet link so she watches but we've only chatted once since dx.
Guess she feels I'm not needing her input and fortunately, I don't.
She didn't know about the TR protocol.

Your vet probably doesn't either. And I have learned that many vets are happy just to get them regulated and out
of the high numbers.
They prefer that larger buffer in your numbers to keep patients out of the possible hypo zone.
Diabetes is a daily management , not every few weeks.
That's what so great about the FDMB, there is always someone around and we all have relative experiences
to share and lean on each other.
You can lean on me. :-D
 
I think that is also a song, Lean on Me!

So appreciated, even though you are on one side of the country, and I am high up in the mountains of New Hampshire!

My Vet also started Junior on Lantus, and wanted to keep him on one unit, no home testing, and then I found this board last summer, it has been a wonderful. most of the time.
I had a short spell last fall where I Stopped posting, then found Relaxed Lantus, and now am back on Tight Reg Lantus.

Junior was diagnosed on my mom's birthday last year, that was a tough time, and therefore when you see his SS a lot of it is blank in the beginning, just feed and shoot said the vet, so I did.

thanks for listening, everyone!

hugs and purrs to all.
 
hmm. didn't think of the song 'til you said it.

That will be stuck in my head for the rest of the day now. :roll:

I'm high in N.M. mountains.

You have a great day too.
 
Kay, it is helpful if you just open one condo (or post) per day for Junior. That keeps the board a little easier to read and all the info for each kitty in one place. So could you move your other post to this one and delete the other one? Also, use the ? icon so people will know you have a question. Junior is looking good!
Liz
 
Hi Anne, couldn't figure out how to move it, but deleted the opther and added here.

Thanks for the advice, much less confusing...

DH called and Juniors 6+ was 187, and he is eating slow...

I only gave him 1 unit this AM , scared myself, now he is up again, so 2 units tonight, right? and testing at 2+ and 4+??
and adjust by 15 minutes due to the 45 minute lapse in shooting this AM, correct? that was Sienne telling me!!!!

I made a mess this morning, now I get to fix it, with Juniors Help!
 
Nice blues and greens, Junior! I think you guys are doing great. Looks like since your journey started, you are also making progress and testing more, learning, etc.

We're on that same journey ourselves so can feel your pain.

Agree with you about the notebook and trying to refer to your notes, but many times RIGHT when you need the information, you can't find it and need it quick to solve a problem that is time sensitive. The board has been absolutely stellar in that regard for us. We're thankful that so many people have offered advice, comments, enthusiasm, or just empathy at having had similar struggles and challenges.

Riannon, your analogy is an excellent one:

"This is so much like a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle, and just as you get a corner done and think you're making progress, something changes.
I prefer smaller puzzles , myself. Easier to see the big picture...."

One step forward, two steps back ... but one of these days we'll find the great leap forward. I for one, am still hopeful and optimistic.

You guys keep up the great work with little junior. Charlie and I like his name. :-D
 
Thanks Charliesmom,

Junior was the runt of the litter, him & his brother Sparky were the last 2 left in a cage at a shelter in the dark, we couldn't leave one without the other!

Sparky is huge at 19 lbs, all muscle, BG # is 49. go figure, and little Junior, a petite 11 lbs has diabetes. He was down to 8 lbs and has slowly regained his weight!
I am optimistic about remission, I was told that there was cat here who was on insulin over 2 years, and went into remission. Junior was sick for awhile before we caught it, family
health issues on both sides, DH and mine...and the vet, well, that is another story.

nice chatting with you, have a wonderful day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top