HELP PLEASE! 13Jan Pedro AMPS 128. Inject or not, 1 unit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KleineMue

Member Since 2014
advice please, do I inject? He is coming back down after bouncing high numbers following a dangerously low Saturday day curve,

Wibke x
 
Can you wait 20 minutes or so without feeding, to see if he's coming up? On this forum, we suggest not shooting below 11.3 or so on the AlphaTrak, without someone to help you the first time. I'm about to head to bed so can't stay with you. Not sure if some of our southern hemisphere people are on. People here will shoot lower numbers, but only when they've got the data and experience to do so. You did shoot a lower number on the 10th. When they are coming down from a bounce, it could be a cycle you'll have to intervene with food.

If you are able to be around to monitor him, I think your options are to (1) skip (2) shoot a reduced dose, either .5U or .75U. If you can't be around, they I'd lean to a skip and resume dosing tonight. I'd also hesitate to give insulin if he's still coming down in 20 minutes.
 
Poop, too late for that, already fed him. :(
Taking daughter to nursery and retest then to see where he is at. Leaning to skip as I am away all day, no one to keep an eye on him.

Thank you!! x
 
Skip is your best option then if you can't be around. Next time (and everyone feeds the first time :oops:), wait without feeding to see if he's coming up. It's safer the first while to shoot low if you know he's coming up without influence of food.
 
I just wanted to pass along the link to Becoming Data Ready to Shoot Low. It looks like Pedro the Spaniard (*smile* love his name!) is doing really well and if you've been faced with a low preshot today, you'll likely be faced with one again. In the meantime, take a look at that sticky and plan ahead to think what you'll do the next time - what number will you feel comfortable shooting? You gradually want to lower your preshot number that you're comfortable shooting until you're shooting most everything over 68 on the AT. What you'll notice is that shooting lower will often flatten out the cycle and you might end up with a line instead of a curve. That is also the path to regulation and going off of insulin, if it's possible for a cat to do.

You can see from today that skipping a shot ends up in a high number later in the cycle. It was a good choice to skip the first time you're faced with a low preshot and you can't monitor.

But the next time it happens, you might want to take advantage of the opportunity it gives you. Here are a couple of other posts that you can read about what happens when you shoot low, ie, the full dose into normal numbers, or when you shoot a dropping number.

I also wanted to say welcome to LL! Glad to have you here! If you have information about the RVC Remission trial I'd love to have you share! We do have several members from UK and one from France that isn't getting any quality veterinary help and maybe something you're learning would help them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top