Help! Not sure how much insulin I gave !

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't know much about Prozinc, but IIRC it is possible to get significant carryover from one dose to the next with this insulin so this morning's dose may be influencing numbers in this PM cycle.

(Prozinc mavens, please can you correct the above if it's not accurate!) Mogs .

Some cats do get a longer duration from Prozinc, up to 14 hours. It might not be on every cycle, that the insulin lasts that long. But it's something to take into consideration.

Average duration in cats when using Prozinc is in the range of 10-12 hours, but up to 14 hours is possible.

Some cats also get a "double dip" effect, dropping back down a second time near the end of the cycle, say around +10 give or take an hour or so.
Some cats go from great looking BG levels at +10, +11, and then shoot back up high at +11.5 or +12 (aka pre-shot).

The only way to know how YOUR cat is reacting, is to test at different times, to fill in the pieces of the puzzle.

p.s. Great job today on managing the lower numbers with food.:bighug: Great to see Herc in the greens, even if it was a bit nerve wracking for you. :nailbiting:
 
The bounce did eventually come! 33.3 this morning.
I will hold the dose steady until things calm down again.
He doesn't do well in the greens (as rebound strongly), but I fell likr he is managing the blues better.
Perhaps is all down to me, that also freaks out when greens come early in the cycle and give him HC....
 
Hmm...He is getting too much of a taste for these dives....It look like a pj party tonight :(

This evening I am quite sure I gave him the right dose, and he went from 18 to 8 in 2 hours!

See, @SashaV , Hercules has not yet learned that he is supposed to go gently down after the insulin, and gently up after the nadir. Maybe we can get him and Mauer (and @KyraCat) in sugarcat night school....:p

What a 24 hours you had!! I was keeping an eye out yesterday afternoon but didn't comment as I could see you just needed some sound advice at the time. Well done to you, Hercs and the Super Support Team!!

Yes Kyra is still a sky diver!! We are getting some great numbers in between reds and blacks, but when do they ever get used to nice numbers?!?! haha
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top