Help needed on dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gozde Yildirim

Member Since 2011
Hi,
I couldn2t receive any reply from relaxed froum since 6 hours, so I write to tight regulation forum, I would appreciate any help.
I can not test BG frequently because my cat is staying with my parents.
We started with 0.5, then I was at business trip for 2 weeks. When I came back, I increased the dosage to 1.0. Last Saturday, I planed to do 12 hours test cycle. In the morning, I tested her BG just after my dad gave the insulin, it was around 150. Then it decreased to 50, then 40, so I gave her honey with water and some dry food (she only eats Fancy Feast and liver). Then BG increased to 250 just before we gave her the dosage at night. We decreased the dosage to 0.75 in the morning. Then I started the 12 hours test cycle, at the end of the day, we decreased to 0.5 when BG was 207 just before Insulin time.
I think I shouldn't decrease it so qucikly, however my parents can not make BG tests alone and I am not living with them. Therefore we are afraid of finding our cat in very Low BGs.

I would like to take your recommendations on arranging the dosage according to last test results on Sundat.(you can find my cats BG results in my signature).
Many thanks, Gözde.
 
Your situation is a bit difficult for me to comment (using tight regulation I would not have given the second dose reduction to 0.5 but your situation is different). Someone with more experience should be along shortly to help and it will help them to know how you feed your cat - what and when and if it is possible to leave food out for your cat all the time and/or to use a timed feeder.

For next time your cat goes very low the honey is good to use but instead of the dry food it is better to use high carb wet food to help bring the numbers back up. The dry food will keep the numbers up for longer than you wish.
 
Thanks for your suggestion.
She eats mostly two time in a day. First meal between 06:00- 10:00 with one can Fancy Feast tender beef and chicken(wet) and 7-8 small cut livers. At night around 07:00- 09:00 she eats half to 1 can Fancy Feast and again 7-8 small cut livers.
I think she is very affected from dry food, I will not give her again.
Do you think 0.5 is very low for her according to her last test results?
Many thanks, Gözde.
 
If you are not planning on following Tight Regulation, you should look at the Start Low Go Slow protocol. I think you are changing your cat's dose too frequently and the dose doesn't have time to settle. If you look at this protocol, you hold each dose for 1 - 2 weeks. Given the low number, you would reduce your cat's dose to 0.5u.

I would also strongly recommend that you get at least one test during the evening cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. Without any evening tests, you are losing half of your data.
 
Is there any reason you can't leave food down for your cat all the time? The cat will get hungry if the numbers get too low and eat.
 
Hi,
Yes I can leave food for all day. I again tested her BG for PMPS, it was 215. Do you mean I should also make a test cycle (every 2 hours) between 10 p.m to 10 a.m in the morning?
Thanks for your replies.
 
You don't need to do a curve a night - unless you happen to be up and at your parents house. Sienne meant you should try and get at least just one test during the night cycle. Best when you think it is your cats lowest time (nadir). This is going to be very difficult for you with those shot times when you don't live with your cat though. Maybe you can get to your parents by 5 or 6am for a test or maybe you can move your shots times a little to make it easier (you can only move either: both shots by 15 minutes or one shot by 30 mins per day, i.e. you cannot move the time by more than 30 mins per day).

Leaving food available for your cat all the time will help keep your cat safe, some people can't do that because the cat will eat everything straight away but if your cat doesn't and only eats when it is hungry I think this is a good idea for you. If your cats numbers get too low it should go and eat by itself. If your parents notice that you cat is suddenly unusually hungry to eat a lot it might be because the blood glucose is low. Is there no chance one of your parents will learn how to do the test?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top