help needed: cat threw up after shot, what should I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jenny you did awesome!!!! And he stayed above 100 so it’s all great news. Skipping the dose was the right move for you with the past 2 hypo scares you had.

a few things to mention because Minnie tends to do the same. It takes another cycle to get back to the usual numbers again when they go too low sometimes. The combo of not enough food and the insulin does that, but again he was safe through the night so :bighug::bighug::bighug:

how is his apetite this am? Is he back to eating normal? Any more vomiting? Remember what Elise and I suggested if his eating is not back to normal, call your vet explain what happened and get a prescription for an anti nausea med to have handy. Like Cerenia or ondansetron.
 
Jeanne, thanks for your encouragement. Many people to thank who helped me get get here, especially Ale. I am so grateful.

I finally felt like it was safe for me to try to sleep a little. Woke up at +10.5: 144. Just woke up again, time for the AMPS: 167.

I am absolutely bewildered by what happened last night and where we are now. He's never had this low a PS. The Lantus (1/4 unit) has never taken that long to reach a nadir, and then been so slow to come up again. I don't understand it at all. Was it just the vomiting that made everything go haywire? Is something wrong/different with the insulin (same bottle as early September; vet said it would be fine to use as it's been in the fridge since then)? Did I get the dose wrong?
167 is too low for me to shoot according to the vet. I am afraid it would hurt him if I tried to do less going by the SLGS method, which I would *NOT* do on my own due to the 167 -- I would wait for guidance, but I am kind of too petrified after last night to try.
Remember that you were feeding him every hour so you slowed down the drop and pushed the nadir. Makes sense?
 
He just had some more bites of the baby food.

Unfortunately I do not have plain tuna. I have a medium carb Wellness Signature select wet food that has tuna in it that he used to like in pre-diabetes days. But I shouldn't try that yet/now, right?
For future reference, try everything if they’re not eating. Even the medium cat. Stuff. On your next shopping trip, grab some tuna :cat:
 
Oh it's overwhelming! Hang in there! Keep asking questions and read stickies as you have the time :bighug:

And gotcha on your kitties & your studio - that's sweet they love each other! Mine are brothers but have always just tolerated one another...we have always said each would have been happier as a "single" cat lol.
Omg mine too! I guess they never quite bonded like others do...
 
Thank you, Mogs. Trying to feel reassured! I think previous scares make me see rapidly dropping (to me) numbers feel dangerous and when they don't seem like they're stopping... ugh. Especially at night.
It’s absolutely normal. Low numbers at night still scare the hell out of me and I haven’t had the scares you have in the past. You did awesome last night and so did he! He stayed above 100 even with very little food so that should actually tell you that his body can handle that dose he’s in now. Try to think of it this way :)
 
Jenny you did awesome!!!! And he stayed above 100 so it’s all great news. Skipping the dose was the right move for you with the past 2 hypo scares you had.

a few things to mention because Minnie tends to do the same. It takes another cycle to get back to the usual numbers again when they go too low sometimes. The combo of not enough food and the insulin does that, but again he was safe through the night so :bighug::bighug::bighug:

how is his apetite this am? Is he back to eating normal? Any more vomiting? Remember what Elise and I suggested if his eating is not back to normal, call your vet explain what happened and get a prescription for an anti nausea med to have handy. Like Cerenia or ondansetron.
Thanks to you. i did awesome because you were such a help. Thank you again!

His appetite has been pretty good -- he ate 1/3 of a small can as soon as I got it down for him. He had 2/3 of another can later and then some tuna when I got home with that.

I have updated his chart with some more numbers from today. As I thought he might, he bounced up. I am guessing he will still be up there when it's time to make a shot decision. I am not sure what to do. I sent an email to his vet this morning and followed up with a voicemail message, but haven't heard back yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top