HELP needed: 38 at +3 tonight after dosage reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
(NOTE: Today, we got a 35 at +6. See later in the thread re: dosage help. Thanks!)

We followed the protocol and reduced his dose by .25. (Exciting!) So, this morning, he received 1.75 U. Or as best as we could eyeball. It was as close to being in the middle of the 1.5 and 2 unit markings as we could get. Happy for a Yellow morning! His levels were pink at prior AMPSs when he didn't have the shot the night before.

DH is home with Johnny and will aim to get some spot checks today when possible. I'll keep the chart updated.

Have a nice day, everyone. :)
 
Re: 5/24 Johnny - AMPS ~ 284 (23 hours after last shot)

Oh boy, very exciting! It looks like Johnny is wanting to fast track outta Lantusland!
What nice numbers! Now let's see how he does once the shed has drained a bit and he is running on just the 1.75 dose. Who knows? Maybe the shed's drained already due to the missed shot last nite, and this nice yellow amps is from the reduced dose.

I know it's tough to eyeball between the lines, but you can always pick up a magnifier at a craft shop or even at Walmart or some such place. You will still have to eyeball it but the space between the 2 lines will be alot bigger.

Please tell Johnny that he's doing a fine job and we are happy for his progress.
 
Re: 5/24 Johnny - AMPS ~ 284 (23 hours after last shot)

Thanks, Gayle. I will pass the message along to Johnny. :-D We're feeling very encouraged by these numbers.

Great tip on the magnifying glass! We'll definitely use one tonight.
 
Re: 5/24 Johnny - AMPS ~ 284 (23 hours after last shot)

Now that is a nice number 23 hours with no insulin and I see a bootiful blue +3!!!!!!!!

Measuring between the lines takes a bit of practice. What I did was pull the syringe back to mabe 2 or 2.5 and slowly twist the syringe and release a few drops. You can practice to see how many drops there are between lets say from the 2 to 1.5. If there are 5 then you know you could release a few drops to get the 1.75. As long as you try and be conisistent you should be fine.

There is a picture which I can't seem to find right now. The link is not working so if anyone after me stops by here and knows the picture can you post it for Janice please.
 
Re: 5/24 Johnny - AMPS ~ 284 (23 hours after last shot)

Janice here's a link for the picture of measuring between the lines. Scroll down to the bottom of that page.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=157

Hope this helps.

Is this what you were looking for Randi. Its' all I could find.

jan and sara
 
Re: 5/24 Johnny - AMPS ~ 284 (23 hours after last shot)

Thanks Jan, that's the one with the pictures - they really help to get an idea of where they want to try to get the plunger.
 
Re: 5/24 Johnny - Update: +6 is 35...Nervous...?s inside

Thanks for the tag team help on the syringe pics...very helpful.

+6 update: Johnny just tested at 35. DH repeated the test and said it was accurate. He woke Johnny up to do the test. Could that have anything to do with it? He's eating some wet food now, but we have honey on standby. I know it says to use it for 40 or below, but I've also read on another thread here that numbers this low are okay as long as he is not showing symptoms. He's acting fine. Jumped up on the counter to eat (Yes, we are that house! lol) Not wobbly or anything. Tail straight up like normal.
 
Re: 5/24 Johnny - Update: +6 is 35...Nervous...?s inside

+7 was 51. I just got really worried, because I'd never seen a reading that low and thought he could be in hypo. He was fast asleep just before it, maybe that has something to do with it. Who knows. Just glad it's back up and fits nicely between yesterday's +6 an +8.
 
Re: 5/24 Johnny - Update: +6 is 35...Nervous...?s inside

Janice,

Now that he's eaten take another # in 15 mins. Than post the #. Just make sure he does'nt eat to much so if you have to have him eat more he will. Want to keep him a little hungry. I'm not sure about wheather it matters if their are symptoms or not. Somebody else will be along that can probley answer that.

If you ever feel the need for immediate help you can change your subject line in your first post. Like Johnny +6~35 HELP PLEASE! You can also use the 911 icon and than remove it after you've gotten the help.

What was your latest #?

jan and sara
 
Re: 5/24 Johnny - Update: +6 is 35...Nervous...?s inside

Thanks for the reply, Jan.

His +6 was 35 and +7 was 51. The chart is updated now. He ate after the +6 and then about 30 minutes later, DH took the +7. Good idea about wanting to keep him a little hungry.

I'm confused about that 35 though. Today is the first day of reducing to 1.75U. What if he'd had the 2U, would it have gone even lower?

I was hesitant to yell HELP, but that's how I was feeling. Next time, won't hesitate. ;-)
 
Re: 5/24 Johnny - Update: +6 is 35...Nervous...?s inside

Keep in mind that the rise may well be from the foods so test again in 15min and see how it measures. Also, when you have a low number and feeding to raise number, it may take a few feedings, so give only about 2tsp and that is it till you test again.
Here's what you are doing, basically:
Lather, rinse, repeat - feed, test, post (repeat as often as needed to bring up a low number).

So that feed part needs to be a small amount, then test in 15min to give the foods a chance to do something, then post your test result here on the board. I know the first reaction is to plunk down a whole bunch of food, but go with the spoonful first.

The 51 looks better but best to test again to be sure Johnny keeps rising.
 
Re: 5/24 Johnny - Update: +6 is 35...Nervous...?s inside

Janice,
You might want to change your first subject line to "Dosage help? please". There is a question mark on the top that you can use also. That way later some experiened people will take a look.
What do feed Johnny? Has he been changed from dry recently with the same dose of insulin? I'm glad your hometesting.
Good luck with Johnny.
jan and sara
 
Re: 5/24 Johnny - Update: +6 is 35...Nervous...?s inside

10 minutes prior to +8, his BG is 45. What does this number tell you?

Yesterday's +8 was 48, so very close. (Does this matter?) But, it didn't come after a low period like today.

Any thoughts as to what caused the 35 at +6 are welcome and appreciated. Could this be related to the step-down in dosage today (minus .25) or something else or just a fluke?

Johnny eats high protein, low carb wet food, mostly Fancy Feast at this time. Prior to dx on 5/8, he was a Cat Chow dry food eater with a few teaspoons of wet as a breakfast treat. He has access to hp/lc dry food, but is now eating 80-90% wet food. We have two other cats who have been switched to this new dry food and aren't as crazy about wet food as Johnny. Hoping to transition all in time.
 
Re: Dosage Help Needed! (read whole thread)

There are likely a couple of things going on.

Getting Johnny off of dry food can have a surprisingly huge effect on numbers. Even the dry stuff that's low carb drives numbers up in a way that canned food with the same carb content doesn't seem to do.

Even with having skipped a shot and reduced the dose, it's possible that Johnny's shed is overly full.

Finally, this note is from Libby on 5/21:
Libby & Lucy said:
My suggestion, to avoid having to skip so many shots, is to reduce his dose a little. By skipping shots, you kind of set him up on a trampoline - he goes low and you skip a shot, so the next preshot reading is high because it has been 24 hours since the last shot. If you reduce just a little, it should bring those lower numbers up enough that you'll feel comfortable shooting, and by getting insulin into Johnny every 12 hours it should bring those pink numbers down too. I suggest dropping the dose to 1.75 for a few days and seeing where that leaves him.

Given that Libby made this observation a few days ago, I think it would be wise if we found a dose that you can shoot comfortably every cycle. I'm thinking maybe 1.25u but I want to get some additional input from people.

What time is your PM shot (i.e., how many hours from now)?

Also, one housekeeping detail... Can you please cut and past the location (i.e., the http://) from your previous condo of the day to your first condo of the day. We link our condos so we can find information that may be important from days past.
Sunday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15304
 
Re: Dosage Help Needed! (read whole thread)

Well, I don't know much about much but it sounds like Johnny needs another decrease. Wait and see what the experienced folks say, but sounds like he's heading down the ladder (anti-jinx!)

This could be in part because you're feeding him more canned food. My Tugger took a fast trip down the ladder once I finally got him off the dry. I'd switched to grain free dry, but later learned more and was able to take advantage of a moment of weakness the whole crew had so I just yanked the dry all at once when I saw my chance. When I did, Tugger's numbers fell fast like that for a bit. The people here helped us through it, they'll help you too =)

Even the low carb dry food is too high for Johnny, so you'll want to try to keep him away from that if you can while you transition the others over to wet food. If you can keep them apart you can feed the civvies any kind of canned food, even high carb wet is better than dry. I feed high carb canned on the table in the kitchen (there purely to feed cats upon) for the three who refuse to eat low carb *anything* and feed low carb on the floor for Tugger and the blind baby. It works for me because my FD boy is too fat to jump on the table, but you could put them in different rooms to eat for a while and maybe you could slowly mix low carb in with the high carb (after they eat it regularly) until they are eating the low carb alone and no more divided eating. That's what I plan to try if Tugger ever gets slim enough to make the leap up anyway ;)
 
Re: Dosage Help Needed! (read whole thread)

A couple of suggestions with low numbers.

First, I don't wait an hour between tests. Given that Johnny is new at this, I would suggest that if you get a low number you test every 15 - 20 min. You want to feed and re-test and have enough time to see that the food is working. We refer to this as lather, rinse, repeat. You repeat testing until you have the numbers stable or rising for 2 consecutive tests. Then back the testing off to every 30 min. Once the numbers are stable, test in an hour. The reason for the frequent tests is that as Gayle suggested, the HC can wear off and the numbers may drop back down. It's not unusual for the numbers to bobble around a bit. This also gives you control over what is happening with Johnny's numbers.

Every cat responds differently to food. For some people, feeding LC even with numbers in the 30s will bring numbers up. For others, HC is needed. When in the cycle the drop occurs and how much momentum there is behind the drop may also influence the carb content of what you feed. If you look at Gabby's SS from last night, she dropped about 250 points from PMPS to +2 last night. That was a drop with a lot of momentum that happened early in the cycle. I tested every 15 min. to see that her numbers were up from the 30s after feeding HC.

Janice: I just heard back from Jill. She's a very experienced Lantus user. She is suggesting that you drop Johnny's dose to 1.0u. I think this is a good idea since you won't be home during the day most of the time. You can start that dose tonight.
 
Re: Dosage Help, Please? (read whole thread)

It would make sense that his shed might be overly full...

+8.5 = 52

Sienne, thanks for reposting Libby's suggestion. It makes a lot of sense. I'm interested in what others will have to say too. Our PM shot is at 8 pm (central), so approx. 3.5 hours from now. Thanks for the helpful housekeeping tip. Here's the condo (why is it called a condo?!) from yesterday. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15331 I'll try and remember to do this each day. Thanks! Your Gabby looks so sweet!

Marvie, thanks for what you wrote. We've talked about it and maybe it's time to just make the leap. He's so close already...will definitely discuss again with DH tonight. We need to figure out the logistics. I love your feeding ritual...LOL at Tugger being separated by only his own abilities. ;) He's a cutie. I love the white on his nose.
 
Re: Dosage Help, Please? (read whole thread)

hi janice. i've suggested starting over with 1u bid for a couple of reasons...
johnny is a newly diagnosed kitty who has recently undergone a diet change and has only been on insulin for only a couple of weeks. he's responding beautifully! so well that he's left you with numbers you haven't been comfortable shooting. as you already know, a switch to an all wet low carb diet can have a marked effect on a kitty's numbers. 2u is obviously too much. with the response you're seeing, starting over at 1u bid just seems to make sense. by starting over, you'll be able to go up the dosing scale gradually using the suggested guidelines in the tight regulation protocol. johnny is responding so well. we don't want to go over dose. if followed correctly, the guidelines prevent that from happening.

johnny's numbers will probably bounce from hitting lows today. this is to be expected, so don't freak out.
 
Re: Dosage Help, Please? (read whole thread)

Jill & Alex said:
hi janice. i've suggested starting over with 1u bid for a couple of reasons...
johnny is a newly diagnosed kitty who has recently undergone a diet change and has only been on insulin for only a couple of weeks. he's responding beautifully! so well that he's left you with numbers you haven't been comfortable shooting. as you already know, a switch to an all wet low carb diet can have a marked effect on a kitty's numbers. 2u is obviously too much. with the response you're seeing, starting over at 1u bid just seems to make sense. by starting over, you'll be able to go up the dosing scale gradually using the suggested guidelines in the tight regulation protocol. johnny is responding so well. we don't want to go over dose. if followed correctly, the guidelines prevent that from happening.

johnny's numbers will probably bounce from hitting lows today. this is to be expected, so don't freak out.

Sienne, thanks so much for reaching out to Jill and asking her opinion.

Jill, thanks for writing. Since joining here, many others have also said that 2u was a pretty high starting point. And now that we have the numbers to back it up, I think a dose reduction is absolutely necessary. Thanks for the heads up that his numbers will likely bounce after today's lowpoints. Is there any risk to switching him to 1u at this point and just cold turkey at our PM shot tonight? Anything special we should look for, or just the typical signs of hypo/hyper? We'll do lots of testing tonight. My poor little striped pincushion.

Thanks for the wisdom! It scares me to think that, if I hadn't thought to do my own research and found this group, we'd be blindly shooting him with 2u and not hometesting (never mentioned by the vet).
 
Re: Dosage Help, Please? (read whole thread)

There really isn't anything specific to look for. It's possible that Johnny may continue to surf until shot time. Rather than automatically skip, can you get a test at +11.5 and post if numbers are still in the greens?

It's also possible that there will be some left over shed action this evening. Even though you're reducing the dose, you saw that Johnny had a response to Lantus even after a skipped shot and a dose reduction this morning. I'd just test like you've been doing to make sure his numbers stay in a safe range.

And you're right... The Board and the community here is pretty incredible!
 
Re: Dosage Help, Please? (read whole thread)

Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
Jill, thanks for writing. Since joining here, many others have also said that 2u was a pretty high starting point. And now that we have the numbers to back it up, I think a dose reduction is absolutely necessary. Thanks for the heads up that his numbers will likely bounce after today's lowpoints. Is there any risk to switching him to 1u at this point and just cold turkey at our PM shot tonight? Anything special we should look for, or just the typical signs of hypo/hyper? We'll do lots of testing tonight. My poor little striped pincushion.

Thanks for the wisdom! It scares me to think that, if I hadn't thought to do my own research and found this group, we'd be blindly shooting him with 2u and not hometesting (never mentioned by the vet).

the only risk involved in dropping the dose is the risk of ketones. has johnny thrown ketones or been in DKA?

actually, if johnny bounces like i expect him to and you start over at 1u bid... i doubt you'll have to do lots of testing tonight. it can take up to 72 hours for the Counterregulatory Hormones (stress hormones released into the body causing opposing effects to the actions of insulin) to leave the body. a couple of early spot checks will give you an idea if further testing is necessary tonight.
 
Re: Dosage Help, Please? (read whole thread)

At +11.75, Johnny is 134 (blue).

Should we lower to 1 unit? Shot is due in 15 minutes.
 
Re: DOSAGE HELP NEEDED ASAP (BY 8 CT)

I think what the others were saying is yes, go with the 1u tonite because you want to start from scratch and follow the protocol so that you can find Johnny's perfect dose.

Sure, it could be a bit too low, but better to start properly and work your way up by the proper .25u and after the proper length of time in cycles.

I'd go with the 1unit and test as usual to record.

I should add that I did start over from scratch for Oliver and even though I did not like it or the high numbers that resulted, it was the only way to find his right dose.

As Jill said, you will not need to test alot tonite, as you will see higher numbers eventually, but be sure you are testing for ketones when you have high numbers. Actually, I test daily with Oliver for ketones, just to be sure.
 
Re: DOSAGE HELP NEEDED ASAP (BY 8 CT)

Gayle and Shadoe said:
I think what the others were saying is yes, go with the 1u tonite because you want to start from scratch and follow the protocol so that you can find Johnny's perfect dose.

Sure, it could be a bit too low, but better to start properly and work your way up by the proper .25u and after the proper length of time in cycles.

I'd go with the 1unit and test as usual to record.

Thanks, Gayle! 1 unit it is. We feel good about it. I'm just worred about him dipping too low overnight. But with 1u, that's less likely. We'll monitor him closely this evening.

I didn't see this before I changed to 911. I'll remove it in a few.
 
Re: Johnny Cat - Adventures in dosing 5/24

Thanks for all the expert advice today! MUCH appreciated. I'll keep his chart updated.
 
Re: Johnny Cat - Adventures in dosing 5/24

all is well here. :smile: I'm glad you reduced, I completely agree with 1 unit instead of 1.75, especially in light of today's numbers. That should get you and Johnny onto the right path.
 
Re: Johnny Cat - Adventures in dosing 5/24

Thanks for the vote of confidence, Libby. :) I appreciate it. It felt right, given all of the numbers, but was still a bit of a leap of faith for me. Experience is everything and there's no shortage of it here.
 
Re: Johnny Cat - Adventures in dosing 5/24

When you don't know what smaller dose is right, why go through the 'is this right? no? ok, is this right?' Best to start at the 1u and go up slowly.
Who knows - you may find that the perfect dose is something like 1.25u.
Good luck on the decrease, and I hope you find Johnny's perfect dose soon once any shed draining is done.
 
Help needed: 38 at +3; dosage change tonight

:-| Johnny just tested at 38 at +3. We just gave him a couple teaspoons of Fancy Feast. I'm not sure what to do and I'm kind of afraid of going to bed. This thread has a lot of info of today...his chart is updated. Basically, we went from giving 2u...and none after PMPS last night b/c he was at 63. This a.m., we gave 1.75u. He dropped to 35 at +6. Tonight, we reduced to 1u. And the chart tells the rest. He had wet food after the shot and has been grazing since. I'm wondering when we should pull out the honey and how long that could boost his numbers. He's acting fine, but I'm nervous about another low number so soon. It sounded like he was likely to "bounce" up...

I hope I'm not abusing the 911 tag. I'll remove it after we hear from some folks.

Sunday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15304
 
Take a deep breath - he will be fine. Did you bring out the HC - feed him the gravey only right now - don't want him to fill up to quickly if you have to do this for awhile. Need to test again 15-20 minutes. If you don't have HC - may need some karo over some food. You aren't alone - we are here
 
This low number could be from his shed which was still filled(from the 1.75 shot)--Thus sending his number low-- even thought you shot less.
What I do when Moonie is low is Lather, Rinse,Repeat---in other words, Test(check what his number is), Rinse (feed some LC food Or if needed MC or HC wet food), wait 15 minutes, And Repeat---This is how we measure how much he has come up since last low number & if number is going up.
You see, you have the tools, LC, MC, HC, food , karo & honey(only used when food fails) , test strips, patience & consistancy...The food will help control the numbers.
You received the best advice here by doing the 1.00U starting point! And from our best dosing helpers...
It is all looking very good & you are doing a fine job!!
 
Are the wisker lickins a dry treat? Usually dry treats take longer to kick in. Do you have HC food at home - like FF in gravey? You are still going to need to check again - probably not at his nadir yet and may still drop. Suggest checking again in 1/2 hour - and still would give some food that works quicker.

Let us know what you do have in the house for fuds.
 
Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
+4 was 40. We just gave him 6 Whisker Licken's treats (high carb).

please give the gravy of a HC (18% and over) wet food. Dry food, and dry treats, take longer to get into the bloodstream AND stick around for longer too.
 
The treats are dry. Brian (dh) is going to the big gas station across the street to get a can of higher carb wet food and regular gravy if they have it. We have FF, but I think it's the low carb variety. The "gravy" is more clear. He'll be back in a few minutes. Thank you so much for caring and making yourself available.
 
They only had a Whisker's wet pouch. We gave him just the gravy, which was kind of clear, but hopefully enough carbs. If necessary, we can go to the real store. + 4.5 he is 60. I'm glad it's higher, but not sure how long the food-boost will last. And still nervous about going to sleep.
 
Good - gravy will be good to have for nights like this. Some cats are very sensitive to the HC and rise quickly with it - others need a little more - or repeat dosing (the old lather, rinse, repeat cycle).

If you haven't seen it - under the stickies at top of page - the one that says new to the group - there is a link to the hypo toolbox kit. Kind of a list of items that are good to have on hand for the lower numbers. I have my hypo kit in a plastic bag that sits in a pot on the pot rack. It is packed with HC foods, honey packets (took them from KFC cuz they were individual packets :razz: ). I've a syringe full of karo and the instructions on what to do and the number to the ER vet. This packet goes with us whenever we travel with Tuscany (sometimes that is often). It even goes with me to the vets - just in case.

Often you don't need to go crazy with the hc. Like a tsp of the gravy alone - give it 15-20 minutes and test again. Some peeps drizzle it on the fuds. I just usually let Tuscany go crazy over the gravy on the spoon. It is like she is starving! Most often now - cause I've learned over the 15 months - I treat the 40's with an 8 % food. If it is earlier in the cycle I will still break out the HC (or if I really need to get to bed)

I am glad that you have decided to back down to the 1 unit. I know last week when you were starting you were hesitant to go against what the vet said - completely understandable. But going down to the 1 unit and coming up if needed will be so much easier than what you are doing now. Especially since you have changed the diet and having good result so far - hopefully your trip to LL will be short!
 
Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
They only had a Whisker's wet pouch. We gave him just the gravy, which was kind of clear, but hopefully enough carbs. If necessary, we can go to the real store. + 4.5 he is 60. I'm glad it's higher, but not sure how long the food-boost will last. And still nervous about going to sleep.

what is the flavor? we can look up the carb content.
 
Cyn and Cosmo said:
Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
They only had a Whisker's wet pouch. We gave him just the gravy, which was kind of clear, but hopefully enough carbs. If necessary, we can go to the real store. + 4.5 he is 60. I'm glad it's higher, but not sure how long the food-boost will last. And still nervous about going to sleep.

what is the flavor? we can look up the carb content.

It was chicken...
 
Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
Cyn and Cosmo said:
Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
They only had a Whisker's wet pouch. We gave him just the gravy, which was kind of clear, but hopefully enough carbs. If necessary, we can go to the real store. + 4.5 he is 60. I'm glad it's higher, but not sure how long the food-boost will last. And still nervous about going to sleep.

what is the flavor? we can look up the carb content.

It was chicken...

I think i need more info than that. Can you tell me what it says exactly on the pouch?
 
I see you did a curve yesterday. At least for that day it looked like his nadir was a little later than the 6 hours. Not sure if that will always be his pattern but if his nadir is later you could still have a few hours left before the insulin peaks tonight. You may need to lather rinse repeat a few more times to get thru this cycle. If you need to sleep you could feed the HC food - which would probably pop Johnny up for a good while - possibly thru his nadir. Other choice is to still monitor - feeding some LC - maybe a small amount of gravy on the LC. Many people set alarms and get up to test - I just kind of nap on the couch and set the timer when I need to stay up - I'm no good at going to bed and then getting back out.

Hopefully his next test will still be coming up and not dipping back down. Are you having fun yet? Did you remember to get the chocolate for yourself?? :-D
 
Cynthia, sorry..it was Whiskas Tender Bites Chicken Dinner in Juices... http://www.whiskas.com/meal_time/pouch_ ... icken.aspx

Joyce...lol about the chocolate! I'm not sure I'm having fun yet. ;)

If we give him some higher carbs (Brian will walk to the 24/7 grocery store...any well-known high-carb foods on the brain?), should his number be okay through the night (7 hours until AMPS)? I know you can't really know, but thought I'd ask.
 
Jill & Alex said:
hi janice. you're doing great!
please retest at +5, k?

are you working tomorrow? will johnny be home alone?

+ 5 is on its way in 5 mins. :) Thanks for checking back in!

I'm working (but likely heading in late), but luckily Brian will be here throughout the day. He's going back to school in the fall and still looking for something part-time. I'm grateful for this now though.
 
do you have any karo, syrup, or honey on hand?
if so, we can "make" some high carb food if more is needed.

as far as sleep goes, let's see what the +5 is first...
 
Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
Jill & Alex said:
hi janice. you're doing great!
please retest at +5, k?

are you working tomorrow? will johnny be home alone?

I'm working (but likely heading in late), but luckily Brian will be here throughout the day. He's going back to school in the fall and still looking for something part-time. I'm grateful for this now though.

does brian test? i'm thinking ahead about tomorrow's dose...
 
Janice & Johnny (starfishj) said:
Cynthia, sorry..it was Whiskas Tender Bites Chicken Dinner in Juices... http://www.whiskas.com/meal_time/pouch_ ... icken.aspx

Joyce...lol about the chocolate! I'm not sure I'm having fun yet. ;)

If we give him some higher carbs (Brian will walk to the 24/7 grocery store...any well-known high-carb foods on the brain?), should his number be okay through the night (7 hours until AMPS)? I know you can't really know, but thought I'd ask.

all I could find out about the Whiskas pouch foods is about 13 percent carbs for all of them. Not very good info.

Fancy Feast:
Sliced Beef Feast
Sliced Beef & Giblets Feast
Sliced Chicken Feast
Sliced Ocean Fish Feast
Sliced Salmon & Chicken Feast
Sliced Turkey & Giblets Feast
Sliced Turkey Feast

IIRC, these are the graviest kind. These are either 17 or 18% carbs.

9-lives

Sliced Chicken & Gravy
Tender Carvings w/ Real Beef in Gravy
Tender Carvings w/ Real Ocean Whitefish in Gravy
Tender Carvings w/ Real Salmon in Gravy
Tender Cuts w/ Real Chicken in Gravy
Tender Nibbles w/ Real Beef in Gravy
Tender Nibbles w/ Real Chicken in Gravy

these are 24-25% carbs.

ask your DH to get a few cans of whatever. You can have some on hand for other low number nights. Use a sharpie to mark the % of carbs and put them in your hypo kit (and not near your regular cat food stash).
 
Brian DOES test. He's a great kitty dad. He got all of these numbers today.

Thanks for the list of hc foods. We're going to test now. Depending on the #, Brian can head to the store now. + 5 number in a few...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top