Help! Need to buy new meter ASAP. Relion Micro or Confirm?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Martha and Lolly (GA)

Member Since 2015
Hi I've been using Alpha Track for last 3 weeks since Lolly was dx. I ran out of strips after a particularly long night, and can't get new ones till Friday. I need to have some tonight!. Walmart has Relion Micro and Confirm. Both have been recommended to me. Can anyone tell me differences, or which one they think is better?
 
One is smaller than the other but are otherwise the same. They both take the same strips. The choice is up to you.
 
If it is difficult to hold small things because your hands won't cooperate, get the Confirm.
If you hands work just fine, the Confirm Micro should be fine.
You could ask at the pharmacy to hold one to see how it does for you, too.
 
Thanks-- probably the confirm then, as DH does testing too. I hope I can get them in time for 7:30 shot. . If I cant, should I let her go till next shot? Or shoot-- I have 6 more strips, Walmart Rx open till 11. I just hate to do it without strips/monitor in hand. 2 day delivery ended up being 3 day. So glad to switch. Also have to learn relion numbers, etc asap.
 
Either is fine. (just don't get the PRIME)

I had a one touch mini and loved it. The Relion mini is i think the same size.
Actually 'learning' the numbers will be a piece of cake. It was trying to do conversion that made it all more confusing. Nearly everyone speaks in human meter by default...protocol ranges, we are all used to communicating those in human.

This is going to make it SO much easier.
AND if you get a relion, the maker of those strips sells them under a different name online even cheaper. So you will be able to get them in future even more cheaply. BUT you also will always have access at the store if you need them quickly.

You will be fine I would not skip another shot.
 
Last edited:
I have the Relion Prime.. Is there a reason no one uses that one?
(sorry for the hijack)
 
Lots of people use the Prime Mel!

It takes a little bit larger sample and sometimes we've heard where people are getting a lot of error messages, but for some people it works great.

It's always a good idea to have a back up meter no matter which meter you have though. The time to have your meter stop working isn't at 3am when your cat is testing in the 40's

The Confirm and Micro take the smallest sample size ...the same size as the AlphaTrak does, so especially for "new ears", that can make a difference
 
We got the Confirm, the strips, and the Relion syringes with .5 markings! I can always use the alpha trak for a back up (especially now that i'm going to have 100 strips coming fedex tomorrow :rolleyes:)

DH is having coniptions about loading the relions with .25u. Walmart where I live is not a pleasant experience, and he's in overload. He's getting a test right now, but I may not be able to shoot tonight. I'm at work another 2.5 hours, and I can't start a cycle at 9:30.
 
It is not about getting an EXACT .25 but figuring out what YOUR .25 is and trying be as consistent with that as possible on future shots.

see if this helps:

025unit-1.jpg



I am not fond of Walmart either and rarely go..but you will be SO glad to have your new meter and 1/2U marking strips. Just in time to barely need them for much longer it appears ;)
 
I don't like Walmart either, so I order my strips from ADW. They're much cheaper there too. I think they're Ackray Glucocard strips.
 
The Arkray Glucocard 01 meter is the same meter as the Relion Confirm (Walmart just puts its own brand name on it). You can buy it and the strips for it online at American Diabetes Wholesale. The strips are Arkray Glucocard 01 Sensor and ADW has a good deal: buy 4 boxes (of 50 strips) and get the 5th box free. 250 strips for $69.99.
http://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/arkray-glucocard-01-sensor-blood-glucose-test-strips_4050_54.htm

Good luck with your new meter. I know you will like it!

Ella & Rusty
 
  • Like
Reactions: BJM
Thanks everyone- I couldn't get my husband to shoot this evening, so I'm starting tomorrow. I didn't shoot this am nor this pm. :(

I'm happy to have a meter that I can use more easily on this board, and that is a lot cheaper! My Vet is convinced that the feline plasma/blood cell differences make the alphatrak more precise, and necessary. If 100's of folk use the human meters on this forum, and have been successfully practicing TR for years, I can't imagine my Vet is right. She's not going to be happy, but my salary won't allow it.

Thanks Marje for the graphic-- I had pretty much figured that out, and I understand that consistency is key. I'm going to try to work with him tomorrow, using your graphic. He says he has trouble focussing, I've told him to try closing one eye. I have a 1x standing mirror with a 3x spot.
 
Magnifiers are your friend. Pop over to Amazon and check out either visor type or clip on type if you already wear glasses. I get the Carson Clip and Flip, which clip onto my glasses and help with the near vision magnification. The visor type are a headband with lenses that lower in front as needed.
And of course, there are stand magnifiers, too.
 
So on HUMAN meters...your 'intervene' with food # is below 50.
'Normal' BG numbers are up to 120, but most hope for below 100 on their way down the ladder.
So we are going for 50-120 on your new Relion meter....

This will make things so much easier, I'll bet you will wish you had done it sooner.

Once you switch meters, you'll want to note that BOLDLY on your SS and in your signature.
 
Last edited:
Martha was that 139 tonight after skipping shots taken with the AT or the new relion??

Either way... Holy Smokes!!! Amazing, she doesn't even glitch!! This girl is not long for the juice!!! (anti-jinx)
 
139 PMPS on the Alphatrack!! I've been looking at other spreadsheets-- I'm beginning to realize how lucky I am, despite the sleepless nights. Only one I've seen like this was Hank's!

Do you think I need to take any further reading till AMPS?
 
What BJ said on the tests...none needed with no shot.
She may be high in the AM from skipping...but knowing her maybe not.
You can shoot whatever time you want in the AM.

Now we have to retrain your brain to human meters ranges. But the protocol should translate alot easier for you now.
Just remember, now your looking at below 50 to intervene with food. 5o is bottom of the normal range(some say 40) ..some might feed MC here or HC depending on your cat. I think Lolly often stays low but not necessarily in dangerous territory..it will be easier for you to discern now hopefully.

there are many other kitties around here who responded well to the juice and got off fast..you may not have run across there SS. And not everybody hangs around. In the long run there will be much more sleep in your future. It will all feel well worth it I promise!

:bighug::bighug:
 
She was 415 in the Vet's office just three weeks ago. (I know bg is usually inflated at the Vets, but still) - oh yeah, anti-jinx!
AMAZING!! Yes, you are a lucky Bean! And Lolly is a very good student!:woot::cat:

I say it again...you will be teaching your vet soon.
 
The strips also work for the Relion Micro. I have the micro and the arkray as my back up.
I'm using the Relion micro right now and was checking out that buy 4 get one free deal. Just to clarify before I order, you are able to use the arkray strips in the micro meter?
 
Yes, I use the Arkray strips in the Relion Micro. I actually buy both the relion and the arkray. I've done tests and they are the same.
 
Arkray USA makes the meters, sells them as the Glucocard 01 and Glucocard 01 Mini and brands them as the Confirm or Confirm Micro for WalMart.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top