HELP... need info...

Status
Not open for further replies.

BudLt

Member Since 2010
Ok - I have been in bed sick for a few days, so hubby has been giving Boo her insulin shots. I know her usual time for her shot was messed up, but normally we would adjust the following shots until we are at the correct time again. She usually gets her shot around 11 AM/PM and I know I should have looked at her chart, but assuming she needed her shot I gave it to her at ten thirty (1.5units). When I went to write it on her chart, I saw she already had her morning shot today at 6 AM.
Please help!
I tested her at 10:37 AM, and she tested fine with a BG at 139. I know to keep a close eye on her, but what else can I do? Should I give her anything now? Do I wait? How long do I wait? I feel so bad, and so nervous... nailbite_smile
I know I should never assume, (BAD BEAN!) However he has never given her a shot at 6 AM before (before he leaves for work).
 
1.5 units
(is that what you are asking? - my mind is BLANK right now, sorry...)
 
Ok, how about taking a very deep breath! Relax a little...now, do you have canned high carb foods on hand?
Do you have karo syrup or honey?
Do you have plenty of test strips?
 
let's get everything in one place.

PMPS last night was what time? And was it 1.5 units? Did you get a test then?
Then AMPS was at 6:00, 1.5 units, was there a test?
Then AMPS again at 10:30, 1.5 units, reading was 139?

Do you have karo syrup on hand? And how far away is the nearest vet, if needed?
 
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Ok, how about taking a very deep breath! Relax a little...now, do you have canned high carb foods on hand?
:cry:
(DEEP BREATH... ANOTHER DEEP BREATH... kinda lightheaded... ONE MORE...)
ok - no canned, but we have some purina kitten dry food (the kinda high carb one - we call that the "crap food")

Do you have karo syrup or honey?
I do have karo

Do you have plenty of test strips?
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
i have some test strips
 
Libby and Lucy said:
let's get everything in one place.

PMPS last night was what time? And was it 1.5 units? Did you get a test then?
Then AMPS was at 6:00, 1.5 units, was there a test?
Then AMPS again at 10:30, 1.5 units, reading was 139?

Do you have karo syrup on hand? And how far away is the nearest vet, if needed?

OK - SORRY!
She always gets 1.5 units...
no tests done yesterday - (hubby gives insulin, but STILL cant figure out the testing-just lets me do it)
yesterday was the day her shots (shot times) were messed up - she didnt get her morning shot at 11am, so he gave it to her at 6PM when he got home from work...
usually he just leaves it for me to fix but since I have been in bed, i guess he took it upon himself to give her a shot assuming I would still be in bed all day.
Vet is about 10 min away (if I had a car)
 
Stopping in to see what's going on. Seems like you have some good company. I am at work, but will check back when time allows.
 
You will need to be testing today,as you need to know where he is going--Can you get some HC gravy food like fancy feast grilled beef with gravy, or any food that has gravy in it??--Also could you pick up some strips?? That's what we aare asking--Be calm, all will be well, you just need some supplies..
 
Libby and Lucy said:
BudLt said:
i have some test strips

Sorry to ask so many questions, but how many is "some"?

Right now i have 6 test strips - i cant get to the store until about 6PM when he gets home (i have no car right now)
AND don't be sorry - there are NEVER to many questions! I'm answering as fast as I can - you guys are the BEST!
 
How far away is your vet? Can you call and let them know what happened? This can be very serious. Ok? Food is very important and testing is vital.

Yikes, no car. Is there someone who can pick up some strips or HC food for you?
 
CD and BigMac said:
How far away is your vet? Can you call and let them know what happened? This can be very serious. Ok? Food is very important and testing is vital.

Yikes, no car. Is there someone who can pick up some strips or HC food for you?

UNFORTUNATELY, I don't have anybody to pick anything up for me. The best I can do right now, is take a bus to Wal-Mart and back which would take about an hour to get back home.
Actually, there is a Rite -Aid down the road I could walk to - I can call to see if they have strips (sometimes they don't)
 
Ok, here is some good advice from Jill (who is at work), so trust me on this, OK?

With no car and very few strips.... double dose of insulin...

You need to get a cab and take your kitty to the vet. We cannot responsibly help manage this.

We care about you and your kitty and want only the best, please try to get to the vet by cab.
 
CD and BigMac said:
Ok, here is some good advice from Jill (who is at work), so trust me on this, OK?

With no car and very few strips.... double dose of insulin...

You need to get a cab and take your kitty to the vet. We cannot responsibly help manage this.

We care about you and your kitty and want only the best, please try to get to the vet by cab.

I can get more strips...
 
Can you test her now again and post the number?
I honestly think that it is best if you do not try to go it alone....please take her to the vet where they are able to monitor her today. The low BGs can keep getting lower and lower with the double dose of insulin....it will be best for you both if you go to the vet.
 
The thing is, her numbers can keep bobbling all day long and there is no telling how low she will go. the vet office is equipped to watch her closely. It would be much better for HER if she was there. Please take a taxi there and they will monitor her...okay?
 
I would call the vet. And the cab company. You might need to go to the vet soon.
Safety first, please! Things can go downhill very fast AND stay down for a long time. Your kitty might need special treatment that only a vet can provide.

We really care about you both. (((hugs)))
 
That may be great advice. Though she does have at least a few strips to last for the moment...and some Karo. Depending on how long it takes to walk to Rite-aid and back...she may be able to grab a test...get some food in her/w/karo if needed, and to the store for supplies and back. Not sure if you can get hi-carb cat food there, we don't have Rite-aid..but both CVS & Walgreens have Fancy Feast w/ Gravy around here. She may have enough time to get there, pick those couple things up and back before next test time?? It's possible even that Rite-aid would deliver? Just some alternate ideas.

See where her numbers are so you can make a game plan:

I can get more strips...
AND HI-CARB cat food. grilled Fancy Feast w/ Gravy is good...anything with Gravy. This will be much better than Karo if the numbers dive and will carry you further.



EDIT: Not trying to override...those posts crossed while I was writing. I just saw she was panicked...but had SOME provisions..and the ability to get to a nearby store to replenish. You have other more expert eyes on here. Do whatever you need that makes you comfortable to keep your baby safe.
 
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
The thing is, her numbers can keep bobbling all day long and there is no telling how low she will go. the vet office is equipped to watch her closely. It would be much better for HER if she was there. Please take a taxi there and they will monitor her...okay?

I TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU, BUT - the vet always asks for a credit card & i dont have one... my only choice is to do this at home...
 
bettyandhank said:
That may be great advice. Though she does have at least a few strips to last for the moment...and some Karo. Depending on how long it takes to walk to Rite-aid and back...she may be able to grab a test...get some food in her/w/karo if needed, and to the store for supplies and back. Not sure if you can get hi-carb cat food there, we don't have Rite-aid..but both CVS & Walgreens have Fancy Feast w/ Gravy around here. She may have enough time to get there, pick those couple things up and back before next test time?? It's possible even that Rite-aid would deliver? Just some alternate ideas.

See where her numbers are so you can make a game plan:

I can get more strips...
AND HI-CARB cat food. grilled Fancy Feast w/ Gravy is good...anything with Gravy. This will be much better than Karo if the numbers dive and will carry you further.

Rite-Aid is formally known as Brooks - same kinda store as Walgreens & CVS...
 
CD and BigMac said:
I would call the vet. And the cab company. You might need to go to the vet soon.
Safety first, please! Things can go downhill very fast AND stay down for a long time. Your kitty might need special treatment that only a vet can provide.

We really care about you both. (((hugs)))

We thank you for your help & concern!! :YMHUG:
 
I see....can you call the vet office and explain what happened? They might make an exception in this case.
With a double dose, the numbers can drop very quickly and we just cannot foresee what will happen. It's her safety that we are so concerned about. Maybe call them and let us know what they say, okay?:
 
Ok, BG is 248. You probably can get to the store and get strips. And check for the HC food as Betty/Hank suggested.

Sorry about the credit card thing. But maybe let the vet know about this anyway?
 
Please get a test and post the numbers ASAP. Your kitty may be way over the necessary dose. It will be next to impossible for us to help you manage this situation if you don't have the supplies you need. Getting to the vet is your best course of action. Get a test so everyone knows what the situation is.

If you vet knows you and this is an emergency, I suspect you can work out the financials.

I'm sorry Betty -- this kitty may be way close to nadir from the first shot and had a double dose of insulin. Boo needs to be at the vet where he can be monitored.
 
Please read my Edit above. You have folks with far more experience than me advising you. My post had crossed with theirs.

I'd keep ALL these things as options. Regardless of what you decide...even if it is to monitor on your own initially...I would have the phone number for the vet, emergency vet, and cab handy..as a safety net.

If you do in fact leave for supplies..try to make it back in 15-20 minutes tops. Better if you can have delivered...but SOON.


PS: CD WAS our best advisor...I would certainly take into consideration anything she offers.
And you've got Jill & Libby on the radar. You are in the best possible hands.
 
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I see....can you call the vet office and explain what happened? They might make an exception in this case.
With a double dose, the numbers can drop very quickly and we just cannot foresee what will happen. It's her safety that we are so concerned about. Maybe call them and let us know what they say, okay?:

I could call the vet for their advice - but if they say they have to see her, i cant get her there
 
Take another breath.

Can you call a cab? Is there a neighbor who is around who can help? Any family who could take a lunch hour and drop you at the vet's office?
 
Go to Rite-Aid for strips and food if you can get there (walking?) Go now while the numbers are still higher.

I hope you feel well enough to walk to the drug store, maybe the adrenaline will give you energy!

Go now. (((Hugs)))
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Take another breath.

Can you call a cab? Is there a neighbor who is around who can help? Any family who could take a lunch hour and drop you at the vet's office?

1 neighbor is about 100 yrs old & i think working (driving a school bus noless...)
and the other neighbor doesnt speak enough english to even ask them (they just smile alot)
dont talk to much family & they are working (i told them off a few days ago)

I just called the vet... (going to post info)
 
heck, I'm not that far from RI (depending on your location) - and I've still got plenty of strips! :cool:

MJ&Donovan
 
MJ+Donovan said:
heck, I'm not that far from RI (depending on your location) - and I've still got plenty of strips! :cool:

MJ&Donovan
Hee, hee! MJ, you are a sweetie and must love driving.

Glad you called the vet. And I don't think I'd be asking for a ride from your neighbors either!
 
THANK YOU EVERYONE!!!

I keep taking deep breaths...

I called Rite-Aid & no test strips in stock...

I called Wal-Mart & they have the strips in stock! I have to get there & back ASAP...

I called the vet's office in gave them the information on Boo - they just returned my call and said to keep a close eye on her (obviously) especially around the six hour mark - that is where Lantus seems to bottom out - but also keep the Karo handy. They said since I know what she is like and how she acts, obviously go by how she is acting (and of course her tests). They also hold in another script for her test strips so I can pick up some more at the pharmacy with the AAA discount card.

Sorry to keep you hanging! I was on the phone with the vet & wanted to make sure I updated you guys with all the info I have…
Thanks for being so patient and understanding!!
 
I don't see a spreadsheet, is there one? I wanted to see among other things the nadir.
Am I right that you have given two shots, one at 6am 1.5u and then the second 1.5u given 4.5 hours later?
You will want to watch for two nadirs, the second nadir will have overlap from the first one.

If this was my kitty and I couldn't get to the vet I'd feed a tsp. of HC frequently.
I'd want to drive the numbers up before the 2nd nadir hits.
Noisy never got to full so I could feed him endlessly. Your frequency of feeding would have to factor in how your kitty's appetite is -- you may need to feed for a lot of hours so you do not want to over feed.
 
MJ+Donovan said:
heck, I'm not that far from RI (depending on your location) - and I've still got plenty of strips! :cool:

MJ&Donovan

OMG!! ohmygod_smile
I actually live on the Pawtucket/North Providence line - really not that far from North/South Attleboro.
But I would never ask you to drive down here! But that is SO nice of you to offer!! :YMHUG:
 
Your vet might not completely understand the action of Lantus. We have seen overdoses last 16 hours or more. At the very least, if you are not going to the vet now, please make arrangements so you can get there quickly if things go south. This could be very serious and I can't recommend that you do this at home.
 
our posts crossed. I would rather you be at the vet, but if you have to do this yourself then please get the following things together:

Test strips (a lot, get at least 2 vials)
High carb wet food (Fancy Feast gravy lovers are good, or Friskies with gravy. Again, get a lot.)
Make sure you have karo. A feeding syringe would be good in case he won't eat it.
Line up a ride to the vet just in case
Find out the information for the emergency vet in case you need it after your regular vet has closed
 
D and Noisy said:
I don't see a spreadsheet, is there one? I wanted to see among other things the nadir.
Am I right that you have given two shots, one at 6am 1.5u and then the second 1.5u given 4.5 hours later?
You will want to watch for two nadirs, the second nadir will have overlap from the first one.

If this was my kitty and I couldn't get to the vet I'd feed a tsp. of HC frequently.
I'd want to drive the numbers up before the 2nd nadir hits.
Noisy never got to full so I could feed him endlessly. Your frequency of feeding would have to factor in how your kitty's appetite is -- you may need to feed for a lot of hours so you do not want to over feed.

Unfortunately, I do not have a spreadsheet posted. But I am going to definitely work on that just for instances such as this.
Just wondering... (I am watching anyways) why the two nadirs? Shouldn’t the first shot this morning be like her usual dose? And I should be looking for a nadir about six hours after her second dose?
I ask the vet the same question - shouldn't I be watching six hours after the first dose, six hours after the second dose, AND of course in between and there after? And the vet told me the first dose is like her usual and she should be okay, but of course keep an eye on her, how she acts, and how she tests.
 
I am just seeing your post after I wrote the below. See if this helps explain it. Basically you will be having two onsets and two nadirs because the shots were not given at the same time.

Wanted to add you are not only watching for two nadirs but also watch for the onset of the second shot kicking in at the same time as the first shot nadirs.
Look at as you have two cycles going at the same time. Factor the second cycle as 4.5 hours from the first cycle. Lots of overlap to consider.
Onset 1
Onset 2
Nadir 1
Nadir 2
 
Thought you might have left to run to store. Did you opt to NOT go?...thought with the last higher number was your window to get out/back.

Have you done an update test?

What is your zip code...perhaps I can make some calls to see if there is a delivery service who could pick up your strips and food quickly. I would need to know which WalMart. I am willing to do some calling. Don't want to lose any more time to get your supplies.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
Your vet might not completely understand the action of Lantus. We have seen overdoses last 16 hours or more. At the very least, if you are not going to the vet now, please make arrangements so you can get there quickly if things go south. This could be very serious and I can't recommend that you do this at home.

WOW! Sixteen hours! (I think I peed a little)
Thank you so much for your concern! I can keep the eye on her until hubby gets home between five thirty and six o'clock. Our vet is open until 8 PM and I also have the emergency vets number on hand.
 
BudLt said:
Unfortunately, I do not have a spreadsheet posted. But I am going to definitely work on that just for instances such as this.
Just wondering... (I am watching anyways) why the two nadirs? Shouldn’t the first shot this morning be like her usual dose? And I should be looking for a nadir about six hours after her second dose?
I ask the vet the same question - shouldn't I be watching six hours after the first dose, six hours after the second dose, AND of course in between and there after? And the vet told me the first dose is like her usual and she should be okay, but of course keep an eye on her, how she acts, and how she tests.

I'm not following your vet. The shots were given 4.5 hours apart, how can we not factor in that the onset of the second shot is (likely) going to occur before the nadir of the first shot?

Your instincts were right in the first place. How many strips do you have and are you going to get more? HC wet food too?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top