HELP!!!!!!!!! NEED ADVICE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelli Vines

Member Since 2018
Hi! My kitty Sky was diagnosed 1-5-18 (Friday) with diabetes. She lost a pound in a month,had very bad dandruff,PU/PD,not acting herself. My vet ran thyroid panel that was normal,CBC was normal, all blood values normal except BG (398). He told me I needed an AlphaTrak Meter didn't keep them in stock,so ordered me one to be here Monday or Tuesday. He put her on Vetsulin 2 units twice a day. Gave 2 units in office,and told me to give 2 more that night. Told me to get Karo syrup for possible hypo episode. Upon getting home, I searched the web for feline diabetes and found this site. Everything I read pointed to NOT giving insulin until you checked the BG. I got a humane meter.... tested her before meal and BG was 53,2 hrs. after it was 44. Gave her food and syrup got back up to 100. I did not give her insulin Friday night. Sat. morning before meal BG was 207,2 hrs. later after meal BG was 222. The information I had absorbed from this site was above 200 wise to give 1/2 dose. After another small meal I gave her only 1 unit(7:30 am) by noon BG was 53 gave food and syrup, 2:15 pm BG 55 more food and syrup,3:00 pm BG 88 more food and syrup, more food at 5:30 pm,so 6:00 pm BG 142. I gave no insulin last night. My vet is closed on the weekends,so I haven't been able to voice my concerns to him. This morning I did not test her before she ate. I did 2 hrs. later and BG 103. I have not given any insulin today. She is acting bright and alert even grooming some. She was very lethargic Fri. and Sat. after the insulin due to dropping her too low. I am new to this. Am I doing the right thing? I will be seeing vet in the am. Thanks for any advise you can lend.
 
Wow!!!! So glad you took matters into your own hands and started home testing on your own! You may have saved your kitty's life this weekend!

Sounds like the 2U is definitely too much for Sky, and maybe even 1U. Have you also changed her food recently? What is she eating now?
 
I did change her food.She was eating dry kibble in the am and wet pate in pm. I changed her to only wet food since Friday. I ten kitties,and have been going through the transition to an all wet diet. Sky got there quicker than the others. I have a few that don't like wet food. I am so glad I have done the right thing. If she had the 2 units I believe she would not be with me now.
 
Great job switching her over to the wet food! It's one of the very best things you can do for a diabetic (or, really, any) kitty, and (as you can see with your other cats) it doesn't always go so smoothly!

It also goes a long way towards explaining why her apparent insulin needs have dropped so drastically. She clearly needs a lot less insulin than she did while eating the kibble. So glad you went ahead and home-tested (and congrats on getting that up and running so swiftly, too! Whew!).

Just keep doing what you are doing. I'm going to tag a couple of people who I know have used Vetsulin in the past, @Kris & Teasel and @Critter Mom (and there are lots of others around here that may drop in), who can help advise on things like dosage going forward if Sky's numbers warrant. Clearly, the food change has had a big impact and she may be well on her way to becoming a diet-controlled diabetic, but most cats need at least a short course of insulin to get there.

In the meantime, pat yourself on the back and take a deep breath-- well done!!!!
 
Did the dr do a fructosamine test? Was the high bg found with a urine test or just a blood test?

You were so right not dosing and testing may have saved his life. Well done. They should not have started you on 2 units. I don't know why so many vets insist on high staying doses! It's so dangerous!

Your cat may be diet controlled or just need TINY 0.25-0.5 doses.
 
My vet did not do a fructosamine test. The BG was from a blood test. He didn't test her urine. I have been keeping a log since I got home Friday,and will take it with me when I go back to the vet's in the am. I did ask about controlling with diet first before insulin,but he said I needed the insulin. Many thanks to all of you!!!!!
 
I got a human meter....

... and it looks like you saved Sky's life, Kelli. Thank the gods that you had managed to get some of your own research done and started home testing straight away. Well done!!! :bighug:


Questions for you:

* What did Sky weigh at time of diagnosis?

* Was she overweight/underweight/ideal weight at time of diagnosis?

ETA:

* Approximately what is Sky's ideal weight?


Mogs
.
 
My vet did not do a fructosamine test. The BG was from a blood test. He didn't test her urine. I have been keeping a log since I got home Friday,and will take it with me when I go back to the vet's in the am. I did ask about controlling with diet first before insulin,but he said I needed the insulin. Many thanks to all of you!!!!!
The diagnosis should not have been made from a single test because bg can be raised from eating (if he had any food in the two hours prior to the test) as well as from vet stress. A fructosamine test gives the average bg from the previous 2-3 weeks.
 
... and it looks like you saved Sky's life, Kelli. Thank the gods that you had managed to get some of your own research done and started home testing straight away. Well done!!! :bighug:


Questions for you:

* What did Sky weigh at time of diagnosis?

* Was she overweight/underweight/ideal weight at time of diagnosis?

ETA:

* Approximately what is Sky's ideal weight?


Mogs
.
 
Sky weighed 9.2 pounds Friday. I weighed her on 12/4/17 ..... 10.6 lbs. because I noticed she looked like she had lost some weight. I weighed her again on 1/3/18......9.6 lbs. All my kitties had gotten a little pudgy due to free feeding,so I went to controlled feedings. The last weight I had recorded for her was 4/3/16..... 13.0 lbs. My vet did not comment on her current weight. Her poor ear looks like road kill due to all the ear pricks I have done.
 
Sky weighed 9.2 pounds Friday. I weighed her on 12/4/17 ..... 10.6 lbs. because I noticed she looked like she had lost some weight. I weighed her again on 1/3/18......9.6 lbs. All my kitties had gotten a little pudgy due to free feeding,so I went to controlled feedings. The last weight I had recorded for her was 4/3/16..... 13.0 lbs. My vet did not comment on her current weight. Her poor ear looks like road kill due to all the ear pricks I have done.
Her ears will heal and your technique will improve. That testing might well have saved Sky's life. :) Many people use a tiny bit of Neosporin ointment (not cream) with pain relief on battered ears.
 
I am so glad I did some research and found this site. It was through all the information I read here that I based my decision to get a human meter and test before I gave more insulin. I feel bad for others that go on only what their vet said to do,and end up with bad outcomes for their fur babies. I just can't believe the vet would tell me to give the insulin without testing first,especially with the low numbers I got after the first 2 units he gave her in office. I am sure he has given those instructions to other clients. I feel really bad for those that ended up with dire emergencies. I will use the Neosporin ointment with pain relief on her ears. I have some in my medicine cabinet. Thanks for that tip.
 
I am so glad I did some research and found this site. It was through all the information I read here that I based my decision to get a human meter and test before I gave more insulin. I feel bad for others that go on only what their vet said to do,and end up with bad outcomes for their fur babies. I just can't believe the vet would tell me to give the insulin without testing first,especially with the low numbers I got after the first 2 units he gave her in office. I am sure he has given those instructions to other clients. I feel really bad for those that ended up with dire emergencies. I will use the Neosporin ointment with pain relief on her ears. I have some in my medicine cabinet. Thanks for that tip.
Same with my vet. Nothing about checking before shot. This forum will guide you. Who knows where Mango would be without this forum. I use a human meter, Relion confirm and it takes very little blood. You will get the hang of it. I use his front paw. His ears looked like a pin cushion also. I changed mango from all dry food to wet and his dose is only 0.25. His BG went down SO much with just a change of food and hopefully will be in remission soon. Hang in there! You are doing a great job!:cat:
 
Hi Kelli,

For information, I have had very mixed experience with the veterinary profession. I've had great vets save the lives of my companions and I've had bad vets fail my companions, leading to the premature deaths of two and very nearly costing the life of a third. Therefore, I very much endeavour to be fair when commenting on things vet-related and I sincerely hope that this comes across below.


all blood values normal except BG (398).

I weighed her again on 1/3/18......9.6 lbs.

Here's a link to the manufacturer's guidelines for starting dose calculation (NB: Caninsulin is another brand name for Vetsulin):

Caninsulin/Vetsulin Starting Dose Calculation

In fairness to your vet, according to the above guidelines he did actually calculate the starting dose correctly:

- if cat's BG >360mg/dL then start dose is 0.5IU/kg.

- Sky's weight at Dx = 9.6/2.2 = 4.36kg (rounded down to 4kg for starting dose calculation).

- Calculated starting dose of Vetsulin per manufacturer guidelines = 0.5 x 4 = 2.0 IU

Also he would have been taking into account Sky's clinical signs when making his provisional diagnosis (PU/PD; poor hair coat condition; unexplained weight loss; cat 'out of sorts').

HOWEVER ... ... ...


My vet did not do a fructosamine test. The BG was from a blood test. He didn't test her urine.

As Janet advises above a single spot check showing a significantly elevated BG level - even taking the above clinical signs into account - is not sufficient evidence upon which to base a solid diagnosis of diabetes. Travel /vet stress can temporarily elevate BG levels as can infection or other underlying problems. A urine test positive for glucose would not have been affected by temporary stressors (shows that the BG was high enough over a period of several hours to cause glucose to spill over into the urine) and, as mentioned above, a high fructosamine test would have confirmed that Sky's BG had on average been in the diabetic range over the last couple of weeks.

I think there are possibly two hiccups here:

- insufficient diagnostic testing and also not factoring in vet stress and time of week when making the decision on starting dose (a more conservative 1.0IU Vetsulin may have been wiser).

- a communication breakdown about the switch to low carb food.


Things your vet got right:

- Suspecting diabetes based on Sky's clinical signs / performing some differential diagnosis between diabetes and hyperthyroidism.

- Starting dose calculation based on manufacturer guidelines and Sky's weight & BG test result.

- Advocating home testing. (This is a huge plus for your vet!!! :) )

- Making sure that you got karo syrup in case of hypoglycaemia.

- Recognising the importance of prompt treatment commencement for a cat who needs insulin. (Some cats needing insulin don't get it quickly enough and as a result can go into diabetic ketoacidosis, a potentially life-threatening complication of diabetes which requires intensive care in a hospital setting and is very hard on the kitty.)


Things I think your vet could possibly have done better:


- Urine glucose test to reinforce provisional diabetes Dx (result won't be stress-influenced) and fructosamine test to confirm provisional Dx. (Definitely should have done these.)

- Taking into account possible stress influence on the blood glucose test done at time of consultation and factoring that into decision on starting dose.

- Bearing in mind the weekend was ahead and also that you would not have the pet meter till next week, prescribing a more conservative starting dose as a precaution would perhaps have been wiser.

- Given that the manufacturer's maximum starting dose was prescribed, it would have been safer to have monitored Sky's response at the practice to make sure that the starting dose was not too high (as recommended in the manufacturer's treatment protocol).

- Advising you against switching to a low carb food until your meter had arrived and an action plan for managing food transition and dose adjustment had been agreed between the two of you. Bear in mind that the BG number he was working to for starting dose calculation would have been influenced by the carb load of the dry food Sky had been eating prior to Dx. [As mentioned above, I think this could perhaps have been down to a bit of a miscommunication between ye about diet. Happens. :) ]

I hope you will have a helpful and productive conversation with your vet tomorrow. To his absolute credit he immediately recommended that you start monitoring blood glucose at home. At FDMB we wish that every vet would be so proactive and safety conscious. Alas, but many vets are positively hostile to the practice so your vet could still prove to be a bit of a keeper. :) I hope after your consultation tomorrow that you'll both be able to develop a good action plan for Sky going forward.

One final suggestion: With Sky's blood glucose levels showing such dramatic improvement since the switch to all low carb, wet food it's possible that she may go into spontaneous remission with diet change alone. If Sky still needs some insulin support following the diet change she may now only need a very small dose to keep her in healthier BG numbers. If that's the case then, because of the way it works, Vetsulin may prove to be a bit of a sledgehammer to crack a nut. It typically drops BG levels quite hard and fast producing fairly steep drops in the early part of the cycle and then it peters out a good while before the next dose is due. The steep drops can sometimes make it very difficult to safely dose diabetics who are running in relatively good BG numbers but who only require a tiny amount of help from insulin.

There are other longer-acting insulins with gentler action profiles (Lantus or Levemir) which don't typically produce steep BG drops in the way that Vetsulin tends to, and they have better duration in cats. Assuming that Sky's insulin requirements will be lower now the carb load in her diet has been significantly reduced it may be an idea to discuss with your vet the possibility of switching to one of the 'L' insulins. They may suit Sky's needs better, making it much more straightforward to dose her safely, keeping her better regulated for more of the day, and perhaps seeing her into remission!

(NB: US prices for Lantus and Lev will give you sticker shock. Many of our members get a written Rx from their vets and buy the insulin from the highly reliable Marks Marine Pharmacy in Canada for much less $$$. Further details here.)

My two penn'orth. Hope some of the above is helpful to you.

Once again, great job on the testing! Give that girl of yours some scritches from me.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Well done Kelli!!!!!!! Had you not been on top of this and proactive, I shudder to think what the outcome might have been. Cutting the dry food is probably what caused the drop. Make sure you let your vet know when you speak with them.
 
Wow! Thanks Critter Mom for all of the information. I really appreciate the input. I have learned so much in just a few days. Sky has done great today. BG was 99 at 3:30 pm and 103 this am. I have not given any insulin today. She is bright,alert,and talking to me like her old self. I was really scared for her Friday night and Saturday. I tried taking blood from her paw pad,but she didn't like that at all. She is getting used to me poking her ear. Thanks again to all for your posts.
 
Wow! Thanks Critter Mom for all of the information. I really appreciate the input. I have learned so much in just a few days. Sky has done great today. BG was 99 at 3:30 pm and 103 this am. I have not given any insulin today. She is bright,alert,and talking to me like her old self. I was really scared for her Friday night and Saturday. I tried taking blood from her paw pad,but she didn't like that at all. She is getting used to me poking her ear. Thanks again to all for your posts.
wow that's awesome! and these numbers are without insulin? wow! Looks like you MAY have a diet controlled cat! That would be AWESOME. Keep on top of testing though in case those numbers creep up. Remember for a human meter normal is 50-120 and for a pet meter it's 68-150.
 
Sky has done great today. BG was 99 at 3:30 pm and 103 this am. I have not given any insulin today. She is bright,alert,and talking to me like her old self.
Way to go, Sky!!! :cool: I'm so glad to hear that she's feeling so much better. :cat:

You're well on top of BG testing so keep doing what you're doing to see how Sky's BG runs over the next few days (keeping your vet in the loop with developments, of course!). Be sure to test fasting BG level (2 hours without food before test) and also postprandial BG levels (about 2 hours after a meal) to assess the impact of food on Sky's blood glucose control.

With the numbers you're seeing Sky could very well be a candidate for spontaneous remission following the diet change. (Anti-jinx!) Ideally you want to see the vast majority of BG numbers under 100mg/dL as measured on a human meter for a period of 14 days without insulin for a kitty to be officially considered a diet-controlled diabetic.

One little safety precaution: Because Sky has shown clinical signs of diabetes and tested positive for hyperglycaemia but now is running in the normal BG range after the diet switch you're in a bit of a grey area because she may or may not need a little bit of insulin support. (Time and testing will tell.) If a kitty who needs it doesn't get enough insulin then it is at risk of building up ketones in the bloodstream (as mentioned above). Therefore, for the time being it would be highly advisable to test Sky's urine daily for ketones. You can use human urinalysis reagent strips (e.g. Ketostix). Here are a couple of helpful stickies with more information:

Testing your Cat for Ketones

Tips For Collecting Urine Samples

Once again, Kelli, you played an absolute blinder getting hold of that glucometer and keeping your dear Sky safe. She's a lucky girl to have such a caring and conscientious human (who's a quick study to boot!). :)


Mogs
.
 
Hi! All, Sky has my vet stumped. I showed him my log I started Friday afternoon with all the BG results. He said,like all of you,that I saved Sky's life by getting a meter and testing her before I gave more insulin to her. She has not had an insulin dose since Sat. at 7:30 am (of 1 unit) due to her low numbers. Her BG was good yesterday with none,and this morning at 6:00 am before meal BG 165.....9:00 am BG 141. He did a urinalysis on her and no ketones or glucose in her urine BG 115. He was concerned about range difference between human and pet meter,so he wants me to monitor BG for 8-10 hrs tomorrow on the Alphatrak no insulin. I will take the results to him on Wednesday, and we will go from there. I asked about a fructosamine test, and he said we could wait on that expense right now due to the data I presented him with, and the urine results. So,I guess I will know more on Wednesday. Thank-you for all your input and caring!!!!!!! It really means the world to me! and Sky! I also would like to wish everyone and their fur babies great success and remission for this disease. I can say this was scarier for me for Sky than my breast cancer diagnosis was for me last Jan. LOL I just was so matter of fact for myself,and freaking out about my baby!!!!! Hugs and Kisses! I will update again on Wednesday. :)
 
Hey! Just had question for future reference: Did I read somewhere here that you can use the Freestyle Lite Strips in the AlphaTrak meter? They sure do look the same. :) Cost is way different. Thanks!
 
Yes that's true on the strips (someone will correct me if there's a slight variation on the name, but I think it's Freestyle Lite).

Great news on the vet visit! :)

Will be interesting to see how she does tomorrow! It does seem like the numbers might be trending up a bit; if you and the vet end up deciding that she needs a small dose of insulin for a little while, please do consider Mog's suggestions above about the "L" insulins Lantus and Levemir. In my opinion, they are much easier to manage in a cat running in nearly-normal numbers than is Vetsulin.
 
Hey! Guys, Food question for Sky. I started with the AlphaTrak this am to run BG throughout day with no insulin for my vet. BG was 187 before meal. She only licked at her food and has already asked for some more. Should she have none until I am finished with the 8 hr curve or can she have some more licks? I started at 4:00 am,so 8 hrs. would be 12:30 pm. Thanks!
 
I asked about a fructosamine test, and he said we could wait on that expense right now due to the data I presented him with, and the urine results.
Your vet is spot on here. Now that you're getting daily data on Sky's BG it's actually providing superior information than a fructosamine test. (If one is home testing a fructosamine is kinda superfluous. The test is only of real value at initial Dx or for assessing level of regulation in pets whose caregivers don't home test at all. (In both cases there's no daily data.)

Kelli, when you have the curve results it would be great if you could post them here for us to have a look at.


Mogs
.
 
Will do!!! Critter Mom. Today's values are with no insulin given to her. I will take results to my vet in the am, and go from there. I am also comparing results between the AlphaTrak meter and the OneTouch Ultra Mini (human meter) with the same drop of blood. I thought might as well since I'm poking her. I am doing a 12 hr curve. The last draw will be at 4:30 pm. I will post both sets of values tonight. :cat::cat::cat::cat::cat:
 
Today's values are with no insulin given to her.
Exactamondo. I'm keen to see how she's running without insulin support. It would help if you could post the results in the following format:

AMBG - ??? mg/dL (result for first BG test - also can you confirm whether or not Sky had access to any food in the two hours prior to this test.) / food type and amount eaten after test.
AM+2 - ??? mg/dL (BG at 2 hours after first test) / details of food eaten before/after test.
AM+4 - ??? mg/dL (BG at 4 hrs after first test) / feeding info.

etc., etc.


Mogs
.
 
Ok---here goes: AM=AlphaTrak pet meter OTUM= OneTouch Ulta Mini human meter

4:00 am: AMBG- 187 mg/dl (no access to food over night roughly 10 hr. fast) OTUM- 162 mg/dl
ate roughly 1/4 can FFC chicken between 4-4:30 am

OTUM +2- 115 mg/dl
AM+2- 151 mg/dl OTUM +4- 91 mg/dl l
AM +4- 106 mg/dl OTUM +6- 86 mg/dl
AM +6- 107 mg/dl OTUM +8- 71 mg/dl
AM +8- 104 mg/dl OTUM+10- 71 mg/dl
AM +10- 108 mg/dl OTUM+12- 70 mg/dl
AM +12- 88 mg/dl

She had no food or snacks throughout the day besides her breakfast. I hope I did the format right. Obvious differences between pet and human meter.I think I will stick to using the AM. To me,this really didn't look too bad. What do you all think? I was surprised by the last AM+12 reading of 88---20 point drop from +10 reading? She is a happy girl now having her din-din!!!!:)
 
Sorry about the wacky way my message came across. That is not the way I had it set up. It changed for some reason when I hit post. :( I had it all in nice columns not run all together.
 
Great job on the formatting and food info.

The '+' notation helps with two things:

1. We're all in different time zones.

2. It's easier to understand what's happening with BG regulation when we know how long a period has elapsed since insulin dose (if it's being administered) and after food.

Lookin' good there, Sky. :cool:


4:00 am: AMBG- 187 mg/dl (no access to food over night roughly 10 hr. fast) OTUM- 162 mg/dl
The morning BG level (AMBG) of 162mg/dL on the human meter is a good bit outside the human meter reference range for cats (50-120mg/dL).

Cats tend to have a marked difference in their BG levels during the day and at night. For example, many cats run at lower BG levels at night. Others may run lower during the day. Sometimes diabetics have higher BG levels in the morning. (When I first joined I was told that commonly it's the AMBG that's the last to come into a good range before a cat goes into remission but I'm not sure whether or not this holds true for the majority of cats.)

Another possible influence on higher AMBG might be the long fast (impaired fasting glycaemia). An elevation of BG levels after long periods of fasting is an indication of pre-diabetes or metabolic syndrome in humans. (Saoirse had this issue.) The healthy pancreas produces significant pulses of insulin in response to incoming food but it also produces a steady trickle of insulin throughout the day to enable glucose to enter cells between mealtimes. In the pre-diabetic state the mealtime insulin pulses may be OK but the trickle may not be sufficient to balance the amount of stored sugar released by the liver between meals and this results in higher BG levels after longer fasting periods.

Sky's BG level fell from 162 to 115 (human meter) at +2 hours after her breakfast. This is great; shows her pancreas actually working in response to the food (no food rise!). Thereafter her pancreas did a nice steady job of keeping her BG at good levels throughout the day.

For a cat on a remission trial (i.e. not currently receiving any insulin), on a human meter you want to see almost all BG readings UNDER 100 for 14 days (and preferably nearer the 50 mark than the 100 mark): the better the numbers, the stronger the remission is more likely to be (and therefore to hold longer).

Fingers and paws crossed ... :nailbiting:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Hey! Myagi and Heidi, Has the Zobaline helped any yet with the neuropathy. Sky has some in her back legs. I was going to order some if it works.
 
Sorry about the wacky way my message came across. That is not the way I had it set up. It changed for some reason when I hit post. :( I had it all in nice columns not run all together.
The forum software doesn't like spaces so it strips 'em out when you post.

(I found this out the same way you did, Kelli. :banghead: )


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Hey! Myagi and Heidi, Has the Zobaline helped any yet with the neuropathy. Sky has some in her back legs. I was going to order some if it works.
I used Zobaline. Saoirse's neuropathy was barely detectable. I only caught it when she went to jump onto a windowsill and couldn't make it. :( (Knife in my heart ... ) With being tightly regulated (on Lantus) and the Zobaline supplementation Saoirse was back to jumping up on the windowsill a few weeks later. I think the time to recovery is probably influenced by the severity of symptoms at start of treatment.

With the better BG levels that will improve things for Sky and the Zobaline supplementation could speed things along for her.


Mogs
.
 
She had 1 unit of Vetsulin Sat. 1/6/18 at 7:30 am. I am taking my data to my vet in the am to see what he suggests....insulin,no insulin,more curve data??????? I will update tomorrow. I will take her BG in the am before she eats and go from there. She has only had two doses of insulin. 2 units on Fri. 1/5/18 and then the 1 unit on Sat. 1/6/18,and her low carb diet change. I hope she gets to be OTG from just the diet change. :nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Anti-jinx!!!! :nailbiting:

(We're fierce superstitious here. :D)

She had 1 unit of Vetsulin Sat. 1/6/18 at 7:30 am.
So already on Day 3 of OTJ trial.

Because it was the highest value today, I suggest daily testing of Sky's morning BG before she has her brekkie to keep an eye on the fasting BG levels.


Mogs
.
 
Hey! Myagi and Heidi, Has the Zobaline helped any yet with the neuropathy. Sky has some in her back legs. I was going to order some if it works.
Yes! We're learning patience is as important with this as with the fd/bgs. Usually few to several months they say. Myagi is much much much stronger,
More energetic, and able to jump onto the low window bench by himself! That enables him to leap over to bed and be with us. He is also having more dignified potty experience because he no longer has to lay in the box! But... He is still walking on hocks with little change there yet. Definitely a worthwhile investment! Just remember it's not an over night fix! :):bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Kelli Vines
 
Sure didn't mean to jinx!!!!! Anti-jinx-Anti-jinx Anti-jinx!!! Paws crossed!!!!!! :D I am now trying to figure out how much low carb wet food I need to feed 10 kitties. I have been trying to cut out dry kibble for awhile,but this episode with Sky has made it more urgent to me. It seems vets all have different views on kitty diets. I guess I will figure it out by them telling me they want food!!!! LOL or how much they leave in bowls after a feeding. I just don't want any that Sky can access over night to effect her BG morning result.
 
Well this am Sky had AMBG 135 mg/dl before breakfast(10 hr fast from over night) and after AMBG +2 183 mg/dl (after meal) She did eat more this am than yesterday. Yesterday all numbers went down. This am spiked up. See what vet has to say later this morning. :nailbiting:
 
Hi Kelli,

Were those human meter readings?

I'm assuming 'yes' here.

This is why it's necessary to monitor BG levels during a remission trial - both fasting and postprandial BG levels.

If Sky is trending upwards then she may need a little insulin support to let her pancreas rest a bit and recover more beta cell function (the cells that secrete insulin). I'd suggest at the consult today that you discuss with your vet the possibility of giving Sky a course of Lantus insulin to help keep her numbers tightly regulated and reinforce her chances of achieving a solid remission. Vetsulin would not be a good insulin for Sky at this stage because with the low numbers she's been running in since the diet change it would be nigh on impossible to dose her safely (even on a tiny drop of Vetsulin).

I've attached a copy of the published Roomp-Rand study on treatment of cats with longer-acting insulins below. Dr Jacqui Rand is a world authority on feline diabetes. It would probably be a very helpful document for you and your vet to review and discuss.

NB: I suggested Lantus rather than Levemir because Lev seems to be slightly more powerful in effect than Lantus. It would therefore be easier and safer to use Lantus in this situation as it's likely that Sky would only need very small doses of insulin.

Finally, I've attached a link to Saoirse's 2014 spreadsheet below. Saoirse was treated with Caninsulin (aka Vetsulin) and then Lantus. It will help you to see the difference in response a cat can have to the two different insulins. Being able to continue Saoirse's insulin therapy with Lantus led to her achieving remission. Feel free to let your vet look at it if you think it may be helpful.

Saoirse's Spreadsheet - 2014 (US mg/dL) - ALPHATRAK METER

The key to the colour coding is in the headings at the top of the sheet. I followed a slightly modified form of the Roomp-Rand Tight Regulation Protocol.

For information: I tried to keep Saoirse on insulin as long as possible because she had concurrent chronic pancreatitis and her clinical signs were markedly better when receiving insulin therapy. Only when she was much more stable and it was clear from her BG test results that her pancreas was producing enough insulin did I start her second remission trial (first one didn't hold due to the pancreatitis issue).


Mogs
.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
No the readings were from the pet meter AlphaTrak. I have much to discuss with my vet.
That makes a difference! In a good way!! :)

For info, the reference range my vet gave me for cat BG as measured on cat-calibrated equipment (pet meters, lab equipment) is:

70mg/dL (3.9mmol/L) -- 150mg/dL (8.3mmol/L)

So with this morning's Alphatrak readings:

- AMBG 135 mg/dl before breakfast(10 hr fast from over night). Fed after test (larger meal than breakfast yesterday).
- AMBG +2 183 mg/dl (after meal) - larger feed than yesterday.

Sky's AM+2 reading shows a bit of a food rise (might be from the larger feed). It's a little bit higher than the maximum value of the pet meter reference range, which indicates that she's not quite there just yet, although her numbers may start to trend downwards over the coming days without insulin support now that the much lower carb load is putting less strain on her pancreas. As mentioned before, time and testing will reveal all. :)

If you get the chance try to snag another test on the Alphatrak before leaving for the vets (therefore no stress influence) to see whether Sky's pancreas has managed to pull BG back down again after that AM+2 (and let us know because we're mad keen to see how she gets on each day!).

BTW, Saoirse's BG levels in her spreadsheet above were measured using an Alphatrak meter.


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top