Help! Need advice for asymptomatic 36 BG at only +3.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

lepick

Member Since 2010
I need some advice and obviously am going to need to switch up my insulin dosing, but I'm not sure exactly how. Xalli has been getting 1u compounded PZI and the past few days the nadir has been moving earlier and earlier and the nadir lower. Today I tested b/c something didn't quite seem right and at +3.5 she had bg of 36!! She's come out and headed up now so I feel some relief about that, but I am going to have to change something up.

I'm somewhat new here but with everything I've read it seems like maybe two options, either lowering the dose or going to 3/day administration of insulin. This is something I can do given my schedule, so if that is what I should do, I will. But what seems like the best thing to do at this point? LOWER? 3/DAY? If lowering, how much would you recommend going down?

And if 3/day, how does that even work? How do you figure dose? What are you looking for in terms of shootable numbers and appropriate high/lows? Is there a spreadsheet for 3/day, or anyone willing to share this if this is what I should be doing so I can get a sense of this?

So basically ANYTHING that anyone can offer is appreciated. Please take a look at my spreadsheet in my signature. Thanks so much for your help, and without these boards I wouldn't be hometesting and wouldn't have even known what to do. I'm so grateful and I can't tell you how much I appreciate all the time it takes to respond to these cries for help!

Lea
 
How are you feeding? Free feeding or timed feeding? If timed feeding about what times? Also I trust you guys are doing law carb wet food only per J&B's?

What strength is your compounded insulin? U-100? Not all compounded insulin is u-40 like ProZinc. Your SS talks about using u-100 syringes. So are you converting?

Good work on home testing and getting that SS going. I might also suggest getting a profile put together [instructions in the Tech Support forum] that would help give us some background on your kitty.

You might need to lower the dose - maybe to .75u for a couple cycles & see how that goes? You are getting some pretty big swings. Tonight for instance you may see some higher numbers [but you may not]. I would suggest reading about rebound:
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Rebound
But achieving accurate increments smaller than 1u with u-100 insulin is challenging. There are some resources for that [measuring small doses in U-100 syringes] in the Lantus [forum] stickies. If you were compounded with a u-40 strength insulin [besides BCP, I've only personally seen compounded in U-100] then you could do the U-40 to U-100 conversion which is talked about in the PZI sticky.

Hopefully others will be along shortly to offer their own input.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top