Hi again Jeanette and extra sweet Eve!
On the spreadsheet, you need to change the privacy settings so we can see it. Go to the top right where it says "Share", and click. A pop up will come up with "Sharing settings". Under "Who has access", change it to "Anyone who has the link can view", and click "Done"
You may have saved Eve's life last night by listening to your instincts. Giving a unit of Lantus when her pre-shot test was 87 could have been tragic...BUT, once you have enough data to know how she reacts to both insulin and food will allow you to give insulin safely at those lower numbers! We call it "shooting low to stay low", and it's very effective, but it's way too soon for you to be trying that.
Your vet, who you might trust implicitly, just doesn't understand how to treat feline diabetes in the most safe and effective way. Look through the message board. You'll see a LOT of other people who are here ....and almost all of them thought their vet was a good one before the diabetes diagnosis. Many of them came here when their vet prescribed too much insulin and they came here when their cat was in a hypoglycemic crisis. Others came here after trying to follow their vets instructions, and still having numbers that were horribly high (Suzanne and Cobb are one example of that) Others got the diagnosis and just wanted to learn more about treating it and found a great group of people willing to explain the why's, what's and when's of this disease and somehow making it a little less scary. The people here do what they do to "pay forward" the kindness they were shown when they first came here and were scared, confused and overwhelmed. You'll find someone here pretty much 24/7 to help you, we don't charge a dime, and we'll do our best to keep Eve safe, as well as getting her regulated..if not in total remission.
We take the responsibility of advising others very seriously. We have a strict rule that nobody is to give advice "in private" (like using PM's or emails) so that everything we tell you is peer reviewed. The people here have 10's of thousands of hours of experience treating feline diabetes and the diseases that come with it. There's just no other resource like it. As much as we may trust our vets, they just can't keep up to date on the latest treatments for every disease, for every type of animal they may see.
The fact that Eve has already had an episode of DKA makes it even more important to get her numbers under control, keep her eating, and getting her UTI cleared up. There are a lot of people here who've been where you are and know how to help.
It would be helpful for you to add the information that she's been in DKA to your signature box, along with any other health issues she might have. It's very important that the people here know that she's been through it once when they help to advise you. The recipe for DKA is "not enough insulin+not enough food+infection", so we want to make sure she's getting all 3 issues dealt with.
We totally understand that there's a lot of information being tossed at you quickly, and it's easy to become overwhelmed. Don't be afraid to tell us to slow down! The learning curve here is steep, but you've got all of us to help you climb that mountain, and Eve will have gained a lot of new aunties, uncles and fur-friends along the way.
Edited to Add: You might want to share this with your vet. It's a published paper on the TR Protocol by
Roomp/Rand Tight Regulation Protocol