HELP! Monkey has bloated belly

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Peter, While I know its inconvenient these days to take a kitty to the Vet, I think you should get to the bottom of this bloating issue.
Watch him like a hawk. If that bloating gets ANY worse I would rush him to the Vet. (I'm sure others will have more advice)
Monkeys diabetes is out of control right now. If I remember correctly, he NEEDS to eat. I know this is complicated so PLEASE watch for more replies ok? You can use the dry food in case he goes low but I would give him canned food as his primary source of food. I'm all for the slow transitioning but it doesnt seem to be working. I'm keeping Monkey and Pen Pen in my prayers, and you too!

AGAIN please wait for more responses.
jeanne

I will listen to you Jeanne. If his bloating gets worse, I would take him to the vet immediately. Yes I am waiting for reply especially the dosing of Lantus. I am gradually reducing dry food and add wet food. I give him wet food as much as he can eat
 
Good for you Peter! I'm glad to hear that. :) I wish I could help you further but you will get good advice .;)
I'm hanging around to make sure someone helps.
take care and give all your babies some scritches from me.:bighug:

Same here. I’m not super experienced and I’ll defer to others, but I’d also want to have that skin condition rechecked. Cats hide pain really well and it’s better to be safe than sorry. I’d also ask the vet if he could be nauseated and if that may be the reason he’s not eating well because there are meds you can try for that like Cerenia and Ondansetron.
Have you tried baby food? You can’t feed him only that of course, but sometimes if they’re not eating well, it helps in adding more calories to the diet
Hope Monkey feels better soon! :)
 
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales: Peter the ones on the left ate half unit markings
  • You can use the ones you have put it is going to be more difficult when you might have to increase or decrease by 0.25 or 0.5 units. Maybe you can go back to the pharmacy and see if they have them, it should say it on the box or package @Peter H
syringe-scales1-jpg.34899
 
Last edited:
Sorry that I open a new threat again. I would like to concentrate my issues in on one thread for your convenience, however this time is somewhat urgent. And I will give feedback to the previous comments you wonderful people made.

Please see the attachment: Monkey has bloated round shaped belly. I am not sure what does this happen. Also, there is some tumor of his skin surface. Please help me! IS there danger? Monkey has ok mood today, not too energetic, not completely sluggish. Also, his body temperature feels quite high, he has been high for at least a week. (By saying high, is it feels high compare to other cats. In addition he lost a lot of fur, such may make me feel his temperature is higher)

The reason I can think of:
1. He drinks too much water without peeing.
2. He eats too much dry, high carbohydrate food, because he eats a lot dry food for breakfast and diner, compare to my another cat PenPen, maybe double amount, I am not sure. But he eats a lot, maybe more than usual, that's my impression. I let him eat without limit because I afraid this blood sugar can get too low.
3. He eats wet good can and homemade food such as chicken breast. He is ALWAYS hungry therefore I give him a lot of extra meat in the hope that he can gain weight. Also, I feed him freeze dried chicken heart as a treat for blood checking, in the hope that it can replace dry, high carb snack. I am thinking maybe he is not used to digest these. Since he eats dry food all of his life.

Another issue:
1. Please see PenPen's spreadsheet, he fell to 63 ml/DL!!!! I am sure it is not the error of the device because I measure twice, with different testing paper. Luckily PenPen is completely fine today. One thing I did was feed some small amount of high carb snack. What should I do now? Do I need to reduce to dose?

To update previous post:
1. I have brought Lantus solostar 100ml pen*5 today, I am learning how to use. Please confirm the appropriate dose: Currently Monkey's dose is 3.25 U in U40, PenPen is 3.00 U. Do I want to convert it to the same amount of Lantus? and TWICE shot per day, 12 hours per one shot.
2. Please see my spreadsheet, I see Monkey has a high BG all day > 300, does it mean I feed too much dry food, or too few insulin?
3. I have brought wet can food for a complete nutrition (beef, lamb, chicken), plus homemade cooked chicken breast, chicken liver and heart.
4. In the following few days I want to weigh how much dry food they eat at breakfast and dinner. After I get the value, I restrict dry food by reducing 5% of the amount per day while free feeding can food. I may mix the can food to their dry food. Then I closely monitor their BG like 5 to 7 times per day, and reduce their insulin when necessary. Does this make sense?

View attachment 52708
View attachment 52709
View attachment 52710
View attachment 52714

Tumor on side belly:
View attachment 52712
Tumor on near the pelvis bone:
View attachment 52713

@Wendy&Neko @Judy and Freckles
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top