help low preshot number

Status
Not open for further replies.

sammy34

Member Since 2012
hi my cat sammy sugar this morning is 7.9 which is 130 i think. she is on 4.25 of lantus twice a day. her shot time is 9:30am and pm. do i give her half of shot or just a little? last time this happened i did not give shot and she stayed high for a week. don't know what to do. her peak is anywhere from +3 to +6. yesterday number were,

feb 5
8:30 am 300
9:30 am 324
1:30 pm 288
3:00 pm 252
9:00 pm 252
12:00 am 255
3:00 am 198
9:00 am 130
 
Follow these instructions:
Handling & shootinglow numbers

How low has he gone on this dose?

Stall / wait without feeding.
Retest in 30 min
Is he rising?

I've posted in Lantus TR requesting help; someone shoud be by shortly.
(Sorry, have to head to work- will check back once there)
 
started 4.25 on jan 6. on jan 19 got up in morning and checked and was 6.9, so i gave no shot. that night she was high 400. so was scared she would go low again so gave reduced dose back to 4 units twice a day. she stayed high for a week, after 5 days i increased to 4.25 again. her bg is now 144 but i feed her about half hour ago.
 
Did quick review of your other posts.
It appears you have been steadily increasing at intervals - was it always 3-5 days between increases?
If yes,

AND if you've been following the dosing protocols

AND If he always rises

AND You've got collected data showing this

AND You stalled and retested to show he is rising

AND You'll be home to monitor

AND You've got a good supply of test strips

THEN Shoot

OTHERWISE, please wait for more input
 
got to go to work at +5 and i work till +8. thats why i am so scared to shoot. i just check again and it went down after i feed her to 6.0 or 108. it did raise a bit then dropped would that be food spike from me feeding her at early this morning?
 
i am going to wait i think to 11 am if her bg is coming up and is over 8 or 144 i will give her 1/4 or dose. if she is still low i will give no shot. do you think this is a good idea?
 
Without more test data, it's really hard to make a well informed suggestion.

When is your usual shot time if you're going to wait until 11:00 AM? You also realize that if you shoot late, your PM shot will be 12-hours later? You can move your shot time back either by 30 min. once a day or by 15 min. at each shot time.

Also, if you stall, you really shouldn't reduce the dose, as well. A late shot functions like a dose reduction so by stalling AND reducing the dose, in effect you're reducing even more.
 
It looks like she is dropping to me but the food might kick in and raise her temporarily.

Maybe test again at 11am and post the number before you decide to shoot or not?
 
9:30 is her shot time. i never thought of that. thanks so much for your help. but now if i skip the shot her bg are going to go high again right? so if i shot at 11 i should shot 4.25. i will post back at 11, 45 minutes from now to let everyone know what her bg is. thanks to everyone......
 
Under the better some than none concept, with concerns about going low, and needing to go to work, you could give a reduced dose this am. You'll need to get back on track tonight(which, if you go shoot in less than 12 hours is like a dose increase, so be careful!).

Please go read the Lantus stickies and print them out. Come back here and get the Lantus TR forum folks to give input.
A spreadsheet will help us give you safe, effective feedback.

Hang in there.
 
Hello there

Sorry the board went down for hours. What did you do in the end? I hope you skipped if anything. Hows her BG now?

Wendy
 
is that what happened. I thought it was my computer. anyways i skipped the shot, i am glad to because before i went to work she dropped even lower to 5.9 at +5, but now i got home from work and at +12 she is 400. going to shot same dose of 4.25 but will be keeping a close eye on her. thanks for everybody's help this morning, glad i didn't shot because she would of went to low at +5. i will try to update spreadsheet for her, just so busy with work, kids and Sammy, it is a little overwhelming.
 
That's ok. Soon as you get a spreadsheet the better. It will help us watch her. I suspect her dose is too high which is causing these highs and lows but we won't be able to tell without seeing the data.
 
ok i will try and get that done tomorrow or friday. right now i got to go and get kids of to bed. but thank you wendy, you were a great help.
 
You want a dose that is safe to shoot every 12 hours and doesn"t take her too low. If you've needed to skip a shot several times because she's below your no shot number, you may be shooting too much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top