monty_dweezil (GA)
Member Since 2014
Ok, so another new monitor is now being adorned by Sir Dweezil.
Spreadsheet updated further, with a blank line between.
Spreadsheet updated further, with a blank line between.
He just had more Fancy Feast but doesn't want any more dry food. I wish he would. Nervous hovering cat mother.
Back up to 113 now. It'll drop again though, dammit. I'll be here with more gobbles.
What foods does he eat. Is he on a low carb diet or are you giving him h c dry food regularly?I know. We are inconsistent due to consistent 1.5 unit doses leave him really high all the time, but 1.7+ after 1-2 days results in this.
The food you are giving could also make a difference. Do you consistently give the same number of carbs and about the same amount?I would like to know too. During the 2 weeks he had no monitor, we gave 1.5 units each dose consistently and the few checks we got were always high (pinks) and his urine glucose was always high too.
1.5 is not enough, but much more is too much.
It'a possible the 1.5 works well after a higher dose has been reduced so it's using the 1.5 and the extra depot. But with no depot, 1.5 on its own isn't enough.
Yes, I'm here for another 2 hours or so and can check in.I'm going to have to get some sleep soon....was up early this morning.
Dweezil is behaving himself fairly well now. I hope you manage to get some sleep.
@Kris & Teasel are you going to be online for a while?
Thanks Kris!Yes, I'm here for another 2 hours or so and can check in.
That's good!Thank you so much.
We consistently feed at the same time, alternating between several low carb wet foods. We keep medium and high carb wet and dry foods around in case.
Okay! Well, here's my spiel on my experience with the FreeStyle Libre:Yes! It is the Freestyle Libre. My previous 2 threads blab more about it. lol
SLGS. The meter is a constant implanted one.
My take action is when he goes under 60 I think.
The problem also is that on 1.5 his low numbers are also high. There seems to be no real change. High numbers are red and low numbers are pink.
Last night he had 1.8 units and it did absolutely nothing. High and low the same. This morning 1.8 brought him down nicely, but then the 1.3 tonight was too much with the overlap.
He has had ketoacidosis twice from not being on a high enough dose. The first time was in May and he was on 1.7 units consistently and SEEMED ok but we didn't really know. Then we went away for 6 days and on the third day in the cattery he got ketoacidosis. We had dropped his dose to 1.5 units while he was there to avoid hypos, but the opposite happened.
The second time he got it after a week and this time on 2 units. It just seemed to stop working. After that he was on 3 units at the cattery with the monitor while we were overseas as 2 units did not bring down his numbers at all MOST of the time. Sometimes however, they seemed to work too well (prolonged but asymptomatic hypo).
Also while he was consistently on 1.5 units without his monitor, his water consumption increased, and his urine test strips were always high. He did not lose any weight though.
In any case, we are scared to ignore constant high numbers (reds) and high low numbers (pinks) due to the ketoacidosis. We check for ketones daily of course, but high numbers constantly for him are not good. He shows no ill effects until he collapses in a medical emergency. When he was brought into the hospital the second time his BG was 342 which is lower than many numbers he's had since. So we fear the high AND the low.