Help! Just tested 32, No insulin since Saturday!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Lily's first BG reading..very low!

My poor baby. She is such a sweetie. I hate that she has to go through this.
 
Re: Lily's first BG reading..very low!

Well, hopefully she won't have to go through it much longer. ;-)
 
Re: Lily's first BG reading..very low!

It is sad she has to go through this BUT she is so lucky to have such a great momma bean! Remember, she is getting the care she needs and look how far you've come! A testing expert and willing to do what it takes to make her feel better! What a lucky kitty to have you!
 
Re: Lily's first BG reading..very low!

88! Whew! That was after she ate her FF pate. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: Lily's first BG reading..very low!

Very nice! I would grab another test in about an hour or two and see where's she's at. When is her next shot time?
 
Re: Lily's first BG reading..very low!

Very exciting and educational to watch this unfold! Great job Lou Ann!
 
Re: Lily's first BG reading..very low!

Her next shot was due 15 minutes ago. No shot tonight!
 
Re: Lily's first BG reading..very low!

Nope! :-D Just make sure you grab a test tomorrow morning before her AMPS. If it's below 200, don't give the shot! Post here first.
 
Re: Lily's first BG reading..very low!

I would skip the shot tonight, and be sure to test tomorrow morning, before giving any insulin.

If you Edit your first Subject Line to change it to something like "Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please"
that might attract someone that knows more about the insulin you are using.

Novolin N isn't a common insulin used for the people posting on this board. If you don't hear otherwise, I would not give her insulin if her BG is below 200 tomorrow.

I wish you luck.

Lily could be one of the fortunate ones that goes off insulin. It might not be now, or tomorrow, but it is a possibility ;-)
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Agree with no insulin tonight. But even if tomorrow's number is pretty high, I'd still reduce. Influencing the high number will be 24 hours since the last shot, high carb food and maybe a bounce. I'd reduce your last dose by half?
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Only a few test strips left, saving for tomorrow. Had to throw out a lot because they would not register in the meter. Emergency run to Wal-mart in the morning. Lily's ear will get a rest until the morning. :oops:
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Lou Ann...you did an awesome job today. You 'did' save Lily's life twice. :-D

Tonight...you rest....Lily's ear rests.
Tomorrow...A better day.

cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Thanks Misty and everyone else for today. What a nightmare for us both. She is sleeping on her favorite paper bag, weird kitty, but I love her so much. More tomorrow, good night all and God bless you!
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Good night, Lou Ann
sleep-027.gif
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

The importance of those pre-shot tests can not be emphasized enough with the fast acting NPH insulins like Novolin N and Humulin N. You have a much shorter window of time before these insulins start to work, so it's very important to feed at least 30-45 minutes before you give the insulin.

Drops in BG are also more severe, so you should not attempt to get really low BG's in mid-cycle with the NPH insulins. It's more like a very steep V curve then a nice gentle smile you get with the L insulins. You do not have the safety margins with the NPH insulins like you do with the better insulins like Lantus, Levimir and Prozinc.

1. Do not shoot if the BG is <200 (You don't have enough data yet)
2. Pre-shot test, feed, wait 30-45 minutes, then shoot. This waiting period between feeding and shooting the NPH insulin is so important with these insulins. Do not rush things.
3. Err on the side of caution with the dose.

You were originally feeding some dry food to Lily, back before 1/9/14. Since you no longer feed the dry food, just the Fancy Feast, that may have had a big impact on her BG levels. I know you were on 1u when you originally started. Even that may be too much with the diet change.

Let's see what tomorrow brings.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Wonderful job Lou Ann!

I've not been at the "sugar dance" very long, but from what I've seen here, it does seem that about 50% of new beans are surprised by the low numbers they are seeing the first time they get that first successful home test. I hope you will share your experiences with other new beans that join about the importance of home testing!

Paws crossed for a good day tomorrow for you and Lily!
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Not starting out to be a good day. The meter is not registering the sample. I poked her 3 times, got blood, meter just keeps blinking. Even tried poking myself, same thing. Guess I will be buying a new meter. Also used the remaining test strips I had so off to Wal-mart at 7:00 am.

I had to feed her, she was starving and crying and glued to my legs. No shot till I get a good reading.

p.s. my Keurig died this morning too!
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

I wish I could still have caffeine ...
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Let us know what test number you get. I hope you bought lots of strips. I always keep an extra 100 strips around, but that's just me, a worry wort :lol:
I hope the rest of your day goes better.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Called the Relion company this morning. They are sending a new meter. Still had to buy another one since I cannot wait until I get the replacement. Well, at least I will have a back up. Lily is not having anything to do with testing this morning. We did not get any blood for the new meter. Giving her a little break before the next one.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

What gauge are your lancets? I have always used the 28 gauge as they are a little bigger and poke a bigger hole. The smaller 31 gauge make a smaller hole and don't work well for us.
Good luck on your next try, and don't forget the after test treat.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

I just bought 26 gauge, they are bigger than the ones that came with the meter. We just had another failed attempt at testing. I hope I can get a sample in another 30 minutes or so.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Still no luck, I think I drained all the blood out of her yesterday.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

If you absolutely must get blood, aim for the vein. Just be prepared to test quickly and blot, as nicking the vein tends to result in profuse bleeding (why we don't normally use it)
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Mamalou said:
Still no luck, I think I drained all the blood out of her yesterday.
:-D :-D :-D

Well, we know she still has some blood left if her toes and nose are still a nice pink. :o :shock: :o

Ok, let's see here.

Are you warming the ear? Make a rice sock, old sock with about a couple of tablespoons of rice in it, tie in knot in the top to keep the rice in.. Heat in the microwave for 15-30 seconds. It should feel comfortable on your bare skin. If too hot, let cool a bit. Put the warm sock against the ear to get the blood flowing. Then poke, two pokes really close together while you are gently holding the edge of the ear. Don't flinch, be calm because you need both pokes to be close together. You should get a nice size drop.

Alternatively, you can rub the ears gently between your thumb and index finger. Until they feel warm to the touch. This is what I do for Wink.

Or, some people say they blow on the ear with their warm breath, to warm things up.

I think it's harder to get the blood to flow in this colder winter weather, when the temperature in our homes is lower. Try some of those ideas.

(It's probably not much warmer down there in Seekonk, MA then it is up here in the Newburyport, MA area ;-) )
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Deb: It was 16 degrees here this morning. I do use the rice/sock to warm her ear, but today for some reason, nothing is working. Will keep trying. She has had no insulin since yesterday morning at 6:30. Curious to see what her numbers are without it.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Take a break from the testing and try again later. You are both probably frustrated and the pokies are just not working.

Could she be dehydrated? Pull up on the scruff of Lily's neck. Does it spring back quickly, or stay up for a bit?
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Not dehydrated, skin snaps right back. What would I do if she were dehydrated?
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

If the skin tents, that is moderately to severely dehydrated.
Contact your vet because if it gets severe enough, an IV could be needed (i.e., the cat may need veterinary care)

Adding a little extra water to the canned food can help if it is mild, as can subcutaneous fluids.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Mamalou said:
Not starting out to be a good day. The meter is not registering the sample. I poked her 3 times, got blood, meter just keeps blinking. Even tried poking myself, same thing. Guess I will be buying a new meter. Also used the remaining test strips I had so off to Wal-mart at 7:00 am.

I had to feed her, she was starving and crying and glued to my legs. No shot till I get a good reading.

p.s. my Keurig died this morning too!
Have you tried removing and reinstalling the test strip? My Relion does the blinking thing sometimes too, I just remove the test strip and reinstall it and it works fine. Also keep in mind if you wait too long to get blood after you install the test strip it'll time out and you have to pull it out and reinstall then too.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Not sure what to do. No blood, no insulin since yesterday at 6:00 am. I have poked her poor ears so much today, and I am not getting enough blood to test. Any suggestions. She is not cooperating any longer and is trying to get away. Frustrated. Should I feed her and test again later? :YMSIGH:
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Yes, I say give her a break. You did quite a bit of testing in these last few days. :thumbup Since she hasn't had a shot this morning, I wouldn't worry too much about getting a test in till her next shot time. (When is that due?)
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Her next shot is due now, but I won't give her insulin without knowing where she is at. I have learned my lesson, the hard way, I am ashamed to admit.

I will try again in the morning.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Good morning All!

Succcess: 141 this morning. She has been without insulin since Saturday at 6:00 am. She is doing great. Will re-test her about an hour after she has eaten, but looks like she won't need a shot again today. Hoping and praying (to St. Francis/St. Jude) that this nightmare will end.

Question; If her number goes up over 200 do I shoot or not. What would you give her if it does. Her dose was 2 units before we had the low numbers.

200-300: half unit?
300-400: 1 unit??

Help!

Lou Ann
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

I'm sorry Lou Ann, I do not know that insulin. I do know that the food will probably spike up her numbers and she may be over 200 an hour after eating.
If her pancreas is working a little bit, her pancreas may produce a little insulin after the food, and thus bring her numbers down by about +3 or +4. If you decide to skip, and are home today to do so, I would try to get a test about 4 hours after the food, so see if she brought herself down.

Great job on the successful test! I hope you gave her some treats and lovings :)
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

77 one hour after eating. Definately, NO INSULIN!!

Have to work today, so will retest before the PM dose. Crossing my fingers!
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Looking good! And great job getting the test in! Let us know where she's at tonight!
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Tonight she was at 140. Just fed her, and will retest in about one hour. She is getting use to testing. She just sat there and let me poke! :lol:

BTW, the hokey-pokey song DOES WORK!!
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Let's hope she comes down after eating like she did this morning! :mrgreen:
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Singing helped keep my mind off the actual task of testing and focused on the words to the song, which made me more calm and in turn made Mikey more calm. :smile:

(Although, whenever I'd hit a wrong note, his ears would flatten back in annoyance. :lol: )
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Spoke too soon. She just wouldn't have it. Will try again in a few minutes.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Nope, won't co-operate. We will try again in the morning. :sad:
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

236! Hope it goes down after breakfast.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

IF it turns out that she needs a little bit of insulin, you are going to need to be able to test her.
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

32!! What is going on!! :shock: Not sure what to do HELP!!!

Gave her a few TBS of gravy food. I have to goe to work in 20 minutes. I am afraid to leave her!!
 
Re: Lily's first BGs very low! Novolin N Advice please

Please change the Subject Line in your first post to something like "HELP just tested 32, need to leave for work!" or start a new thread. This one is getting very long.

Is she eating okay? I would retest and see if the test strip was bad or something. Sometimes we get funky readings.
 
I am going to try to get one more test in before I leave in 10 minutes! Hope the gravy food brought her up to a normal range.
 
157! Whew. Wish I could stay home to monitor her today. Got to hope the 32 was just a fluke!
 
Since you have not given her insulin, she should be safe. Some cats just go low without insulin. Maybe the 32 was a bad test strip, but you need to keep her safe. I would leave some extra food out for her, for your peace of mind.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top