? [Help] Jai Jai - The Vet has suggested 1 unit of Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Hollis,

I've just had a look at Jai Jai's spreadsheet. I know the numbers are high, but you appear to be getting a much smoother curve on the 0.5IU dose of Lantus.

If we can stabilise that curve over the next 5 cycles on 0.5 IU, then it will give a much better guide to where Jai Jai's dose needs to go next.

The general idea is to keep a smooth curve then in stages tweak the dose a little every 6 cycles to lower that smooth curve into regulated numbers. (But there may well be bounces along the way.) Maybe think of it like going downstairs. At each step, Jai Jai's body needs to get used to the slightly lower numbers (otherwise the liver panics and starts dumping glucose into the blood and it sets off swings again.)
.
 
Morning, Rhonda and Mogs. I have tried to test his BG before feeding him........No success, he was very fierce.

I have just tested him right after his meal (hoping that not much influence by food), his AMPS is 436 (24.2 mmol/L).

Mogs you are right, his curve was flatten now. Let us see how the food affects his numbers then. Fingers crossed.
 
Last edited:
Right after the food is pretty OK, Hollis. :)

Good to see an improvement in the preshot number - much better than those nasty blacks! The 1.0 unit dose on the Aug 1 AM cycle dropped Jai Jai's BG very hard and fast. Sharp drops like that can set off bounces, so I'm hoping that's behind those black preshot numbers. What we are hoping to over the next few cycles is fairly similar preshots and a curve with a gentler dip mid-cycle - smile-shaped.

I am also hoping that now you're working on getting rid of the wild swings and those dangerous drops that Jai Jai's system won't be under as much strain and he'll start feeling better in himself. After all, that's what this sugar dance is all about! :)

.
 
The 1.0 unit dose on the Aug 1 AM cycle dropped Jai Jai's BG very hard and fast.

This is exactly the reason I asked the vet to consider 0.5 units given that there was a drastic increase from + 6 (155) to +8 (268). My vet agreed that it was a drastic increase but insisted on giving 1 unit......meh
 
That steep U-shaped curve is what you'd expect from a harsher insulin such as Caninsulin. 'Good' Lantus curves tend to be shallower. If a Caninsulin curve were a bucket, then an ideal Lantus curve would be a saucer.

How is the little fella doing this morning? And did you get some better sleep?

.
 
That steep U-shaped curve is what you'd expect from a harsher insulin such as Caninsulin. 'Good' Lantus curves tend to be shallower. If a Caninsulin curve were a bucket, then an ideal Lantus curve would be a saucer.

How is the little fella doing this morning? And did you get some better sleep?

.

Thank you for asking. I got up at +6 to get his reading, a little bit unsettled and did not have a deep sleep after that.

Jai Jai is have a sleep, still bright and a little playful.

I hope that you have a good sleep too.
 
I'm glad that you at least managed to get some rest, Hollis. It can be fairly tough going in the early days after diagnosis. And with the too-high doses, you've really had a baptism of fire. :bighug: Here's hoping that the 'reset' will help steady Jai Jai's system and that things will progress more smoothly now.

It's grand to hear that Jai Jai is perky and playful in himself. He's got such a cute face - and you'd never think to look at him that he's 15 years young!!! :)

It won't be long before weariness overtakes me now. Wishing you, your hubby and Jai Jai a lovely day. I'll check in to see how you're doing later.



Mogs
.
 
I'm glad that you at least managed to get some rest, Hollis. It can be fairly tough going in the early days after diagnosis. And with the too-high doses, you've really had a baptism of fire. :bighug: Here's hoping that the 'reset' will help steady Jai Jai's system and that things will progress more smoothly now.

It's grand to hear that Jai Jai is perky and playful in himself. He's got such a cute face - and you'd never think to look at him that he's 15 years young!!! :)

It won't be long before weariness overtakes me now. Wishing you, your hubby and Jai Jai a lovely day. I'll check in to see how you're doing later.



Mogs
.

I feel so warm and blessed when reading your message. If it is not your and some experience member's guidance and support, I must be panicking about his numbers.

Looking at your Saoirse picture reminds me of my black cat. Mine is a boy and he is very muscular.

I took a day off and I tested Jai Jai several times. Not good numbers but his curve is a saucer. I am hoping that his figures will not reach the black zone.

Fingers crossed.

May I wish you, Saoirse, and your family a wonderful day.
 
Hi Hollis!

Sorry I didn't get to you sooner. In a bit of a heap today. :rolleyes: Thank you so much for your kind wishes. I hope by the time you read this that you've all had a good day, too. I'm also very glad to hear that you're not feeling as panicked. I have chronic PTSD and I suffer from panic attacks. Panicking is no fun, and it is really draining too. :bighug:

Just had a look at Jai Jai's spreadsheet: much smoother - no nassssssty blacks and no scary lows! All going well, he'll stay nice and smooth over the next two 0.5IU cycles. We should have a much better idea of how the 0.5IU is working by then, all going well, because Jai Jai should have cleared the bounce by then.

I know it's tough seeing the higher numbers and waiting to go through the right number of cycles before making a change. The temptation to push things can be unbearable. Trouble is that nature can't be pushed (as Jai Jai's readings have shown us very clearly). We do a very good line in Patience Pants. Here's a special 'Superkitty' pair just for you ... :)

iu



Mogs
.
 
@Critter Mom

I have been busy all day, and I have just settle a bit to update Jai Jai's BG records. Looks still going fine but he is apparently more tired and thirsty these two days.

I think I will start a new post for your views after his 6 cycles of 0.5 units of Lantus.

Thank you very much for your Patience Pants, I need that very much.
 
Thank you very much for your Patience Pants,

All part of the FDMB Experience, Hollis! :) (I need a wardrobe full of 'em: patience was never my forté ... :oops: )

Looks still going fine but he is apparently more tired and thirsty these two days.

Jai Jai hasn't been getting down into lower numbers over the past few days so he will have needed to drink more water to replace the fluids lost when the kidneys are excreting the glucose that has spilled over into his urine.

Having read that, I think it better to do the 0.25 IU Lantus dose increase on the next cycle but please ask for dosing advice again (with the question mark :) ) before the morning dose of insulin. If by chance you don't get a prompt reply on Feline Health, go back to the main forum index page, select the Lantus and Levemir insulin support group and post asking for advice there (with a link to today's thread). All going well there'll be someone who'll be able to keep an eye on things with you. :) (I'll check in when I surface later.)

When you get a chance, Hollis, can you confirm to me whether you're testing Jai Jai's urine for ketones now.

Blessings and scritches,


Mogs
.
 
That's good news. We'll have all of that we can get, Hollis. You're doing great! :)
.

Thank you, Mogs. I have got an update of his AMPS, it is in the black zone.....:arghh:, do I have to change my mind of 0.75 dose? I will post this information and question on the new thread to seek views.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top