HELP??Jade 7/13/18 amps 64!!!! YIKES!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jill & Jade

Member Since 2018
Well.....what does THIS mean????? What should I do?? I'm feeding her the FF chunky with a bit of gravy...should I be alarmed at this low number?? Because I am!! Zero symptoms.




Since I am down to just a drop for my girl, is there a need to do a +2? I don't shoot under 90. Can a cat go HYPO from just a drop? I would love for her have just the amps and pmps ear prick.
 
Last edited:
Since I am down to just a drop for my girl, is there a need to do a +2? I don't shoot under 90. Can a cat go HYPO from just a drop? I would love for her have just the amps and pmps ear prick.
she’s waiting patiently for a reply...
 

Attachments

  • 4EEC5902-1CC7-4554-BDB7-26598A6D235B.jpeg
    4EEC5902-1CC7-4554-BDB7-26598A6D235B.jpeg
    48.9 KB · Views: 128
Skip this morning, and feed her now. But not too much as you don't want to fill her up. I would test again in 1/2 hour to make sure she's up. Note that some kitties off of insulin can test at lower than our "take action" point. We just don't wNt a cat on insulin to be that low.

Oh, and she's earned a reduction.:D
 
Skip this morning, and feed her now. But not too much as you don't want to fill her up. I would test again in 1/2 hour to make sure she's up. Note that some kitties off of insulin can test at lower than our "take action" point. We just don't wNt a cat on insulin to be that low.

Oh, and she's earned a reduction.:D
Ok...she’s been on one drop for 3 cycles. I fed her a nice amount. The next reduction is zero, no??
 
She's up to 148, but I need someone to help me with questions here, please. Is there a chance that she went full Hypo on the night and can they come back up by themselves? Do i have to worry she has some damage from this? And can she still drop back down to a dangerous level today after feeding her and bringing her number back up??
 
No damage, I would test again in a cpl hrs or the HC food wear off but u didn’t shoot

  • Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission. Most kitties will be in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL).

Remission: From Tilly's Diabetes Homepage, Phase 5: Remission

"14 days without insulin and normal blood glucose values. Most remission cats are able to stay in the normal range all of the time (50 to 80 mg/dl), although there are a few cases of sporadic higher and lower BGs. Don't stop feeding low-carb and try to avoid cortisone if possible.

Test the cat's BGs once per month.Approximately 25% cats that achieved remission using this protocol relapsed and required insulin again (frequent causes are hyperthyroidism or bouts of pancreatitis). Therefore, it is important to keep your diabetes kit up-to-date. Then you can react immediately by giving insulin and home testing. Importantly, the sooner you react to a relapse (i.e. preventing hyperglycemia and initiating other necessary veterinary treatment), the more likely a second remission will become.

The longer a cat has had diabetes, the less likely it will go into remission. Many long-term diabetics get stuck in Phase 3 or 4. Yet there is a benefit of using this method for such a cat as well: keeping the cat's BG levels as normal as possible is much healthier for it long term. Insulin requirements will often decrease to very low levels too."
I was doing the SLGS...she's only had one drop the last 3 shoots. She's playing and purring (thank God) Since I didn't shoot, I shouldn't worry about her dropping to that ugly lime green number again, correct?
 
Remission: slgs
Remission is reached when kitty can go 14 days without insulin. Most cats will remain in the range of a healthy cat 50 - 80mg/dL (2.7 - 4.4 mmol/L) with only sporadic higher or lower BG numbers.

However, some will experience infrequent BG numbers higher than the norm. Continue feeding low carb food. Test the cat's BGs once per month. If BG numbers begin to trend upwards, it's time to bring kitty in to see your vet for a check-up. Common reasons for kitty falling out of remission include dental issues, infection, inflammation, pancreatitis, etc. Just about any illness or disease can do it.
 
Remission: slgs
Remission is reached when kitty can go 14 days without insulin. Most cats will remain in the range of a healthy cat 50 - 80mg/dL (2.7 - 4.4 mmol/L) with only sporadic higher or lower BG numbers.

However, some will experience infrequent BG numbers higher than the norm. Continue feeding low carb food. Test the cat's BGs once per month. If BG numbers begin to trend upwards, it's time to bring kitty in to see your vet for a check-up. Common reasons for kitty falling out of remission include dental issues, infection, inflammation, pancreatitis, etc. Just about any illness or disease can do it.
sorry...still kind of panicky...appreciate you!!
 
I found this for you it came from @Bobbie And Bubba (hope you didn’t mind)
I’m sure someone will tell you it’s time, I’m not expert on remission but I’m sure someone will tell you it’s time for trial

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
During an OTJ trial IF the AMBG or PMBG is blue (not sure there is range but hoping under 120) the next test is suggested to be +3 or +4 to see if they make it to green
 
I found this for you it came from @Bobbie And Bubba (hope you didn’t mind)
I’m sure someone will tell you it’s time, I’m not expert on remission but I’m sure someone will tell you it’s time for trial

Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
During an OTJ trial IF the AMBG or PMBG is blue (not sure there is range but hoping under 120) the next test is suggested to be +3 or +4 to see if they make it to green
Thank you!! I will have to read and reread this many times!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: and @Bobbie And Bubba
 
She was still at a nice high ( ish ) # when I left for work. I left FF chunky out and am wondering ( because I’m paranoid) about there being enough of a Depot to make her drop to a too low number again this evening? I mean it’s only a total of 3 drops over the last 3 cycles ( didn’t shoot today) but I wouldn’t have thought one drop last night would send her down the rabbit hole this morning...
 
being enough of a Depot to make her drop to a too low number again this evening?

No insulin=No hypo

While 64 on the AT is "too low", it's still safe.....of course we wouldn't want you giving insulin at that point!

A non-diabetic cat can routinely test in the 30's and 40's so don't let those lower numbers scare you. As long as you're not giving "extra" insulin, the pancreas isn't going to send her too low. It knows what it's doing.

There's a big difference between a "low number" and a "hypo" but they tend to be used for the same thing around here too often.

As long as there's no symptoms, it's not really a "hypo"...it's just a low number
 
Ahhhhh! So... how long (approximate) will it take for me to see a number that is not insulin influenced?
This may be the first time in my life that I’m actually interested in learning something that is complicated. Sad, yes. But exciting too! Thanks to you and the others that have been such good teachers.
 
I’m going to switch to 11:30-11;30 if there’s no need for the tests after the initial tests. Is that correct? I don’t need to ( for now) check every couple hours??

It depends

If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
 
It depends

If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Every time??? I’m not home 4 hours after the amps.
And if she’s green, no need to test after 3 or/4 hours?
 
Im sure if youre not home at the +4, it wont kill anything, but maybe grab a test before you head out of the house.

And yes, if she is green, no pokes until next main test :D
Ok... so... if she is higher at the +3, what does that mean? And am I giving her the same food and nothing 2 hours prior to test time?
 
Ok... so... if she is higher at the +3, what does that mean? And am I giving her the same food and nothing 2 hours prior to test time?
Keep all the food stuff the same. And yes to the 2 hour - at least until you're done with the OTJ trial ;)

If she is higher at the +3, she could still be having a good bump. But typically, if a cats pancreas is waking up (so to say), it'll create its own insulin when fed and it should bring her sugar down. But I can be totally wrong on all that.
 
If you get a PS number like 100-110, don't worry too much about it. Rex had one blue AMPS during his trial and I couldn't test at +3 because of work. Just look for a green PS next time and you're fine.
 
If you get a PS number like 100-110, don't worry too much about it. Rex had one blue AMPS during his trial and I couldn't test at +3 because of work. Just look for a green PS next time and you're fine.
Ok... so green... no need to test again until next PS, correct?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top