Help...is this normal or do I change dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

my Casey bear

Member Since 2011
I just gave Casey her PMPS at 6:30 w/BG reading 349 wich is 75-100 points higher than what she usually gets at home when she is not stressed. The other times her readings were in the 300's she seemed stressed at the time, this time she was calm.

The things I know that would raise her BG but I do not think apply are:
- Food, she last ate before 12:30 this afternoon - FF carb less than 7
- Stress, she has been calm and relaxed all day

The only ...change... is the temperature, it is a very warm day and I do not have the air conditioner on.

Is the sharp rise normal as the Shed is being filled? Or is this a sign that I need to change her dose?

Roberta
 
Seeing fluctuations in numbers is normal, especially early on in the game. I'm pretty sure you should hold that dose for a little while longer, although I wouldn't be super-surprised if an increase is in the future. But, you don't want to rush things.

I'm sure someone with more experienced eyes will come along shortly, but until then try not to worry. FD can be pretty unpredictable, but you are doing everything right!

Amy
 
Thanks Amy, I am glad you said that...because it was time to give her shot before I saw a response; so I maintained the 0.75 dose.

Just a bit nervous and anxious waiting for her BG to finally begin to drop, but it spiked instead. I wish I knew why it did that.

Roberta
 
Roberta:

Her PMPS have been very consistent: 330, 283, 349...remember that meters have a 20% variance so the 283 is a little out of the variance range but I don't think this number is really high in comparison. The protocol states new kitties should hold the dose 5-7 days but also states:

Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

Tonight would be her sixth cycle. Are you testing daily for ketones with the ketostix?

I don't see a daily condo for you and so it might be hard for folks to keep track of where Casey is. I would suggest that you try and open a daily condo and post her numbers as there are ladies in LL who run through those pretty much daily and take a look at SSs, etc and make suggestions for doses. I suggest you might want to change this condo title to:

7/29 Casey PMPS 349 Dose ?? and ask if tomorrow might be a good time to raise her dose to 1u based on her relatively flat numbers. Sometimes it does take ten cycles to really see a difference..ECID but I have seen some newbies whose kitty's numbers are like this, increase after six cycles.
 
I couldn't agree more with the info that Marje and Amy provided. The lesson that Lantus teaches is patience. (Ask Marje about her "patience pants.")
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top