Helena and Gandalf
Member Since 2016
Hi! (Long post with a lot of questions!
)
I'm new to FDMB, found it the day before yesterday and have been reading threads almost non-stop since then.

My wonderful, beutiful grey fluffball Gandalf
got his diagnosis in Jan this year (we recently passed the 6 month mark!). We started out on Lantus Solostar prefilled pens and after about 5 months we realised that 2 units 2x daily was too much, he bounced a lot, so we went down to 1 unit 2x daily. We assesed the situation after about 1,5 weeks when we figured he would have settled on the new dose. We tested a lot the following week (maybe I should have mentioned, we hometest!
) and it turned out he were at about 16-17 PS and had nadirs around 10-11. So, very stable values but too high. We went to our vet 2 weeks later and we decided to switch to Caninsulin instead. After all I have read here about Caninsulin this now feels like a bad move... After looking it up, I see that Lantus is also available in vials, so maybe that would have been a better switch?
Anyways, now he is on Caninsulin and we are gonna give it a go! I would love to get some help with iterpreting Gandalf's BG values. We have only been on Caninsulin for a few weeks so there is not a lot of data yet. We are also just finishing our first real curve on Caninsulin, and I will be updating the SS as we go.
The first two weeks on Caninsulin were crazy, as you will see in the SS, and all is explained under Remarks, so we are only confident in the values from the last 4-5 days. When, would you say, is he hitting his lowest values? What do you say about the dose? Is 1,5 U BID still too much? Should we even go down to 1 unit and then increase again if necessary? After the relatively flat curve today I am starting to feel that maybe he could work on Caninsulin? But because of his low number (9,1) PMPS yesterday and the 1U shot, this might just be a coinicidence. Could the high number this morning have been a bounce due to the 1U he got even though his reading was low? (I just learned fom here this morning that the recommended no-shoot value for newbies on Caninsulin is around 11. Oops!
But all went well!)
Also, so far we have been testing first and then giving him his shot as he eats. After doing some reading, and better understood how Caninsulin works, we plan to start feeding him 30 min before shooting tonight. Should we still give him 1/3 of his meal at +1,5 when trying this?
Best regards, Helena
Edit: Made changes in the SS, realised that the conversion did not work if I used commas.
I'm new to FDMB, found it the day before yesterday and have been reading threads almost non-stop since then.


My wonderful, beutiful grey fluffball Gandalf
got his diagnosis in Jan this year (we recently passed the 6 month mark!). We started out on Lantus Solostar prefilled pens and after about 5 months we realised that 2 units 2x daily was too much, he bounced a lot, so we went down to 1 unit 2x daily. We assesed the situation after about 1,5 weeks when we figured he would have settled on the new dose. We tested a lot the following week (maybe I should have mentioned, we hometest!Anyways, now he is on Caninsulin and we are gonna give it a go! I would love to get some help with iterpreting Gandalf's BG values. We have only been on Caninsulin for a few weeks so there is not a lot of data yet. We are also just finishing our first real curve on Caninsulin, and I will be updating the SS as we go.
The first two weeks on Caninsulin were crazy, as you will see in the SS, and all is explained under Remarks, so we are only confident in the values from the last 4-5 days. When, would you say, is he hitting his lowest values? What do you say about the dose? Is 1,5 U BID still too much? Should we even go down to 1 unit and then increase again if necessary? After the relatively flat curve today I am starting to feel that maybe he could work on Caninsulin? But because of his low number (9,1) PMPS yesterday and the 1U shot, this might just be a coinicidence. Could the high number this morning have been a bounce due to the 1U he got even though his reading was low? (I just learned fom here this morning that the recommended no-shoot value for newbies on Caninsulin is around 11. Oops!
But all went well!)Also, so far we have been testing first and then giving him his shot as he eats. After doing some reading, and better understood how Caninsulin works, we plan to start feeding him 30 min before shooting tonight. Should we still give him 1/3 of his meal at +1,5 when trying this?
Best regards, Helena
Edit: Made changes in the SS, realised that the conversion did not work if I used commas.
Last edited: