HELP. INSULIN OVERDOSE.

Cindy & Ivan

Member Since 2025
Here’s what happened. Ivan’s number have been really good lately.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1HZa777FP-w04_jM6258aR-c39Wmm2PLQVElJZm3hNVc/edit?gid=0#gid=0

We have been giving him 1 unit of Lantus insulin twice a day, 12/12. This morning my husband accidentally gave him 1.5 units. I am afraid this is going to drive him extremely low. Ivan has been on Fancy Feast pate & no dry food.
So for this morning’s breakfast I gave Ivan straight dry food. My thought was to give carbs to counter act the heavy dose of insulin.

I will test his BG in a few hours & give him more dry if I see his numbers falling.

What else should I do?
 
Here’s what happened. Ivan’s number have been really good lately.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1HZa777FP-w04_jM6258aR-c39Wmm2PLQVElJZm3hNVc/edit?gid=0#gid=0

We have been giving him 1 unit of Lantus insulin twice a day, 12/12. This morning my husband accidentally gave him 1.5 units. I am afraid this is going to drive him extremely low. Ivan has been on Fancy Feast pate & no dry food.
So for this morning’s breakfast I gave Ivan straight dry food. My thought was to give carbs to counter act the heavy dose of insulin.

I will test his BG in a few hours & give him more dry if I see his numbers falling.

What else should I do?
@tiffmaxee
 
@Cindy & Ivan

On 2-17 you shot 1.75 units with an AMPS of 71 and
on 2-18 and 2-19 during the PMPS cycle you shot 1.50 with lower pre shots than this morning.
Looking at your spreadsheet you aren't following any dosing method for Lantus. You are changing the doses too often which disrupts the depot

Here are the 2 dosing methods to choose from and will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

If you are feeding any kibble at all , not including what you fed this morning you will have to follow the SLGS method, but it looks like you are only feeding Fancy Feast LC , when you decide please add it to your signature and spreadsheet up top

You really need to be testing more often after the AMPS and PMPS cycle
At least a +2 , and +4 and +6 for both cycles
Mix up the testing times also , maybe one day get a +3, a+5 and a +7

Do you have a hypo kit if needed
Med and high carb wet food is better to feed than dry food
Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

@Cindy & Ivan

Just wanted you to know on Dr Pierson's food chart

the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast In Roasted Beef Flavor Gravy (which. Dr Pierson’s list says is 20%
Comes back with 14%

These are correct for med carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

You can even look at the Friskies for high carbs

I suggest that you pick a dosing method that are used for Lantus. Each one will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
When you do decide what method you want to follow please add it to your signature and your spreadsheet up top where it asks you

@Cindy & Ivan
 
Last edited:
Welcome to the FDMB. I don’t know how you are deciding what dose to give but here we dose based upon how low a dose takes your cat. I suspect you are dosing based upon the bg before giving insulin. Lantus kicks in about 2 hours after giving it and peals often between 4-8 hours later. I think 1.5 is probably too high a dose but not so high to be fearful. You don’t have any tests to see how low he’s going. Test every 2 hours and since you are using a pet meter give your regular food with honey if under 68. Can you get some high carb canned food now? It works better than dry food to bring up the bg.

Have a look at our dosing methods. I suggest you do a curve testing every 2 hours for 12 hours and get some tests in at night after the pmps.

Please post after each test and deep breaths. Food will keep your cat safe.
 
Last edited:
Welcome to the FDMB. I don’t know how you are deciding what dose to give but here we dose based upon how low a dose takes your cat. I suspect you are dosing based upon the bg before giving insulin. Lantus kicks in about 2 hours after giving it and peals often between 4-8 hours later. I think 1.5 is probably too high a dose but not so high to be fearful. You don’t have any tests to see how low he’s going. Test every 2 hours and since you are using a pet meter give your regular food with honey if under 68. Can you get some high carb canned food now? It works better than dry food to bring up the bg.

Have a look at our dosing methods. I suggest you do a curve testing every 2 hours for 12 hours and get some tests in at night after the pmps.

Please post after each test and derp breaths. Food will keep your cat safe.


Yes I have some hills cd canned food which has more carbs I believe. It’s only been an hour since we dosed. I will test in another hour & post the numbers.
 
Back
Top