Hi,
I've posted over in the main forum, but as a recap my cat, Geordi, was diagnosed at the beginning of the month. I was told to start him with 1.5 units of Lantus. The vet also gave me a "diabetic" dry food. I opted to switch Geordi over to Fancy Feast classic instead. I started him on the wet food several days before starting insulin and checked with the vet to make sure he should still be getting 1.5 units even with the wet food. I was told to give him the 1.5 units and bring him back in 2 weeks for a fructosamine test. I brought him on Monday and the vet called on Tuesday and told me to increase his insulin to 2 units. At the same time I increased his dose I came on here and found out about home testing. He got 2 units of Lantus 2x Weds. and Thurs. morning. I got my first successful BG reading 6 hours after his injection today and it was 44. I fed him high carb dry food and his BG went up to 91 after about 1.5 hours. It is now time for his night dose and his BG is 138. I don't know what to do. Should I skip the dose all together? If I should give it, how much should I give? Thanks for your help!!
I've posted over in the main forum, but as a recap my cat, Geordi, was diagnosed at the beginning of the month. I was told to start him with 1.5 units of Lantus. The vet also gave me a "diabetic" dry food. I opted to switch Geordi over to Fancy Feast classic instead. I started him on the wet food several days before starting insulin and checked with the vet to make sure he should still be getting 1.5 units even with the wet food. I was told to give him the 1.5 units and bring him back in 2 weeks for a fructosamine test. I brought him on Monday and the vet called on Tuesday and told me to increase his insulin to 2 units. At the same time I increased his dose I came on here and found out about home testing. He got 2 units of Lantus 2x Weds. and Thurs. morning. I got my first successful BG reading 6 hours after his injection today and it was 44. I fed him high carb dry food and his BG went up to 91 after about 1.5 hours. It is now time for his night dose and his BG is 138. I don't know what to do. Should I skip the dose all together? If I should give it, how much should I give? Thanks for your help!!