Help I'm New: +6 44 +7.5 91 PMPS 138

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dclove85

Member Since 2011
Hi,
I've posted over in the main forum, but as a recap my cat, Geordi, was diagnosed at the beginning of the month. I was told to start him with 1.5 units of Lantus. The vet also gave me a "diabetic" dry food. I opted to switch Geordi over to Fancy Feast classic instead. I started him on the wet food several days before starting insulin and checked with the vet to make sure he should still be getting 1.5 units even with the wet food. I was told to give him the 1.5 units and bring him back in 2 weeks for a fructosamine test. I brought him on Monday and the vet called on Tuesday and told me to increase his insulin to 2 units. At the same time I increased his dose I came on here and found out about home testing. He got 2 units of Lantus 2x Weds. and Thurs. morning. I got my first successful BG reading 6 hours after his injection today and it was 44. I fed him high carb dry food and his BG went up to 91 after about 1.5 hours. It is now time for his night dose and his BG is 138. I don't know what to do. Should I skip the dose all together? If I should give it, how much should I give? Thanks for your help!!
 
Re: Help: Newly Diagnosed and Just Started Home Testing

Hi!! I cant help on dosing (im new to all this too) Im sure the experts will be around shortly to help you :) Just wanted to wish you luck.. Oh, maybe edit your title to say something like "Help Im New: +6 44 +7.5 91 PMPS 138" Get more eyes on it :)
 
Re: Help: Newly Diagnosed and Just Started Home Testing

Hi and welcome to LL! That is a very low number for a newbie to be shooting. An d unfortunately you don't have a lot of dat on BG numbers yet. How dritical is your shooting schedule?

We usually have three options for low preshot numbers:
  • --DO NOT FEED and test again in 15 minutes. If the number is rising you can shoot , but monitor closely.

    -- Shoot a reduced dose

    -- Skip the shot.
 
Re: Help: Newly Diagnosed and Just Started Home Testing

If numbers are continuing to drop in the first option, continue to stall and retest in 15 minute increments until you see a definite rise. If we end up stalling over 2 hours we generally skip the shot. If you stall remember that tomorrow's shot time will be 12 hours from when you actually shot.

Generally, it is not advised to stall and to shoot a reduced dose. A late shot has the effect of a reduction and an early shot acts like an increase.
 
I'm on a pretty tight schedule. I'm a teacher so I have to give him the am shot before I leave for school in the morning. I have someone who can give him the shot in the morning, but they won't test. Am I best skipping this night dose?
 
Have you tested again?

That 44 was an automatic reduction anyway.Your best choice is probably BCS (reduced dose) or skipping. The shed may be too full from those 2u shots.
 
I am thinking, since you don't have much data yet, and the bg is below 150 (at the moment), that you should skip his shot, tonight.

The 44 earned him a dose decrease. I think you may want to start over again, tomorrow morning at either 1.25 or 1.00 unit. Let's see what others have to say.

And, Welcome :-D We will help you with all this. Ask as many questions as you can think of.

I'm going outside to walk my cats real quick, but will be back in a half hour.
 
Sorry to be doing this in bits, but I want to get the important stuff out first.

If you skip you can feed now and then shoot tomorrow at your regular time or any time you want.

If you shoot BCS you should shoot 12 hours later. You CAN mover the shot back by 15 minutes every cycle to get back to your regular time.
 
Dyana knows her stuff, I would skip too if it were Tess. We all give furshots (miss the shot when the cat moves), just think of it as that. The shed can drain and you can start fresh.

ETA: here is a link to your thread in Health
 
Hi there and welcome. I don't have any advice for you other than listen to these people on here. I'm new at this- only in my second week, and I'm not sure I'd still be sane without this group holding my virtual hand. Best of luck to you!
 
Thanks everyone for all the help! And for linking to my other post! I am feeling so overwhelmed with all of this right now. I feel like I have no idea what I'm doing and I'm really not trusting that the vet knows what's best. It is so awesome to be able to post on here and know that I will have help and support within minutes. I am going to skip this shot as you suggested and start tomorrow morning with 1 unit. I'm hoping he'll have forgiven me for all the ear pokes by tomorrow because by the last one tonight he was not a happy camper!
 
Great job on getting started with home testing! Clearly, you needed to know how Geordi was responding to insulin!

I'm glad Sandy gave you the link to the spreadsheet template. Google Documents has been giving people problems lately. If the template in the link Sandy gave you (which contains the instructions) doesn't work, here's another set of links for the spreadsheet templates.

Please take a look at the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. There's a huge amount of information in those posts. Let us know if you have questions here. The members of the forum are very generous with their knowledge.

Welcome and I hope you will post regularly.
 
Hi. What's your name?

I case nobody mentioned this. Next time you want to bring up a low number (like a number in the 40s), it is better to give a higher carb wet food (like the Friskies Prime Filets in gravy which are about 18% carbs) rather than to give dry food.
You should always keep a supply on hand, just in case.
At the bottom of this link are some links for what to do in a hypo situation and what to keep in your hypo kit, at all times.
 
:-D :-D :-D Panic Over! We all felt like that at first. If the time you were shooting is good for you go ahead and shoot the same time tomorrow. If you were wanting to to change your shot time, however, tomorrow would be the ideal time to do it.

OK teacher, we've got lots of homework for you! :lol:

Start w/ these and there are lots more links w/in those pages. I know it is a lot to absorb at first. If you have questions we are here to help. This is actually a very good time of day as there are a lot of peeps around.

Look through the SS of some of the cats you see. You will find some of us are OCD w/ testing and others actually have a life. The more you test and get the info charted, the better we and eventually you too can make good dosing decisions.
 
Just wanted to drop by and say WELCOME! I'm glad you decided to skip the shot this evening. Now you can start with a clean slate tomorrow. There is a lot to learn with regard to Feline Diabetes--a steep learning curve--but it's worth it!
See you tomorrow! If you can get a spreadsheet up and running, it will be much easier for the people here to help you.

Ella & Rusty
 
just saying hi also. glad you're here - clearly your kitty needed help today. good choice to skip tonight - that was too low of a number to shoot. for newbies usually you would not shoot if the preshot number was less than 150 or 200. *whew*

read your homework (nice job ann!) and ask away. there's a ton of information and i know i had trouble absorbing it all at first. made me feel rather dense!!! :lol: ask us lots of questions and we'll try to help you learn how lantus works.

folks here all have diabetic cats - some have been doing this 24/7 for years. you're in the right spot. welcome!
 
Good evening and welcome to Lantus Land!!!! We are here to help you and it helps us if you can put together the spreadsheet using the links Sienne gave you. There's usually someone around most of the time especially with East Coast and West Coast being three hours apart. Sometimes, as some of us westers are going to bed the easters are getting up and so the chances are good there will be someone around to help you. It's good if you can think of any questions to ask us but quite often you don't even know what to ask until you experience it.

We're a close group with lots of experience. Hope to see you posting as much as you can. Nice numbers for GEordi today!!
 
Welcome to the Lantus Land!!
Don't worry! Peoples here will help you & support you, they are all experienced!
Ask question as many as you can (So do I, I'm newbie too ;-) ), they will explain to you as soon as they can, they are fabulous! I'm so glad that I found this place too!!

Work on your spreadsheet asap, so that u can know how's your kitty react to insulin, and would be much more easier for the people here to help you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top