? Help! I think I am going to scream! All the bouncing!

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlexsisV

Member Since 2017
Well today was crazy! Introduction: this is Chai, my 13yo Siamese guy who is diabetic and has Pancreatitis. We test at least twice a day using the pet meter Alphatrak2. He receives 2.5 units Lantus twice a day. No other meds right now. His Pancreatitis is asymptotic right now. Chai is approximately 16.5 lbs. no other pets and indoor only. He receives FF classics 0-1 carb normally. Higher carb in emergency. We do SLGL.

Please take a look at my sheet Preshot AM is 493, i shot 2.5 this morning. I get a weird spidy sense going on at an hour before Preshot PM and he's at 70. I immediately deploy high carbs at 15 carbs FF wetfood. He gobbled it up, obviously. Rechecks at 30 mins later, then plus 1,2,3 all show climbs. It's now plus 3 and he's at 427. Holy cow! It's bed time. I'm feeling lost again. We are just bouncing all over the place.

What do you guys suggest? Another curve to figure out what's going in? I see his vet tomorrow for fresh bloodwork and SPEC fPL. She is trigger happy and will want to change dose. I don't entirely trust her diabetic cat skills. I like her very much but it's a long story.

Help!

-- Alexsis and Chai
 
Ok.... so down to 2.25. If I start that dose tomorrow, when do I do the curve test?

How many hours do I run the curve test? What are the testing intervals -- every 2 hours, every 4 hours?
 
I would wait a few days before doing the curve. With the skipped shots in there, you've disturbed the depot which can take 6 cycles or 3 days to fill up again.

A curve is either every 2 hours for a total of 12 hours, over every 3 hours for a total of 18. A tip from one of my vets, while doing the curve, if you get a number below 100, then test a hour after that.
 
Wow, Chai is quite a bouncer! (Love the name, by the way!) He might've been started on a higher dose than he needs. While Chai might bounce from lower numbers than he's used to, a quick drop from a high number to a low number can also cause a bounce. I think it's a good sign that he was able to have a green nadir 2 days in a row! (Some cats take a lot longer to come down from a bounce.) Just keep following the protocol and you'll find the right dose in no time :) :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top