? Help.. High numbers: insulin or not ? PINK without - RED&BLACK with ???

Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

Member Since 2018
previous condo

I intend to increase dose from 1 bid to 1.5 unit tomorrow to hopefully see numbers going down, unless someone tells me otherwise and can explain what's going on with my little Ti-Mousse !!! (see his SS) (hope link is OK, otherwise see signature)

1) Before being on insulin, he had numbers in the PINK when visiting the vet, which is very stressful for all cats, specially that he stayed there almost a day alone in a cage being tested; a subsequent visit to the vet, still in the PINK!
The day after, he starts insulin (Caninsulin) and his numbers at home (no stress) are all in BLACK or RED; changed to Lantus, same thing except for the day following a PM fur shot (so no insulin).... where he had PINK again!

I can't understand why he is in BLACK and RED on insulin and PINK without ??? I want to make sure that increasing the dose will not do more harm than good! Can someone explain this to me, as I'm quite confused and I want to take the right decision for my little minou! He can't stay that way!


2) Could it be appropriate to test without insulin for a couple of days?

As for my vet, the answer is to increase from 3 (initial dose she prescribed) to 4 units bid :-(

Thanks so much!!
 
I am glad you switched to TR. it will allow you to increase faster to try to get Ti-Mousse out of the reds. He was on 2.0 units of Caninsulin but unfortunately there wasn’t enough testing to say how that dose was doing. He could just need more insulin, he is currently on a relatively low dose. All you can do now is test to know when it’s safe to increase. It is possible to increase sooner via what we call fast tracking, but only if you can get a preshot plus one other test each cycle. If you post here daily, we can help you with that.

Yes, I would increase tomorrow. As long as you aren’t seeing anything below 300, you can increase every six cycles.

I would not try going back to no insulin. Even if he went back to pink, that still isn’t where you want him to be. You started low and have been increasing safely, so you aren’t over dose.
 
I am glad you switched to TR. it will allow you to increase faster to try to get Ti-Mousse out of the reds. He was on 2.0 units of Caninsulin but unfortunately there wasn’t enough testing to say how that dose was doing. He could just need more insulin, he is currently on a relatively low dose. All you can do now is test to know when it’s safe to increase. It is possible to increase sooner via what we call fast tracking, but only if you can get a preshot plus one other test each cycle. If you post here daily, we can help you with that.

Yes, I would increase tomorrow. As long as you aren’t seeing anything below 300, you can increase every six cycles.

I would not try going back to no insulin. Even if he went back to pink, that still isn’t where you want him to be. You started low and have been increasing safely, so you aren’t over dose.
If you post here daily, we can help you with that.

Do you mean that if I test at least : AMPS, +6, PMPS, +2, I can post those numbers whenever I really need help on how to deal with them ?? If so, what a relief! :)

So, if you think it's OK, I'll go as planned and increase dose tomorrow. I'll read on this "fast tracking". I guess on all those new things I read since 3 weeks, I skipped this one :oops:
Thanks for being there for all those little guys in need and Happy New Year!!
 
Wendy's advice is excellent. And yes, you can and should post whenever you need help. Most of the people in the Lantus & Lev. Forum post daily their kitties' numbers in the title line using the following formula: AMPS [number], +6 or whatever hour(s) [number], PMPS [number], +2 or whatever hour(s) [number], etc. So whenever you do a test and get a blood glucose number, go back up to your title line and edit it to add the additional numbers for the day. That way people can keep track easily without always having to go to your spreadsheet.
To edit the title line, click on "thread tools" and select "edit title".

Definitely do not withhold insulin. It is clear that Ti-Mousse needs insulin. He just hasn't reached a good dose yet.

Happy New Year to you and Ti-Mousse, and wishing you much success in getting him regulated. It can take a while, but don't panic. Just follow the protocol.
 
Wendy's advice is excellent. And yes, you can and should post whenever you need help. Most of the people in the Lantus & Lev. Forum post daily their kitties' numbers in the title line using the following formula: AMPS [number], +6 or whatever hour(s) [number], PMPS [number], +2 or whatever hour(s) [number], etc. So whenever you do a test and get a blood glucose number, go back up to your title line and edit it to add the additional numbers for the day. That way people can keep track easily without always having to go to your spreadsheet.
To edit the title line, click on "thread tools" and select "edit title".

Definitely do not withhold insulin. It is clear that Ti-Mousse needs insulin. He just hasn't reached a good dose yet.

Happy New Year to you and Ti-Mousse, and wishing you much success in getting him regulated. It can take a while, but don't panic. Just follow the protocol.

Thanks Ella, as I said to Wendy "sorry to bother you on New Year's day"; happy you agree with her, I'll follow Wendy's advice and thank you again; I'll post Ti-Mousse's numbers; I didn't know we could do this... BTW you are a great teacher on top of everything else; when you explain how to do things it's easy to understand !! :)
 
There isn’t something written here on fast tracking, but the original Tilley’s website where TR was first documented talks about increasing every 2-3 days if nadirs are over 300. But since your are relatively new, we can guide you as to when that may or may not be appropriate.
 
Back
Top