HELP HELP HELP 75-81 BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
I check Corky's BG every 3 hours, just checked and I had to do it 3 times because I could not believe what I was seeing, his BG the first time it read 75 tried two more times to read 81 not once has his BG gone that low and that quick from 345. Can someone please, explain what could've, been, it was the right food amount, hour ,dose .
 
I check Corky's BG every 3 hours, just checked and I had to do it 3 times because I could not believe what I was seeing, his BG the first time it read 75 tried two more times to read 81 not once has his BG gone that low and that quick from 345. Can someone please, explain what could've, been, it was the right food amount, hour ,dose .

Ok, it's not posted on PM can someone please guide me?
 
Because cats like to mess with us.
75/81 is a safe number. Try feeding a small amount of lc to keep Corky above 50. The longer she spends in the high (above 50) greens, the more her body will get used to hanging out there.

If she drops below 50, low numbers protocol takes over.

I can't stay up with you. I've already taken my bed meds.
Don't worry. You know the drill. And I'm sure others will come along and comment.
 
For future reference you probably didn’t need to give Karo or high carb food unless/until he dropped below 50. Just a bit of regular food and check again in an hour. 75 is a GREAT number as long as it’s not dropping too fast.

You’re probably safe to remove the 911 now that you know he’s in safe numbers :cat:
 
Yes, Pumpkin has recently been diagnosed. I did a "curve" on him the other day. I was surprised to see his BG at 502. I gave him the dose and was kind of alarmed. As the day went on, the BG fell into the double digits. I was shocked. But when my Vet saw the numbers she thought it looked good and thinks he should remain at this dosage. He seems to tolerate it well. But, I do not have experience in dealing with any hypoglycemic episode thus far, so I would continue to monitor because I am a stressed pet parent. But, i was hoping to offer some relief because actually seeing tested numbers can activate some kind of anxiety. And, so far, I have found that particular kind of anxiety to be just that. Pumpkin is fine. Hoping to hear that Corky also maintains a good level , as 75 is GREAT. Just keep an eye on it. I am sure you will.
 
I check Corky's BG every 3 hours, just checked and I had to do it 3 times because I could not believe what I was seeing, his BG the first time it read 75 tried two more times to read 81 not once has his BG gone that low and that quick from 345. Can someone please, explain what could've, been, it was the right food amount, hour ,dose .

thank you both and yes ,I should've not been so hasty with the Karo now he will be on a curve I am sure after being so stable with all those yellow BG's across the board this morning he had a RED BG 449, :banghead::bighug:
 
Hi Maria going by what SLGS Method says for Prozinc you should have reduced Corky's insulin by 0.25 units units this morning so the new dose should be 0.75 units
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
  • @CORKY
 
Last edited:
Hi Maria going by what SLGS Method says for Prozinc you should have reduced Corky's insulin by 0.25 units units this morning so the new dose should be 0.75 units
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
  • @CORKY
Unfortunately, I just read your message so I w
ill lower the dose starting this afternoon.
 

Unfortunately, as I explained to Spots Mom, I just checked in with the Forum, and he was dosed with 1.0 this morning, for his next dose it will be 0.75, his BG is very slowly going down, I will be checking every 2 hours today I don't want to get caught by surprise like yesterday.
Thank you for your advises
 
In the future, please remember to remove the 911. I took care of removing it. Just a note about using th 911 -- we suggest that it's reserved for medical emergencies.
 
In the future, please remember to remove the 911. I took care of removing it. Just a note about using th 911 -- we suggest that it's reserved for medical emergencies.

I understand , as for me you know me some already it was an emergency, point taken
And Corky is all over the board today, most likely by next dose he will be again in the 400's still reduce the dose to 0.75 correct? I really feel it was all my fault I panicked when I saw a BG I have never seen I send a post and since I didn't get an answer for a while I gave him some Karo and some carb dry food, not much, but this fear of mine seeing such super low
number I screwed up how amazing he was doing, I wish I would've seen the post earlier, I'm always in the Forum and when I needed to be the most I slept in a bit, I was exhausted mentally from his BG. thank you
 
In the future, please remember to remove the 911. I took care of removing it. Just a note about using th 911 -- we suggest that it's reserved for medical emergencies.
how do I remove the 911, I do not know how I went to the post but I could not delete it

Also I found it strange that he did not drink excess water at all like before he was diagnosed.
He was hospitalized with 650+ BG
 
It may be scary for you because you’re not used to it, but a cat is safe when it’s above 50. You want to use Karo when he goes under 50, otherwise you’re creating a sugar spike unnecessarily.
 
You remove the 911 the same way you put it there. You need to go to your first post (i.e., the post that opened the thread -- it's the #1 post). You can change the flag from that post only. I think you can edit the thread from there. (I'm not entirely sure since as a Moderator, I have a different set of tools that appears so I can edit other member's posts.)

As for last evening, you did the right thing by re-testing to see if the result (the 81) was accurate or a bad test or bad strip. A drop from 345 to 81 by+3 was a fast drop. What I would have done is give Corkey some low carb food and re-test in about 20 min. Ideally, some low carb will slow things down. If his numbers were still dropping after the low carb, I'd then give a bit of high carb food and follow the same process. These are the instructions from the Lantus board for handling low numbers. You may want to print them out so you have the information handy when you need it.

Since you're following SLGS, you may not want to let Corey drop as low as what Ale suggested. Numbers are safe in the 50s. However, numbers in the lower end of normal range just don't give you much bandwidth so you need to test often. If you look at Gabby's spreadsheet you'll see what I mean. (There's also a difference between where your dose reduction point is with SLGS vs TR.)
 
You remove the 911 the same way you put it there. You need to go to your first post (i.e., the post that opened the thread -- it's the #1 post). You can change the flag from that post only. I think you can edit the thread from there. (I'm not entirely sure since as a Moderator, I have a different set of tools that appears so I can edit other member's posts.)

As for last evening, you did the right thing by re-testing to see if the result (the 81) was accurate or a bad test or bad strip. A drop from 345 to 81 by+3 was a fast drop. What I would have done is give Corkey some low carb food and re-test in about 20 min. Ideally, some low carb will slow things down. If his numbers were still dropping after the low carb, I'd then give a bit of high carb food and follow the same process. These are the instructions from the Lantus board for handling low numbers. You may want to print them out so you have the information handy when you need it.

Since you're following SLGS, you may not want to let Corey drop as low as what Ale suggested. Numbers are safe in the 50s. However, numbers in the lower end of normal range just don't give you much bandwidth so you need to test often. If you look at Gabby's spreadsheet you'll see what I mean. (There's also a difference between where your dose reduction point is with SLGS vs TR.)
Sienne is right. I didn’t mean to let him get to 50’s. I would follow Sienne’s advice about using LC, MC or even HC food to slow down the drop. What I meant is to reserve using Karo for those numbers close to or below 50 when you need to take action.
 
You remove the 911 the same way you put it there. You need to go to your first post (i.e., the post that opened the thread -- it's the #1 post). You can change the flag from that post only. I think you can edit the thread from there. (I'm not entirely sure since as a Moderator, I have a different set of tools that appears so I can edit other member's posts.)

As for last evening, you did the right thing by re-testing to see if the result (the 81) was accurate or a bad test or bad strip. A drop from 345 to 81 by+3 was a fast drop. What I would have done is give Corkey some low carb food and re-test in about 20 min. Ideally, some low carb will slow things down. If his numbers were still dropping after the low carb, I'd then give a bit of high carb food and follow the same process. These are the instructions from the Lantus board for handling low numbers. You may want to print them out so you have the information handy when you need it.

Since you're following SLGS, you may not want to let Corey drop as low as what Ale suggested. Numbers are safe in the 50s. However, numbers in the lower end of normal range just don't give you much bandwidth so you need to test often. If you look at Gabby's spreadsheet you'll see what I mean. (There's also a difference between where your dose reduction point is with SLGS vs TR.)
 
thanks to all of you Corky seems that he is going to be ok on his numbers again hie new dose of 0.75 starts tonight at 6:00PM, I will be checking for a bit instead of every 3 hours to 2 hours just to be safe. Thank you for the input everyone.:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top